Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
vRhinow
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 12, 2019 11:57 am
Full Name: Felix Heitmann
Contact:

Storage integration with NetApp Metrocluster

Post by vRhinow »

Hey there,

i am currently working on a project regarding Veeam and a NetApp Metrocluster. I am trying to connect the Storage via the Storage integration.
When trying to add the second Metrocluster Node i get the following error:

---------------------------
Veeam Backup and Replication
---------------------------
You cannot have both the cDOT cluster and its SVMs registered with Veeam at the same time.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------

The Problem is i don't see the SVMs on the first Node. At least when Expanding the node in "Storage Infrastructure".
When i go to the "Edit Volumes" Menu i can exclude the volumes under the Metrocluster SVMs.
When i try to configure "Only the following volumes" it tells me this is not supported in MetroCluster Configs, which means the MetroCluster gets recognized :).

For me it seems necessary to setup the second Metrocluster node in order to trigger Snapshots on his volumes.

Does anybody have experience with this?

Thank you!

Andreas Neufert
VP, Product Management
Posts: 4821
Liked: 955 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Storage integration with NetApp Metrocluster

Post by Andreas Neufert »

I guess you try to add the second system by SVM while the first one was added on cluster level. Did you tried to add the second one with cluster level as well ?

vRhinow
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 12, 2019 11:57 am
Full Name: Felix Heitmann
Contact:

Re: Storage integration with NetApp Metrocluster

Post by vRhinow »

Yes i am using Cluster Management for both sides..

Andreas Neufert
VP, Product Management
Posts: 4821
Liked: 955 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Storage integration with NetApp Metrocluster

Post by Andreas Neufert »

I would say, please open a support ticket and document as well the Cluster LIF IPs and SVM LIF IPs there.
Then our team can have a look what is going wrong. I did not heard about this issues before.

Can you please check that the used account has access on the cluster level and as well that the Cluster LIF IP is used and accessible from our B&R Server (test ping).

Thanks.

vRhinow
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 12, 2019 11:57 am
Full Name: Felix Heitmann
Contact:

Re: Storage integration with NetApp Metrocluster

Post by vRhinow »

i might resolved the issue by trial and error... i have readded both nodes but without scanning immediately for SVMs/Volumes.
Afterwards, they appeared in the GUI.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19781
Liked: 1827 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Storage integration with NetApp Metrocluster

Post by foggy »

Hi Felix, thanks for the heads up. We will verify this scenario internally once we get the lab.

Bjoern
Service Provider
Posts: 4
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 08, 2020 12:26 pm
Full Name: Bjoern
Contact:

Re: Storage integration with NetApp Metrocluster

Post by Bjoern »

Same Problem here. Adding without immediately scanning worked fine. Rescan afterwards also worked fine.

DerOest
Enthusiast
Posts: 60
Liked: 27 times
Joined: Oct 30, 2015 10:10 am
Contact:

Re: Storage integration with NetApp Metrocluster

Post by DerOest »

I ran into this issue on two fronts:
1. We spun up a new v10 VM to test migration and adding the MetroCluster (workaround above)
2. After the upgrade to v10 (which worked flawless), I needed to refresh some TLS Certificates on the Netapp MetroCluste but then Veeam refused to connect - re-scan to update the certificates did not work because of the bug (workaround could have been to remove the Netapp and re-add it, but Support came up with a database query to fix it - perfect!)


I got a final reply in Case #04027015 with "Just writing yo let you know that issue was confirmed to be a bug from our side and scheduled for permanent fix."

Support on this was top notch as always, unfortunately the fix did not make it into P1.

Koobal
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 28, 2015 8:34 am
Full Name: Colin Szajkowski
Contact:

Re: Storage integration with NetApp Metrocluster

Post by Koobal »

Hello DerOest,
I'm facing exact same issue.
Could you please share how to fix it ?
Thanks in advance.
Best regards

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 18024
Liked: 1722 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Storage integration with NetApp Metrocluster

Post by veremin »

Kindly, open your own ticket. If support team confirm your issue, they will fix the problem, using database query. Thanks!

Koobal
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jan 28, 2015 8:34 am
Full Name: Colin Szajkowski
Contact:

Re: Storage integration with NetApp Metrocluster

Post by Koobal » 1 person likes this post

I did it in the same time I update this topic. :)
Case ID# 04158159

Thanks !

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 18024
Liked: 1722 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Storage integration with NetApp Metrocluster

Post by veremin » 1 person likes this post

Discussed the issue with the support - the current workaround includes adding a cluster without running immediate storage scan. There is no DB query for that.

The issue is planned to be fixed in one of the next product versions.

Thanks!

marco.horstmann
Veeam Software
Posts: 489
Liked: 93 times
Joined: Dec 31, 2014 3:05 pm
Full Name: Marco Horstmann
Location: Hannover, Germany
Contact:

Re: Storage integration with NetApp Metrocluster

Post by marco.horstmann »

I was asked today by a partner regarding this issue if I have more information and I want to share the current status.

If you have the same issue please open a support case and refer to a Bug/Hotfix 215735. For applying this hotfix you need to update to v10 CU2 first.
Marco Horstmann
Senior System Engineer @ Veeam Software

@marcohorstmann
https://horstmann.in
VMware VCP
NetApp NCIE-SAN for 7-Mode and Clustered Ontap

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 7 guests