Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
backupquestions
Expert
Posts: 117
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Mar 13, 2019 2:30 pm
Full Name: Alabaster McJenkins
Contact:

Surebackup Exchange issue

Post by backupquestions » Jun 10, 2019 7:46 pm

I've noticed that Exchange server is failing the "mail server" surebackup script test. (which is simply a telnet to port 25 I think). So I started up my surebackup job and set the time limits high so I could investigate what happens during the job.

What it looks like is all the Exchange services simply do not start at all. I started one of the manually and it started right up however.

Some google research showed me someone else with a similar issue and they suspected due to your storage being a little slower for the VM, some services time out and don't start due to this.

Is there any solutions for this? One person said they made a script that tries to start all Exchange services after bootup and keeps running every so often etc. That seems like something I don't really want to use on my production system, but maybe limit it to only the surebackup job. When I look in the "scripts" area of the job, I could make and add a script in here, but how would I ensure this is run first and then a delay before the mail server script? You can put them in order top down, but you can't specify a delay between.

Otherwise, any ideas on how to solve this? Currently I've disabled the mail server test portion of the job but it makes me nervous that there could be database corruption or something in Exchange.

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 4015
Liked: 493 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Surebackup Exchange issue

Post by HannesK » Jun 11, 2019 5:40 am

Hello,
if you work with application groups (I recommend that for exchange), then you can set "keep the application group running after the job completes" . Then you have time to test everything manually.

Do you have one exchange, or is it a DAG? Do you have a domain controller in your application group?

to specify delays: the easiest way it to add hardcoded "sleeps" in your scripts.

Best regards,
Hannes

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3817
Liked: 685 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Surebackup Exchange issue

Post by Andreas Neufert » Jun 11, 2019 12:11 pm

Non DAG
need AD controller running first, you need one to start in an application group.
Potentially you need as well one from you forest master domain as Exchange Groups are stored there.

For DAG, you need 2 members, a CAS Server (or witness disk) plus the above. Without it DAG will not bring up Exchange services automatically.

backupquestions
Expert
Posts: 117
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Mar 13, 2019 2:30 pm
Full Name: Alabaster McJenkins
Contact:

Re: Surebackup Exchange issue

Post by backupquestions » Jun 11, 2019 1:27 pm

It is only a single stand alone Exchange Server. I'm using application group where it is one DC and this exchange server. The DC is getting fully started up authoritative first so that part is good.

HannesK
Veeam Software
Posts: 4015
Liked: 493 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Surebackup Exchange issue

Post by HannesK » Jun 12, 2019 6:58 am

as you can start everything successfully when you doing it manually, I guess there is no serious issue.

The only idea from my side would look at the Exchange log files. The issues you see in virtual lab, would finally also happen if you do a production restore. So it is a good idea to find the reason why the services don't start automatically. In general, it must work. I have heard from partners that they manage to do SureBackup tests with VirtualLab

I would try with manual reboot first to narrow down the problem.

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3817
Liked: 685 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Surebackup Exchange issue

Post by Andreas Neufert » Jun 12, 2019 8:10 pm

Can you please share Exchange and Operating System Version?

backupquestions
Expert
Posts: 117
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Mar 13, 2019 2:30 pm
Full Name: Alabaster McJenkins
Contact:

Re: Surebackup Exchange issue

Post by backupquestions » Jun 12, 2019 8:42 pm 1 person likes this post

Exchange 2016. Server 2016 is the OS for both VMs.

I do have multiple domain controllers and I suppose I could include more or all of them into this job as a test to see if it is any different.

I can tell you that in production my Exchange server is rebooted monthly for patching and it has no issue automatically starting all exchange services.

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3817
Liked: 685 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Surebackup Exchange issue

Post by Andreas Neufert » Jun 13, 2019 7:05 am

Check if the domain controller that you use at surebackup is a global catalog. You can enable the test within the application group.

backupquestions
Expert
Posts: 117
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Mar 13, 2019 2:30 pm
Full Name: Alabaster McJenkins
Contact:

Re: Surebackup Exchange issue

Post by backupquestions » Jun 13, 2019 1:07 pm

All 4 of my dcs are global catalogs, and I do always check that option in the testing and it passes. I guess I'll add all the DCs in next instead of just trying one, unless 1 DC so long as it is a DNS/global catalog with authoritative restore *should* work?

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 3817
Liked: 685 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Surebackup Exchange issue

Post by Andreas Neufert » Jun 13, 2019 7:48 pm

Yes, it should work... Then maybe something is not correct with the configuration. Let the lab be running (Surebackup job select the setting at the Application groupd at the bottom and disable the email server checks).

Then check Exchange windows event logs. I think SureBackup is just doing it´s job and will show you that something is not correct.

Potentially it is just that someone added another DNS entry and Exchange can not fully communicate with AD?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests