Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
Someblood
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 22, 2009 5:30 pm
Contact:

SureBackup Exchange 2003 Reboot loop Veeam B&R v7

Post by Someblood » Sep 25, 2013 2:29 pm

Hello,

I'm using Veeam v7 with a Surebackup Job, we have 2 VMs in this Job, a Domain Controler (GC,DNS...) and a server Exchange 2003.
The First step with the Surebackup tests on the Domain controler VM are ok.
The Second step with the Surebackup tests on the Exchange VM is blocked on Powering On, the Exchange VM is on a boot loop. It's not a dirty reboot.
The Exchange VM reboot like a guest reboot.
I have check the Surebackup job Logs and i don't see anything wrong.

Can you help me?

I'm sorry for my poor english, i'm a french user.

Thanks

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18158
Liked: 1542 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: SureBackup Exchange 2003 Reboot loop Veeam B&R v7

Post by foggy » Sep 25, 2013 4:32 pm

Is it a reboot loop (several subsequent reboots) or just a single reboot during Exchange server restoration in vlab?

Someblood
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 22, 2009 5:30 pm
Contact:

Re: SureBackup Exchange 2003 Reboot loop Veeam B&R v7

Post by Someblood » Sep 25, 2013 8:12 pm

It's a reboot loop

Someblood
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 22, 2009 5:30 pm
Contact:

Re: SureBackup Exchange 2003 Reboot loop Veeam B&R v7

Post by Someblood » Sep 26, 2013 2:27 pm

When i check logs on surebackup job, i just see this spam message:

[SureBackup] [SRVEXCHANGE] [PowerOnVm] [StableIp] Either VM or VMware Tools have been restarted in 00:00:26 seconds(s)
[SureBackup] [SRVEXCHANGE] [PowerOnVm] [StableIp] Either VM or VMware Tools have been restarted in 00:00:26 seconds(s)
[SureBackup] [SRVEXCHANGE] [PowerOnVm] [StableIp] Either VM or VMware Tools have been restarted in 00:00:26 seconds(s)

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18158
Liked: 1542 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: SureBackup Exchange 2003 Reboot loop Veeam B&R v7

Post by foggy » Sep 26, 2013 2:45 pm

Have you contacted technical support with this?

jonboy20100
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 10, 2010 6:12 pm
Contact:

Re: SureBackup Exchange 2003 Reboot loop Veeam B&R v7

Post by jonboy20100 » Sep 27, 2013 10:16 pm

im having the same problem, did you find out what was causing this?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22874
Liked: 1540 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: SureBackup Exchange 2003 Reboot loop Veeam B&R v7

Post by Vitaliy S. » Sep 29, 2013 10:35 am

Jon, unfortunately, the OP didn't post his ticket number,so I cannot update the topic with the resolution. I would appreciate if you could open a support ticket on that issue and tell us your case number.

Someblood
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 22, 2009 5:30 pm
Contact:

Re: SureBackup Exchange 2003 Reboot loop Veeam B&R v7

Post by Someblood » Sep 30, 2013 3:10 pm

Support Ticket open: 00453073

jonboy20100
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 10, 2010 6:12 pm
Contact:

Re: SureBackup Exchange 2003 Reboot loop Veeam B&R v7

Post by jonboy20100 » Sep 30, 2013 7:02 pm

I have logged as well

Support ID : 00453232

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18158
Liked: 1542 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: SureBackup Exchange 2003 Reboot loop Veeam B&R v7

Post by foggy » Oct 01, 2013 8:48 am

Thanks guys, much appreciated. Let's wait for the results of logs review.

Kwa-GJ
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Oct 02, 2013 9:47 am
Full Name: KWA-GJ
Contact:

Re: SureBackup Exchange 2003 Reboot loop Veeam B&R v7

Post by Kwa-GJ » Oct 02, 2013 10:02 am

Hi,

We have the exact the same issue, with surebackup but also as we do a entire vm restore of our exchange 2003 server.(we do this every month to build a compete shadow enviroment of our production)
It keeps rebooting, but its a clean reboot. The event viewer shows that the reboot is initiated by the veeam guest agent.

I started the server in safe mode en deleted the veeamguest agent service key. After that the restored exchange server stopped rebooting and works normally.

This is 100% a veeam 7 issue, i did this very often and after upgarding to veeam 7 this issue pops up.
DC's windows 2003/2008 exchange 2010 seems to be working fine after a restore.

I did not logged a support call yet.

ps: I am Running veeam 7 with patch1

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18158
Liked: 1542 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: SureBackup Exchange 2003 Reboot loop Veeam B&R v7

Post by foggy » Oct 02, 2013 12:47 pm

Support is still looking into it, so you could open your own case to provide more information about the issue (if required) and be shortly notified about the results of investigation. Thanks.

jonboy20100
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 10, 2010 6:12 pm
Contact:

Re: SureBackup Exchange 2003 Reboot loop Veeam B&R v7

Post by jonboy20100 » Oct 03, 2013 10:40 am

the other way to get around the exchange reboot loop is to select "Last Known Good Configuration" from the Windows Boot Menu (F8)

tma
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 11, 2013 11:30 am
Full Name: tma

Re: SureBackup Exchange 2003 Reboot loop Veeam B&R v7

Post by tma » Oct 11, 2013 11:38 am

Hello,

I have the same Problem with a Reboot Loop on my Exchange 2003. For my Server the solution was:

Start your restored Exchange Server in Safe Mode (F8), disable the "volume shadow copy" in Services and boot your Server again.

Someblood
Influencer
Posts: 10
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 22, 2009 5:30 pm
Contact:

Re: SureBackup Exchange 2003 Reboot loop Veeam B&R v7

Post by Someblood » Oct 17, 2013 4:00 pm

Hello,

For my Surebackup Job, i d'ont have a solution.
I can't boot all the Days in safe mode and disable a service.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18158
Liked: 1542 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: SureBackup Exchange 2003 Reboot loop Veeam B&R v7

Post by foggy » Oct 18, 2013 11:53 am

I can see your support case is closed, however if you feel it was not treated properly and you still do not have any applicable resolution, I recommend reopening it to proceed with investigation. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests