Sharing proxies/repository between different servers

VMware specific discussions

[MERGED] Repository from another backup server

Veeam Logoby Squish » Thu Feb 16, 2017 12:29 pm

Hi colleagues,

I was wondering if this is possible:
I have a backup server A, and backup server B. Backup server B has a repository (repository B). Is it possible to use repository B as a copy job target on backup server A ?
What I mean can I mount somehow repository from another backup server ?

Thank you!
Squish
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 12:25 pm
Full Name: Ondřej Kraus

Re: Repository from another backup server

Veeam Logoby DGrinev » Thu Feb 16, 2017 3:50 pm

Hi Ondřej,

This is possible but not recommended scenario because of a few reasonable issues:
1. The number of concurrent tasks is counted separately by each backup server. They are not aware of each other resource usage.
2. Versions have to be identical. Otherwise it will not work.
Please, keep it in mind when considering your backup load.

Also, review existing thread above for additional details.
Thanks!
DGrinev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 386
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev

Re: Sharing proxies/repository between different servers

Veeam Logoby rome1423 » Thu Feb 23, 2017 4:45 am

hi I have queries on this like Squish :

I have a backup server A (veeam v7) and Repositories A (filled with VM backups) in old vcenter 5.1, and will setup a New Backup Server B (veeam v9.5) with empty Repositories B in new vCenter 6.
I want to migrate (by copy) VMs in old vCenter to new vCenter using Backup Server B.
Both new and old infra temporary connect on local LAN for datacenter migration. All Veeam are VMs, repository server have physical RDM (FC SAN) attached for backup storage.

1. Is it true I can't add Repositories A to Backup Server B for VM restore/Replica Seed/BackupCopy job because of different Veeam versions?
2. Can I copy (normal windows explorer way or use shared folder on repositories A) required backups from repositories A to repositories B then do VM restore/Replica Seed jobs ?
3. How about Importing Backups from repositories A to Backup Server B ? Require to add Windows server (with Repository A) from which I plan to import backups must be added to Veeam Backup & Replication (to Backup Server B)...

from the link: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/backup/80/ ... e_hiw.html
You may need to import backups to Veeam Backup & Replication in the following situations:
▪The Veeam backup server has failed and you have restored it in a new location. You want to restore VM data from backups created by the Veeam backup server that has failed.
▪You want to restore VM data from backups created on other Veeam backup servers. -->does it apply to my scenario ?
▪You want to restore VM data from backups on the backup repository that is not connected to Veeam Backup & Replication -->does it apply to my scenario ?
▪You want to restore VM data from VeeamZIP files created on your Veeam backup server or other Veeam backup servers.

4. for some important VMs i'd like to use Replica job (by Seeding) then do Permanent Planned Failover at cutover period to minimize downtime.
If Replicating Exchange DAG clusters of 2 VMs or SQL clusters, anything to watch out for in Replication job and Planned Failover ?
Any suggestions?

thanks
rome1423
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 8:58 am

Re: Sharing proxies/repository between different servers

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Fri Feb 24, 2017 7:20 pm

Hi rome1423,

rome1423 wrote:1. Is it true I can't add Repositories A to Backup Server B for VM restore/Replica Seed/BackupCopy job because of different Veeam versions?

Yes, that's correct. The primary reason is that Veeam processes from version 7 will be upgraded to version 9.5 right after you add the same server as a repository to the Veeam backup console 9.5.
rome1423 wrote:2. Can I copy (normal windows explorer way or use shared folder on repositories A) required backups from repositories A to repositories B then do VM restore/Replica Seed jobs ?

Yes, absolutely. Moving backup files manually is fully supported. Out of curiosity, why not to upgrade the v7 installation?
rome1423 wrote:3. How about Importing Backups from repositories A to Backup Server B ? Require to add Windows server (with Repository A) from which I plan to import backups must be added to Veeam Backup & Replication (to Backup Server B)...

Backup files structure has to upgraded too in this case. As far as I remember you don't have any VBM files in the backup repository hosted by a v7 backup server, right?
rome1423 wrote:▪You want to restore VM data from backups created on other Veeam backup servers. -->does it apply to my scenario ?

Yes, but since you're running different versions of Veeam backup servers, it is highly recommended to do the upgrade first, run the job once and then complete the migration.
rome1423 wrote:4. for some important VMs i'd like to use Replica job (by Seeding) then do Permanent Planned Failover at cutover period to minimize downtime. If Replicating Exchange DAG clusters of 2 VMs or SQL clusters, anything to watch out for in Replication job and Planned Failover ?
Any suggestions?

There is a huge thread about Exchange DAG, but still worth a reading through. The migration process should be straightforward, but you need test everything out once migration is complete before doing the final switch.

Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Sharing proxies/repository between different servers

Veeam Logoby rome1423 » Tue Feb 28, 2017 9:35 am

Vitaliy S. wrote:Yes, absolutely. Moving backup files manually is fully supported. Out of curiosity, why not to upgrade the v7 installation?

Thanks, the v7 is on win2008r2 on old hosts, we are doing a hardware and virtual infra refresh to Win2012R2 VMs, vCenter 6 and Veeam 9.5.
It seems there is a backup vlan defined in my customer's the old vSphere 5 infra. Customer only use Veeam and no in-guest backup software.

Is there recommended setup info on:
Using a Backup vlan in vSphere for Veeam backup traffic only.
All Veeam VMs (VB&R with Availability Suite, Proxy+Repository VMs) on this Backup Lan.
1- the VMs not needed to join domain/contact the Domain AD ?
2.- the ESXi hosts Mgmt network is on Production vlan (mandatory). ESXi Physical NICs are 2 x 10G fibre that trunk all vlans.

Or on Veeam VMs add 2 vNICs,
1 Prod vlan for Veeam config/mgmt and Domain authentication,
1 Backup vlan for data transfer only ( Need DNS resolution for Backup IP range? No need gateway? )
rome1423
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 8:58 am

Re: Sharing proxies/repository between different servers

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Mar 02, 2017 5:26 pm

rome1423 wrote:Is there recommended setup info on:
Using a Backup vlan in vSphere for Veeam backup traffic only.
All Veeam VMs (VB&R with Availability Suite, Proxy+Repository VMs) on this Backup Lan.
1- the VMs not needed to join domain/contact the Domain AD ?
2.- the ESXi hosts Mgmt network is on Production vlan (mandatory). ESXi Physical NICs are 2 x 10G fibre that trunk all vlans.

Or on Veeam VMs add 2 vNICs,
1 Prod vlan for Veeam config/mgmt and Domain authentication,
1 Backup vlan for data transfer only ( Need DNS resolution for Backup IP range? No need gateway? )

The main thing to keep in mind is that all Veeam backup components should have two nics (for backup traffic and production network data). VMs might only be connected to production network, if backup proxy can access these VMs via hotadd/direct SAN mode.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Previous

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests