Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
averylarry
Expert
Posts: 261
Liked: 28 times
Joined: Mar 22, 2011 7:43 pm
Full Name: Ted
Contact:

SQL won't freeze after v6 upgrade

Post by averylarry » Dec 05, 2011 7:22 pm

Just wanted to ask here if I should contact support before bothering them . . .

My SQL server worked fine on v5 -- application aware snapshots etc. It has all the Veeam databases, but it does NOT have the vcenter server, nor any Veeam components. Nothing changed with the SQL server (not even windows updates) since it was working on v5 and now it isn't working.

"Unable to release guest. VSSControl: Failed to freeze guest, wait timeout."

I'm happy to open a support case but didn't want to bother them if it's something trivial.

The windows event log seems to indicate VSS success, but at 1 minute and several seconds. Is there a timeout setting I can change? I've read conflicting accounts on the forums . . .

NightBird
Service Provider
Posts: 172
Liked: 32 times
Joined: Apr 28, 2009 8:33 am
Location: Strasbourg, FRANCE
Contact:

Re: SQL won't freeze after v6 upgrade

Post by NightBird » Dec 05, 2011 7:37 pm

Same problem here. On the SQL Server with Veeam database onboard.

With v5 it works flawless

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22289
Liked: 1413 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: SQL won't freeze after v6 upgrade

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 05, 2011 8:55 pm

Hi Ted,

Based on my previous research it should work, but again I would recommend to involve our support team in investigating this issue.

Thanks!

averylarry
Expert
Posts: 261
Liked: 28 times
Joined: Mar 22, 2011 7:43 pm
Full Name: Ted
Contact:

Re: SQL won't freeze after v6 upgrade

Post by averylarry » Dec 05, 2011 9:33 pm

Sure -- like I said it was working with v5. This is a change since v6. I'll open a support case.

Davd
Enthusiast
Posts: 44
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Mar 19, 2010 12:36 pm
Full Name: David Hirsman
Contact:

Re: SQL won't freeze after v6 upgrade

Post by Davd » Dec 05, 2011 9:52 pm

I have the same problem...With our Veeam 6 backup server I am unable to backup the SQL (where Veeam database is located) with VSS enabled. I also have a Veeam 5 backup server with database on same SQL (as Veeam 6 database) and that one works fine with VSS.

I have an open case with support about this but so far they seem to think that its a problem on our side... Which I don't agree since our Veeam 5 work just fine with exactly same settings.

So its intresting to see that other users are expiriencing this as well... perheps Veeam support can dig a bit deeper then

ZachW
Enthusiast
Posts: 68
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Aug 02, 2011 6:09 pm
Full Name: Zach Weed
Contact:

Re: SQL won't freeze after v6 upgrade

Post by ZachW » Dec 05, 2011 10:40 pm

David,

What is your support case number?

-Zach

Davd
Enthusiast
Posts: 44
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Mar 19, 2010 12:36 pm
Full Name: David Hirsman
Contact:

Re: SQL won't freeze after v6 upgrade

Post by Davd » Dec 06, 2011 7:15 am

Support case nr is ID#5157661

Davd
Enthusiast
Posts: 44
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Mar 19, 2010 12:36 pm
Full Name: David Hirsman
Contact:

Re: SQL won't freeze after v6 upgrade

Post by Davd » Dec 06, 2011 8:39 am

I recieved an update from support now where they state following:

"The reason why the job fails during processing of SQL server where Veeam's DB is located is a connectivity loss. Veeam initiates VSS freeze of the SQL DB and all the transaction are being stopped for the short period of time. In that time interval Veeam loses the connection to the DB and that causes job to fail. Backing up of Veeam's DB with VSS freeze is a scenario which is not supposed to be working."

I find this answer quite ridiculos since it works fine in version 5. But maybe its a new feature of version 6...

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22289
Liked: 1413 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: SQL won't freeze after v6 upgrade

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 06, 2011 9:28 am

David, I have just asked our QC team to try to reproduce this behavior. I will post back once I have more information.

dsrohdy
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 01, 2011 12:46 pm
Full Name: Dustin Rohdy
Contact:

Re: SQL won't freeze after v6 upgrade

Post by dsrohdy » Dec 06, 2011 4:33 pm

Just wanted to add that I'm experiencing the same error. Veeam DB backup worked correctly in V5 but will not freeze in V6.

jimmymc
Service Provider
Posts: 30
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Dec 09, 2010 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: SQL won't freeze after v6 upgrade

Post by jimmymc » Dec 07, 2011 7:28 pm

Same issue here - Vitaly, would you like us to log a call with support also, or wait for you to reproduce and work on the issue internally? It's a problem for us as we have lots of important DBs on the same SQL server..

Cheers, James

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22289
Liked: 1413 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: SQL won't freeze after v6 upgrade

Post by Vitaliy S. » Dec 07, 2011 8:01 pm

James, according to the recent news from our QC team we've managed to reproduce this issue and now are working on possible fixes, but I would suggest to log a support call anyway!

aweiss
Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 26, 2011 6:22 am
Full Name: Alexandre Weiss
Contact:

Re: SQL won't freeze after v6 upgrade

Post by aweiss » Dec 08, 2011 9:25 pm

I guys, after the SAN Direct Access mode not working (waiting for fix) i have the same issue. Veeam db is located on an external SQL server : VSS snap fails with the same error. Gonna open a case through web and reference this post. I also have the same error on SQL not hosting Veeam DB. It was working well in v5
Rgds Alex

aweiss
Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 26, 2011 6:22 am
Full Name: Alexandre Weiss
Contact:

Re: SQL won't freeze after v6 upgrade

Post by aweiss » Dec 08, 2011 9:43 pm

Here's my case number 5159575 Alex

aweiss
Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 26, 2011 6:22 am
Full Name: Alexandre Weiss
Contact:

Re: SQL won't freeze after v6 upgrade

Post by aweiss » Dec 09, 2011 2:45 pm

Hi Guys
I received a fix for Direct San Access and it works great ! Any idea for this VSS fix to come up ? Thanks for your efforts !

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests