Support for Exchange 2016 DAG

VMware specific discussions

Support for Exchange 2016 DAG

Veeam Logoby kevinroy » Fri Feb 05, 2016 10:47 am

Hello,
We have upgraded to v9 and tried to do a restore of a Exchange 2016 Server application items, initially it does not pick it up as a listed server unless we tick all servers, if i select this is open exchange item level restore but gives me no user accounts at all, just opens to a blank screen with the option to add store, no users listed so its as though its not mounting the dbase ?

Any ideas ?

Kind Regards
Kevin
kevinroy
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 10:42 am
Full Name: Kevin Roy

Re: Support for Exchange 2016 DAG

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Feb 05, 2016 12:14 pm

Kevin, do you have application-aware image processing enabled on the job that backs Exchange up? Could you please also describe the restore process you're attempting in more detail? Thanks.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Support for Exchange 2016 DAG

Veeam Logoby kevinroy » Fri Feb 05, 2016 12:37 pm

Hi yes it does have application aware image processing enabled.
I am going to Restore - Application Item
It lists an old exchange server 2013 one from 101 days ago, and I have to click show all servers, I then select either one of the two DAG Exchange 2016 hosts.
It Loads Exchange application restore, says it mounting, looks like it mounts ok and nothing on the screen its blank, I have the menu option to open store manually, but where it would usually list the dbase/details on the right hands side is nothing.

Hope this helps.
thank you
Kevin
kevinroy
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 10:42 am
Full Name: Kevin Roy

Re: Support for Exchange 2016 DAG

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Feb 08, 2016 11:19 am

Please contact technical support, as deeper investigation is required. Thanks!
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Support for Exchange 2016 DAG

Veeam Logoby kevinroy » Mon Feb 08, 2016 2:36 pm

Fixed, we needed to run through a backup first on Veeam 9, prior to it picking up correctly, now all work perfectly!
kevinroy
Novice
 
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 10:42 am
Full Name: Kevin Roy

Re: Support for Exchange 2016 DAG

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Feb 08, 2016 3:09 pm

Then this makes total sense, since Veeam B&R v8 didn't support Exchange 2016 and hence couldn't create backup that would be recoverable in v9.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests