Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
mcdaniels
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 18, 2014 10:13 am
Contact:

Slow Backupspeed although 10Gbit network

Post by mcdaniels » Jan 10, 2019 10:15 pm

Hi,
I have got very slow backupspeed of max. 50MB/sec, running on a 10gbit network.
This only happens in VEEAM. When I copy a 2.2GB File from the VM to the physical backupserver 1 get a datarate of 1,2GB/sec.

The managment Network (which is used for veeambackups, if I am right) of the VMWARE ESXI 6.5 is connected to a 10Gbit Intel-nic, the backupserver uses the same Nic.

If I show at the veeam statistics, the bottleneck is the source:

Source: 99%
Proxy: 12%
Network: 2%
Target: 0%

The Esxi is a Dell Poweredge T640, Raid 10, 8HDDs, 10k, SAS.
The Backupserver is a Dell Poweredge T440, Raid 10, 6 x 4TB, SAS 7.2k

ESXI Version: 6.5 (all critical Patches applied)
Veeam Version: 9.5.0/1922

Veeam proxysetting: Transportmode: Network (automatic does no change to speed).

bdufour
Expert
Posts: 203
Liked: 40 times
Joined: Nov 01, 2017 8:52 pm
Full Name: blake dufour
Contact:

Re: Slow Backupspeed although 10Gbit network

Post by bdufour » Jan 10, 2019 10:28 pm

https://bp.veeam.expert/proxy_servers_i ... twork_mode

Cons
Typically, network mode uses only up to 40% of the available bandwidth of the external VMKernel interface due to throttling mechanisms implemented on the management interfaces.

nitramd
Expert
Posts: 204
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Feb 16, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Slow Backupspeed although 10Gbit network

Post by nitramd » Jan 10, 2019 10:30 pm

How many physical CPUs and how much memory does your backup server have? Veeam uses 1 physical core per disk and about 4GB of RAM per disk.

Is your proxy also located on the backup server?

nitramd
Expert
Posts: 204
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Feb 16, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Slow Backupspeed although 10Gbit network

Post by nitramd » Jan 10, 2019 10:36 pm

Have a look at these proxy specs: https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... r=95#proxy

A proxy uses 2GB memory not 4 -> typo on my part

mcdaniels
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 18, 2014 10:13 am
Contact:

Re: Slow Backupspeed although 10Gbit network

Post by mcdaniels » Jan 10, 2019 10:44 pm

Hi,
yes proxy = backupserver
16GB of RAM
It is 1x Intel Xeon Bronze 3104, 1.7Ghz, 6-Core

I do no concurrent tasks, I do vm-backup one after one.

BUT: The bottleneck is source, so hm... it cannot be the backupserver? (as you said it is the backupmode of veeam)

Is there a better solution I can use / not using the management-network for backups?

So there is no chance of high speed backup with veeam without altering my environment?

This is also nice:
Generally speaking, network mode is recommended with 10 GB Ethernet.
https://www.veeam.com/blog/vmware-backu ... ation.html

Really, at that speed?!

And in another thread a veeam supporter says: If you have 10GbE for the ESXi mangement network, network mode can easily transfer 300-400MB/s per host.

Hm I am getting only the mentioned max. 50MB/sec :-(

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 1294
Liked: 129 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Slow Backupspeed although 10Gbit network

Post by wishr » Jan 11, 2019 11:11 am

Hi gentlemen,

I would recommend taking a look at that thread explaining what "Source" bottleneck means.

Thank you

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18430
Liked: 1587 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Slow Backupspeed although 10Gbit network

Post by foggy » Jan 11, 2019 12:55 pm

Have you tried any other transport mode (hotadd, direct SAN)?

mcdaniels
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 18, 2014 10:13 am
Contact:

Re: Slow Backupspeed although 10Gbit network

Post by mcdaniels » Jan 14, 2019 7:46 pm

@wishr thank you
@foggy: haven't tried it yet. But in fact network mode is the most compatible and the slowest (as mentioned in the docs). If I would like to go faster, I have to use another mode. It is by design. (this is what I learned) ;-)

If I choose to set up a veeam proxy in a VM, do I have to buy additional licenses? I have licensed veeam backup enterprise+ for 4 sockets.

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 1294
Liked: 129 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: Slow Backupspeed although 10Gbit network

Post by wishr » Jan 15, 2019 10:17 am

Hi Mcdaniels,

No, you do not have to additionally license any of the B&R components in this situation. The license simply controls the size of the virtual environment that you'd like to back up.

BR,
Fedor

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18430
Liked: 1587 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Slow Backupspeed although 10Gbit network

Post by foggy » Jan 15, 2019 4:16 pm

mcdaniels wrote:
Jan 14, 2019 7:46 pm
@foggy: haven't tried it yet. But in fact network mode is the most compatible and the slowest (as mentioned in the docs). If I would like to go faster, I have to use another mode. It is by design. (this is what I learned) ;-)
Correct, but on 10GB network mode should be faster than you're seeing. Trying some other transport will tell if it is the storage that cannot perform faster or environmental (networking) issue.

mcdaniels
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 18, 2014 10:13 am
Contact:

Re: Slow Backupspeed although 10Gbit network

Post by mcdaniels » Jan 23, 2019 8:31 pm

@foggy: I will try. Just doublechecked that the management-network of my esxi is running @ 10GBIT Nic -> confirmed. But I have configured a 10Gbit standby adapter, which - in my opinion - should not interfere.
management network setting is looking like (german):

Image

Switch is 10Gbit.

Here you see the harddisc-performance of the backupserver: https://vmware-forum.de/download/file.php?id=1184&t=1
Here you see the harddisc-performance of the esxiserver: https://vmware-forum.de/download/file.php?id=1185&t=1

nitramd
Expert
Posts: 204
Liked: 48 times
Joined: Feb 16, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Slow Backupspeed although 10Gbit network

Post by nitramd » Jan 28, 2019 2:42 pm

@mcdaniels, have you considered running iPerf to test the 10Gb network?

dimaslan
Service Provider
Posts: 53
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Jul 01, 2017 8:02 pm
Full Name: Dimitris Aslanidis
Contact:

Re: Slow Backupspeed although 10Gbit network

Post by dimaslan » Feb 04, 2019 2:42 pm 1 person likes this post

Do you perhaps setup any throttling policies? If it was the network that was causing this, it should say so in the Bottleneck description, whereas now it says "Source". Apparently since a simple copy is allowing for the large speeds you expect to get, it should be something else causing this. The backup and the manual copy, were they performed from the same datastore?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], natmar25 and 13 guests