Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
SynthosKralupy
Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jan 06, 2012 10:16 am
Full Name: Synthos Kralupy
Contact:

SQL log backup for specific DB only?

Post by SynthosKralupy » Jan 29, 2019 8:01 am

Hello,

is possible somehow define to backup transaction logs from specific SQL databases only? As I see SQL transaction log process is taking backup of all DBs and all instances with Full recovery model. I know, I can switch DBs to Simple mode to workaround this, but...

Thanks.

Pavel.

wishr
Veeam Software
Posts: 888
Liked: 84 times
Joined: Aug 07, 2018 3:11 pm
Full Name: Fedor Maslov
Contact:

Re: SQL log backup for specific DB only?

Post by wishr » Jan 29, 2019 11:51 am

Hi Synthos,

Could you please take a look at this and that article and let us know if any additional questions arise?

Thanks!

SynthosKralupy
Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jan 06, 2012 10:16 am
Full Name: Synthos Kralupy
Contact:

Re: SQL log backup for specific DB only?

Post by SynthosKralupy » Jan 29, 2019 12:07 pm

Wow! Thanks, it looks great :D
I am still running VBR 9.5 U3a, do you know if will works? Document is related to Update 4.

Pavel.

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1647
Liked: 201 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: SQL log backup for specific DB only?

Post by DGrinev » Jan 29, 2019 12:16 pm

Sure, you can see in the KB it can be applied to versions 8.x, 9.x. Thanks!

SynthosKralupy
Enthusiast
Posts: 27
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jan 06, 2012 10:16 am
Full Name: Synthos Kralupy
Contact:

Re: SQL log backup for specific DB only?

Post by SynthosKralupy » Jan 29, 2019 1:06 pm

It's perfect. I suppose some service on VBR server should be restarted, isn't it? To re-read new registry settings. SQL log backup process is still processing all DBs.

Thanks.

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1647
Liked: 201 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: SQL log backup for specific DB only?

Post by DGrinev » Jan 29, 2019 2:38 pm

Yes, you should restart Veeam related services, but don't forget to stop all activities on the backup server prior doing it. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 39 guests