Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
aich365
Service Provider
Posts: 155
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Aug 10, 2016 11:10 am
Full Name: Clive Harris
Contact:

Space required for installation of B&R 9.5.3

Post by aich365 » Jun 07, 2018 1:54 pm

Case #03042044
The system requirements advise 2GB is required for installation of Veeam.

https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... kup_server

In actual fact for Veeam 9.5.3 at least 9GB is required to install.

this is because version 9.5.0 is installed first and then Update 9.5.3 is installed.

because of the way theses files are unpacked and copied there are several copies of the the applications.

Once the installation is completed these get cleaned up (but may need manually removing) and so the nett space used is 6GB (not 2Gb as per spec)

if the installation fails then the uninstall does not clean up properly and manual removal of files, directories and registry entries is required, especially if the Update to 9.5.3 is the bit that fails as the original 9.5.0 install when retried advises you have a later version installed.

there is also no option to select a different location as a temp area to install (e.g. a Data disk may have loads of space but Veeam wants to install on C:)

billcouper
Service Provider
Posts: 69
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Dec 18, 2017 8:58 am
Full Name: Bill Couper
Contact:

Re: Space required for installation of B&R 9.5.3

Post by billcouper » Jun 08, 2018 3:51 am

You can specify a different disk for installation as per https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95
If your C: drive doesn't have 2GB for the temporary files you need to expand it - you're asking for trouble letting C: get that full.

aich365
Service Provider
Posts: 155
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Aug 10, 2016 11:10 am
Full Name: Clive Harris
Contact:

Re: Space required for installation of B&R 9.5.3

Post by aich365 » Jun 08, 2018 2:23 pm

Hi Bill
Many thanks for your reply. I have noted the option for a different installation directory.

When the installation job started I had 8GB free and the sys req's stated only 2GB was needed. They make no mention of temporary space

In the end 9GB was needed for temp files and the actual install ended up consuming 6GB even though .NET had been previously installed.

The update 3 package remains on the system under program files consuming 1.4GB ....

The system also had SQL2008 and SQL2014 but Veeam installed SQL2012

I am also a bit concerned that manual intervention was required to clean up a failed install and there is no specific "Veeam uninstall" programme that complete this.
Editing the registry is not the best way to go.

thanks again
P.S. 50GB C: drives are the bain of my life...

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5498
Liked: 513 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Space required for installation of B&R 9.5.3

Post by PTide » Jun 08, 2018 4:39 pm

Hi,

It's not quite clear whether you tried to install 9.5 U3 on a clean machine, or there was 9.5 already in place, would you elaborate, please? If it was a fresh install then all remaining pieces should have been cleaned automatically in case of failure, except for redistributables (SQL, .net)

Thanks

aich365
Service Provider
Posts: 155
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Aug 10, 2016 11:10 am
Full Name: Clive Harris
Contact:

Re: Space required for installation of B&R 9.5.3

Post by aich365 » Jun 11, 2018 7:10 am

This was a clean install to replace Backup Exec. There was no previous instance of Veeam on site.

thanks

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 4214
Liked: 778 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Space required for installation of B&R 9.5.3

Post by Andreas Neufert » Jun 11, 2018 7:50 am

Thanks... I will ask documentation team to update it.

aich365
Service Provider
Posts: 155
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Aug 10, 2016 11:10 am
Full Name: Clive Harris
Contact:

Re: Space required for installation of B&R 9.5.3

Post by aich365 » Sep 19, 2019 1:35 pm

A year on I have tried to install the 9.5.4b upgrade and once again have run out of space.
Sys req show 5GB is needed but we ran out of space at 8GB and it still didn't complete.

it would be nice to be able to specify a temp working directory to unpack and run the upgrade. e.g. Veeamupgrade.exe /t H:\temp

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19018
Liked: 1693 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Space required for installation of B&R 9.5.3

Post by foggy » Sep 19, 2019 4:08 pm

Hi Clive, noted. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 21 guests