SureBackup

VMware specific discussions

SureBackup

Veeam Logoby alex_ilie » Thu Feb 23, 2012 2:21 pm

Hi. I am trying to set up a sure backup process to verify some of the vms. All good, i have created all that i need. I start the job and, even thou the vm starts (both, the virtual lab and the vm i need to check) the state of the process does not go above 0% in the JOBS window from Surebackup section. My guess is that it should start verifying and the it should shut down the vm right? What am i missing here? Thank you!
alex_ilie
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 8:41 am
Full Name: Alexandru Ilie

Re: Sure backup

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Thu Feb 23, 2012 4:17 pm

alex_ilie wrote:What am i missing here?

That would be pretty impossible to guess with this little data...
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21385
Liked: 2348 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Sure backup

Veeam Logoby alex_ilie » Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:53 am

Please let me know what exactly you need to know. I can see that the HeartBeat test is ok. The ping is not ok. I have deactivated the firewall on the vm. I have also tried to configure the nic for the virtual_lab_testing, but still fails. For configuring the sure backup i have used the info i found in Veeam software in the Sure Backup section. It should be good enough. Please let me know if you need more info in order to help me. Thanks!
alex_ilie
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 8:41 am
Full Name: Alexandru Ilie

Re: Sure backup

Veeam Logoby alex_ilie » Fri Feb 24, 2012 9:09 am

Hi. It seems to be working, but the vm from backup (which is beeing tested) should not automatically shut down once the test is over?
alex_ilie
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 8:41 am
Full Name: Alexandru Ilie

Re: Sure backup

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Feb 24, 2012 10:28 am

Yes, it should automatically shutdown once the test is completed.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21385
Liked: 2348 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Sure backup

Veeam Logoby alex_ilie » Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:07 am

Hi. Could some one please tell me where could i find a guide about how to set up sure backup? Maybe i am doing something wrong. The VM does not go down and i get a status of Ready in the jobs window for that specific vm when i test it. Thank you!
alex_ilie
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 8:41 am
Full Name: Alexandru Ilie

Re: Sure backup

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:19 am

What about the application group? Do all VMs in it power off on SureBackup job completion? Is there a chance that the tested VM belongs to the app group as well and the 'Keep the application group running once the job completes' check box is selected?

The process of creating a SureBackup job is described in the user guide in good detail.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Sure backup

Veeam Logoby alex_ilie » Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:42 am

Hi. Let me tell you what i have done.
-> I have taken backup of a Vm.
-> I have created the virtual lab and configured the IP and all so all good
-> i have created the application group and added the vm i have taken backup of. The question is when i add a vm i have to options. which one i use add vm from backup or add vm from VI? I believe that its from VI.
-> Then i created the job - i select the virtual lab and the application group (i see the vms in the list for that specific app group). The keep the app group running once the job completes is not checked. Then ik use Link backup jobs and select the backup i want (this should not be used?). And that would be all.
-> I start the backup and the checking should start automatically correct?
It does not. Thank you!
alex_ilie
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 8:41 am
Full Name: Alexandru Ilie

Re: Sure backup

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:15 pm

Generally, if you just want to test a single VM without checking any application dependencies on other VMs, then you do not need to specify an application group at all, only link a backup job.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Sure backup

Veeam Logoby alex_ilie » Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:24 pm

After enabling the schedule it started and stoped automatically. I was expecting the sure backup job to start by itself immediatly after finishing the backup since it was linked to that backup. There is one warning i got: Error W2008R2TemplAct - Application initialization. Does this mean that it could not start the vm properlly? Thanks!
alex_ilie
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 8:41 am
Full Name: Alexandru Ilie

Re: Sure backup

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:36 pm

Not necessarily, it could also mean that the application just needs more time to initialize than the timeout specified in the SureBackup job settings by default. Or that wrong role / test script is specified for the VM (no such application). Also, remember that you can always open the VM console window when the SureBackup job is running (by going to the job's session dialog and clicking the VM name), and see how the VM is doing. Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21385
Liked: 2348 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Sure backup

Veeam Logoby alex_ilie » Fri Feb 24, 2012 1:53 pm

Please have a look at the log below. The error i get is it critical or is just because no script is used and it can be ignored? Can i get rid of it? I get an error in the last result section in jobs section of the sure backup. Thank you!
alex_ilie
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 8:41 am
Full Name: Alexandru Ilie

Re: Sure backup

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri Feb 24, 2012 2:00 pm

This warning is displayed in informational purposes, please review this topic for details.

PS I've edited your post and removed log snippets. Please avoid posting them as explained when you click New Topic.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14716
Liked: 1075 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Sure backup

Veeam Logoby alex_ilie » Fri Feb 24, 2012 2:29 pm

Sorry. Thank you!
alex_ilie
Influencer
 
Posts: 24
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 8:41 am
Full Name: Alexandru Ilie

Re: Sure backup

Veeam Logoby damocue » Fri Feb 24, 2012 5:44 pm

Hello all,

My problem with Surebackup is quite different from here reported. When I run a Surebackup job, the recovered virtual machines have got a network adapter, differents from originals. So, when I run a Surebackup of Exchange, for example, the domain controller and Exchange servers have a different IP, got from the DHCP server in virtual Lab, and with these new IPs my lab doesn't work because Exchange servers don't find the domain controller.

I remember that on version 5 this didn't happen. Is it something new in version 6?

Regards,
damocue
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 45
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 9:10 am
Location: Valencia, Spain
Full Name: David Molina

Next

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests