Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
hongman
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 18, 2012 3:35 pm
Contact:

Shrinking the VeeamBackup Database

Post by hongman » Jan 20, 2014 6:02 pm

Hi all

Our Veeam install has been extremely slow recently, and after trying every remedy under the sun I think this may be to do with the Database.

Our VeeamBackup DB is nearly 2GB. I have checked other veeam installs we have and they are couple hundred MB max...this is a huge difference?

I tried shrink etc in the Management Studio and it didnt take much off, couple MB.

This server has 18 jobs and about 6 backup copy jobs.

Running latest version of B&R, and ESXi 5.5 latest patch.

4 vCPU @ 2.13Ghz per core
6GB RAM
Windows Server 2008 R2 fully patched
E1000 NIC all offloading disabled (from VMXNET3)

hongman
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 18, 2012 3:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Shrinking the VeeamBackup Database

Post by hongman » Jan 20, 2014 6:16 pm

Also, there are multiple instances of the Veeam Backup Service process in Task Manager (counted 6 last time) - is this normal??

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16541
Liked: 1376 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Shrinking the VeeamBackup Database

Post by veremin » Jan 21, 2014 6:28 am

In order to purge VB&R database you might want to set the database mode to simple. Additionally, you might want set the history retention period in accordance with your needs. Setting smaller value in Menu -> Options -> History -> Session history retention should result in decreased size of database.

As to the processes you see, how many running jobs you had at that time? Also, is the backup server running any other roles apart from management one? Proxy, repository, etc.?

Thanks.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22697
Liked: 1498 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Shrinking the VeeamBackup Database

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 22, 2014 9:35 am

Can you please clarify what do you mean by saying "Veeam install is slow"? Do you refer to the GUI or the jobs themselves?

hongman
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 18, 2012 3:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Shrinking the VeeamBackup Database

Post by hongman » Jan 22, 2014 9:41 am

Hi

I ended up reinstalling Veeam and repatching up to date.

With a blank install, the GUI is fast (navigating between items etc) so I know the actual server itself is ok.

I restored the VeeamBackup DB and it has slowed down a lot, but still an improvement. Ultimately though navigating around the GUI is still quite slow (maybe 10s+ to go from item to item).

Job rates are a also a bit slower than usual and running into the day.

As I mentioned as well, there is 1 backup job running at the moment but Task Manager is showing 9 instances of Veeam.Backup.Manager.exe

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16541
Liked: 1376 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Shrinking the VeeamBackup Database

Post by veremin » Jan 22, 2014 9:44 am

Does the VB&R server host any other roles? Proxy, repository, etc.? The processes you see might be related to source/target services being executed on this VM in case of all-in deployment.

Thanks.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22697
Liked: 1498 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Shrinking the VeeamBackup Database

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 22, 2014 9:48 am

Jobs performance does not depend on the database size, as to the GUI - can you please tell if you have a particular tab that is slow or all of them behave the same? Just trying to narrow down the scope of possible reasons for this.

hongman
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 18, 2012 3:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Shrinking the VeeamBackup Database

Post by hongman » Jan 22, 2014 10:16 am

The Veeam Server is the proxy but all repositories are remote (Windows and CIFS Shares)

The GUI problem is literally just clicking between the items on the left hand navigation menu (Jobs, Backups, Last 24 Hrs, etc) - this affects all tabs.

The green arrow depicting if a job is running or not also seems to not refresh itself, i.e I will log on and it will look like multiple jobs are running - but then if I click onto the job it becomes aapparent the job has finished, but the green arrow is still there. Also the same thing with the Running tab - it will show something like (3) jobs but when I click onto it there's only 1 job running. Eventually it will refresh itself but this takes quite a long time sometimes!

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16541
Liked: 1376 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Shrinking the VeeamBackup Database

Post by veremin » Jan 22, 2014 11:07 am

The Veeam Server is the proxy but all repositories are remote (Windows and CIFS Shares)
In case of CIFS repository, what server acts as proxying server? The backup server? If so, the target service is also executed on the backup server. So, another additional process.

Thanks.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22697
Liked: 1498 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Shrinking the VeeamBackup Database

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jan 23, 2014 9:08 pm

hongman wrote:The GUI problem is literally just clicking between the items on the left hand navigation menu (Jobs, Backups, Last 24 Hrs, etc) - this affects all tabs.
Unfortunately, I'm out of ideas on what can be causing this, so I would appreciate if you could open a support case and demonstrate this behavior to our support team.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JHarman and 25 guests