Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
larry
Expert
Posts: 387
Liked: 92 times
Joined: Mar 24, 2010 5:47 pm
Full Name: Larry Walker
Contact:

Setting up direct San on 6.5. Veeam on a Windows 2008R2 sp1

Post by larry » Jun 24, 2013 1:27 pm

I setup the Lun’s on the SAN and the server. The volumes all show up but offline ?
I cant find the transport tab to set direct SAN in the jobs. Looking at the job details I don’t see if direct SAN if being used.
What did I miss?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18029
Liked: 1533 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Setting up direct San on 6.5. Veeam on a Windows 2008R2

Post by foggy » Jun 24, 2013 1:38 pm

Larry, what tag do you see next to the proxy server name selected for VM processing, if you select the particular VM to the left in the job statistics window? It should be either [nbd] or [san].

Transport mode settings are available in the proxy server properties, however, generally you do not need to select Direct SAN mode manually, it should be selected automatically if available.

larry
Expert
Posts: 387
Liked: 92 times
Joined: Mar 24, 2010 5:47 pm
Full Name: Larry Walker
Contact:

Re: Setting up direct San on 6.5. Veeam on a Windows 2008R2

Post by larry » Jun 24, 2013 1:51 pm

I didn't setup a proxy yet, is it needed for direct SAN?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18029
Liked: 1533 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Setting up direct San on 6.5. Veeam on a Windows 2008R2

Post by foggy » Jun 24, 2013 1:56 pm

You have a default proxy installed as a part of Veeam B&R installation. Btw, is your Veeam B&R physical or virtual? How do you connect it to the storage? Could you please specify your setup in a bit more detail. Thanks.

larry
Expert
Posts: 387
Liked: 92 times
Joined: Mar 24, 2010 5:47 pm
Full Name: Larry Walker
Contact:

Re: Setting up direct San on 6.5. Veeam on a Windows 2008R2

Post by larry » Jun 24, 2013 2:22 pm

Physical, iscsi

The San see's the new veeam server. I gave read only access to it. The Veeam sever 6.5 shows all the disks but they are offline, is this normal ? My 2008 Veeam 5 server shows the luns as online.

I did find the setting on the defaul proxy and it is set to tranport mode automatic.

The backup shows 6/24/2013 9:02:27 AM :: Using source proxy VMware Backup Proxy [nbd]

I am rebooting the server, I setup iscsi today maybe it just wants a reboot

larry
Expert
Posts: 387
Liked: 92 times
Joined: Mar 24, 2010 5:47 pm
Full Name: Larry Walker
Contact:

Re: Setting up direct San on 6.5. Veeam on a Windows 2008R2

Post by larry » Jun 24, 2013 2:32 pm

reboot fixed it. :)

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18029
Liked: 1533 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Setting up direct San on 6.5. Veeam on a Windows 2008R2

Post by foggy » Jun 24, 2013 2:35 pm

Glad you've nailed it, Larry. Should additional questions arise, feel free to contact us.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 26 guests