Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
acatic
Enthusiast
Posts: 39
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Oct 07, 2013 3:08 pm
Contact:

Risky to stop health check? (case 03880409)

Post by acatic »

I got a health check running on a rather large backup job of one VM. It looks like it's going to take the whole day to finish. However, I have a need to reboot the backup server so that the tape job can run for other backups. When I proceed to stop the health check, I'm given the warning "Backup's files for this job will be left in the inconsistent state. One or more instances will have incomplete, unusable restore points. Stop the job anyway?"
I don't want to lose a day of tape runs, while also not wanting to break the subject job's backup files.
Thank you for all assistance.

nitramd
Veeam Legend
Posts: 296
Liked: 81 times
Joined: Feb 16, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Risky to stop health check? (case 03880409)

Post by nitramd »

@acatic,

If I remember correctly, a health check occurs before a backup begins.

I believe that if you rebooted then the health check would restart.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 28941
Liked: 5291 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Risky to stop health check? (case 03880409)

Post by Gostev » 1 person likes this post

No, actually health check runs at the end of the job. Also, the message is related to the actual backup job, you can disregard it during health check. There's no risk to stop health check, as it is a read-only operation. Thanks!

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 20413
Liked: 1944 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Risky to stop health check? (case 03880409)

Post by foggy » 1 person likes this post

nitramd wrote: Nov 25, 2019 6:10 pm If I remember correctly, a health check occurs before a backup begins.
This is true for the backup copy job, but not for the regular backup job. Thanks!

nitramd
Veeam Legend
Posts: 296
Liked: 81 times
Joined: Feb 16, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Risky to stop health check? (case 03880409)

Post by nitramd »

That's it! Thanks Foggy!

YouGotServered
Service Provider
Posts: 116
Liked: 34 times
Joined: Mar 11, 2016 7:41 pm
Full Name: Cory Wallace
Contact:

Re: Risky to stop health check? (case 03880409)

Post by YouGotServered »

foggy wrote: Nov 26, 2019 10:32 am This is true for the backup copy job, but not for the regular backup job. Thanks!
Out of curiosity, what is the reasoning for this change in logic between the two jobs?

nitramd
Veeam Legend
Posts: 296
Liked: 81 times
Joined: Feb 16, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Risky to stop health check? (case 03880409)

Post by nitramd »

I suspect that it has to do with copying data from one repo to another.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests