Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
kevin_cambs_uk
Enthusiast
Posts: 36
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Jun 12, 2012 9:13 am
Contact:

Snapshot Problem

Post by kevin_cambs_uk » Jun 12, 2012 9:21 am

Hi there

I am using Veeam 6.0 to backup Exchange 2007 on Windows 2008 R2.
All was fine until yesterday when the backup failed twice but subsequently worked on the third attempt.

However this morning, when I look at the Guest in VMWare, the provisioned storage is higher than the used storage because I think the snapshot is still there.

When I go into the snapshot manager there is a snapshot there and it says Veeam Backup Temporary Snapshot. Please do not delete this snapshot.

Now as I don't want to loose any data but wish to remove this, can I consolidate this using the snapshot tools in VMWare, or should I wait until the backup runs again which may sucessfully remove it?

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22971
Liked: 1555 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Snapshot Problem

Post by Vitaliy S. » Jun 12, 2012 10:03 am

Hi Kevin, yes, feel free to consolidate this snapshot via vSphere Client manually. Thanks!

kevin_cambs_uk
Enthusiast
Posts: 36
Liked: 7 times
Joined: Jun 12, 2012 9:13 am
Contact:

Re: Snapshot Problem

Post by kevin_cambs_uk » Jun 12, 2012 10:29 am

Superb, many thanks !
it my first time LOL !!

eff0r69
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 18, 2013 12:47 pm
Full Name: Julian Effing
Contact:

[MERGED] Snapshot exists

Post by eff0r69 » Feb 18, 2013 1:07 pm

Dear Community,

i got a little question about an existing Snaphot that was created by Veeam Backup and Replication 6.5.

I installed Veeam One to test it. And it say's, that my virtual Exchange got a snapshot, which is 81 day old and 46 gb big.

Image

Should i delete it? Or what should I do with it?

Kind regards

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests