Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
tferreira
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 10, 2017 5:34 pm
Full Name: Tiago Ferreira
Contact:

Snapshot Hunter not running?

Post by tferreira » Apr 10, 2017 5:58 pm

Hello forum,

It seems the Snapshot Hunter functionality isn't running correctly on our current production systems, and hidden snapshots keep growing in size.
Our production ERP DB machine had double the size without an active snapshot, which was corrected by creating a new snapshot and deleting all manually (as Snapshot Hunter would normally do).

Veeam system history also shows no snapshot hunter activity.
The case is currently open with VEEAM Support, but no feedback yet to what could cause this issue.
I'm very new to VEEAM, so any help would be appreciated.
Thanks! :)

Best regards

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 4668
Liked: 498 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Snapshot Hunter not running?

Post by Mike Resseler » Apr 11, 2017 5:24 am

Hi Tiago,

First: Welcome to the forums

Could you post your support case # also here for easier follow-up?
Any change that you are using VMware vCloud Director VMs. (Those are automatically skipped)

vmniels
Veeam Software
Posts: 1969
Liked: 430 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: Snapshot Hunter not running?

Post by vmniels » Apr 11, 2017 7:00 am

The VM's with a hidden snapshot are they also added in a backup job?
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

tferreira
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 10, 2017 5:34 pm
Full Name: Tiago Ferreira
Contact:

Re: Snapshot Hunter not running?

Post by tferreira » Apr 11, 2017 8:06 am

Hello,

Case number is 02112829.

We are not using vCloud Director, since our production systems are all running on local hardware.
All the VM's with this issue are added in backup jobs. They back up normally, but start increasing in size over time.

Mike Resseler
Veeam Software
Posts: 4668
Liked: 498 times
Joined: Feb 08, 2013 3:08 pm
Full Name: Mike Resseler
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Snapshot Hunter not running?

Post by Mike Resseler » Apr 12, 2017 6:52 am

Tiago,

Are the backups increasing in size or is the production VM increasing? I am not sure if I follow now to be honest. Please keep us also informed from the results with support

tferreira
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 10, 2017 5:34 pm
Full Name: Tiago Ferreira
Contact:

Re: Snapshot Hunter not running?

Post by tferreira » Apr 13, 2017 9:09 am

Hello,

The production VM. I can only resolve the issue by creating a snapshot and deleting it right after in vCenter.
I'll be sending VMware logs later today to the support team.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests