Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Delo123
Expert
Posts: 361
Liked: 109 times
Joined: Dec 28, 2012 5:20 pm
Full Name: Guido Meijers
Contact:

Re: Restoring VM to NEW location also deletes original?

Post by Delo123 » Jun 19, 2017 5:01 pm

So there is no warning at all that the original VM is deleted or is there a warning and you acknowledge that? Just to be sure it doesn't happen to someone else because until now i couldn't tell from any of your posts since i assume at all times you have both vcenters added to veeam (else it wouldn't be possible to delete anyway), also i could 't find if you really use 2 independant vcenters..

YoMarK
Enthusiast
Posts: 36
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jul 13, 2009 12:50 pm
Full Name: Mark
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Restoring VM to NEW location also deletes original?

Post by YoMarK » Jun 20, 2017 11:33 am

I do a lot of restores for testing/development purposes, and have not experienced this problem myself lately. Last week I restored more then 100 vm's for a disaster recovery test, and that all went fine, but I'm on 9.5.0.1038.
I would definitely make a support call for this, so they can review the log-files and pinpoint the problem.

wuerzburger
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jun 20, 2017 8:43 am
Contact:

Re: Restoring VM to NEW location also deletes original?

Post by wuerzburger » Jun 29, 2017 6:42 am

We ran in to the same problem.

Made a restore of our database server with other datastore and esx server specified, but forgot to set a new/other VM name.

Then our productive database server was shut down and deleted. Took us 2 days for recover to last state because of other problems with oracle restore.

It would be great if Veeam could implement a warning when a restore will lead to a deletion of a productive VM!!!

So far we removed the right to delete VMs from the veeam user in vcenter to avoid it happen again.

troyvaerten
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 15, 2010 6:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Restoring VM to NEW location also deletes original?

Post by troyvaerten » Jul 28, 2017 7:02 pm 2 people like this post

Same issue here today.

Was seeding a job to our offsite data-center. Different Cluster and Different DataStores.

Started restoring files for 3 VM's and then just after the job started our production systems became unavailable. Stopped the job immediately after seeing the log files state the VM's were deleted which saved the 3rd VM from getting hosed.

I'm in the process of going through the user account settings that run the job to remove delete access from the service account. I have done this in the past to our other data-center without changing or appending the name, I have a VM right now named the same living on our production and backup data-centers.

Very frustrating. Please build in a fail-safe or acknowledgment to the product for deletes.

Delo123
Expert
Posts: 361
Liked: 109 times
Joined: Dec 28, 2012 5:20 pm
Full Name: Guido Meijers
Contact:

Re: Restoring VM to NEW location also deletes original?

Post by Delo123 » Jul 31, 2017 8:42 am

Yes, an additional acknowledgment would be nice and needed on actual deletes, as it really isn't clear in todays "automation". Also an option to unregister the vms instead of deleting would be nice, so the user can delete themselves if they really want... (sometimes you would still like to access some data)

pidthepiper
Enthusiast
Posts: 80
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Aug 11, 2015 9:10 am
Full Name: Bilal AHmed
Contact:

Re: Restoring VM to NEW location also deletes original?

Post by pidthepiper » Jul 31, 2017 10:37 am

So is this still an issue in the latest v9.5 ? I am getting a bit muddled reading through this post?

I need to restore a VM to a different location but dont want to kill the live one!

oliverL
Enthusiast
Posts: 43
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Nov 11, 2016 8:56 am
Full Name: Oliver
Contact:

Re: Restoring VM to NEW location also deletes original?

Post by oliverL » Aug 02, 2017 11:58 am

Would be nice to know if this has been an configuration issue or if we need to go against the best-practice guide and remove the "delete file from Datastore" from the Veeam-vmWare-Service Account...
https://www.veeam.com/veeam_backup_9_0_ ... ons_pg.pdf

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot] and 37 guests