Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
Lane
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 07, 2018 6:01 am

Surebackup, OS did not boot in the allotted time.

Post by Lane » Apr 24, 2019 11:29 am

Hello, please help me figure out the problem.
I have a few Surebackup tasks, but some of them fails all the time. Failing VM's is CentOS machines with VMware Tools on board.

Error report:

Code: Select all

VM name	Status	Start time			End time		Heartbeat test	Ping test	Custom script test	Validation test
bx00 - machine	Failed	4/24/2019 12:54:09 PM	4/24/2019 1:08:29 PM	Not run	        Disabled	Disabled		Disabled

When i start Surebackup manually in vCenter i see that all goes fine and VM starts as well without any problem, but in the end i still get the "fail report".
Have no idea where to dig in, help needed.

PTide
Product Manager
Posts: 5504
Liked: 514 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Surebackup, OS did not boot in the allotted time.

Post by PTide » Apr 24, 2019 11:42 am

Hi,

Please provide more details on how the sessions finish (at least the error message), here is the example.

Thanks!

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 4227
Liked: 778 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Surebackup, OS did not boot in the allotted time.

Post by Andreas Neufert » Apr 24, 2019 11:49 am

Please check if you have original VMware Tools installed or the community version of it?

Lane
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 07, 2018 6:01 am

Re: Surebackup, OS did not boot in the allotted time.

Post by Lane » Apr 24, 2019 11:54 am

Sure!
https://ibb.co/9YgTwHB

I installed the original VMware Tools from vCenter.

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 4227
Liked: 778 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Surebackup, OS did not boot in the allotted time.

Post by Andreas Neufert » Apr 24, 2019 11:58 am

Can you please check when the VM boots if vcenter detect VMware tools of the SureBackup VMs that you want to start as up to date (the Veeam appliance VMware tools status do not matter, just from the VMs). It looks like we can not detect based on vCenter queries that the VM is booted by detecting if the VMware tools are running.

Lane
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 07, 2018 6:01 am

Re: Surebackup, OS did not boot in the allotted time.

Post by Lane » Apr 24, 2019 12:08 pm

Dont sure that i understood you correctly, but here the screenshot from vCenter.

https://ibb.co/5M0sdF4

Andreas Neufert
Veeam Software
Posts: 4227
Liked: 778 times
Joined: May 04, 2011 8:36 am
Full Name: Andreas Neufert
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Surebackup, OS did not boot in the allotted time.

Post by Andreas Neufert » Apr 24, 2019 12:23 pm

Everything looks correct. Can you please open a support ticket and upload logs. Our Support team will investigate logs and can provide additional insights.
Please post ticket number here.

runesim
Service Provider
Posts: 6
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 01, 2019 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: Surebackup, OS did not boot in the allotted time.

Post by runesim » Nov 21, 2019 9:34 am

Hi,

Did you guys come to a solution?

We are seeing the same thing.

Thanks

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 19041
Liked: 1693 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Surebackup, OS did not boot in the allotted time.

Post by foggy » Nov 22, 2019 3:23 pm

Please open a case for the investigation of your particular setup. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: J.Triplehorn and 28 guests