Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
toko42
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Sep 19, 2013 7:04 am
Full Name: Thorsten Kowalski
Contact:

Switching OS: How to backup/restore B&R database?

Post by toko42 » Aug 24, 2019 10:38 am

Good morning,

I have to re-install the OS of the machine where B&R (9.5.4.2866) is installed (everything locally).

I found the Configuration Backup but also want to backup the job database so I don't have to re-inventory my library.

There are some older threads from 2010/11 in which there was mentioning of maybe adding a feature to do this but couldn't find any menu entry relating to this.

Can you please point me in the right direction?

Many thanks!

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5261
Liked: 459 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Switching OS: How to backup/restore B&R database?

Post by P.Tide » Aug 24, 2019 2:28 pm

Hi,

Since VBR DB is just MSSQL, I think you can stick with this approach.

Thanks!

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1741
Liked: 221 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: Switching OS: How to backup/restore B&R database?

Post by DGrinev » Aug 26, 2019 10:47 am

Hi Thorsten,

The configuration backup should be enough since it saves the database of the backup server.
You will get all the jobs, inventory, settings, etc. Thanks!

toko42
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Sep 19, 2013 7:04 am
Full Name: Thorsten Kowalski
Contact:

Re: Switching OS: How to backup/restore B&R database?

Post by toko42 » Sep 01, 2019 1:52 pm

The configuration backup worked fine.
But as I forgot to disable the jobs before, the migrate feature on the new machine asked to do a full restore (don't have the original wording...) and now it there are two jobs running (Infrastructure Rescan and Shell run) for a bit over two hours as well as the Tape Library Discovery idling.

Approximately how long will this take?

As far as I can see it, all the old jobs and media are there but the two tape libraries haven't been found, yet.
The jobs can't be stopped manually.

Thank you very much for your support!

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18257
Liked: 1560 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Switching OS: How to backup/restore B&R database?

Post by foggy » Sep 01, 2019 8:05 pm

Hi Thorsten, I recommend asking support for assistance here, a closer look at your setup is required.

toko42
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Sep 19, 2013 7:04 am
Full Name: Thorsten Kowalski
Contact:

Re: Switching OS: How to backup/restore B&R database?

Post by toko42 » Sep 02, 2019 8:16 am 1 person likes this post

Next morning and the two jobs are still running.
I've started a library rescan manually in the meantime and now I can see the library's as online.
As the jobs failed, I have still some things to do but haven't had the time to investigate.

For my smallish setup (2 libraries and a handful of backup jobs) probably a manual setup would have cost me the same time.

I'll reply after investigating what has to be done, so others may learn from that.

toko42
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Sep 19, 2013 7:04 am
Full Name: Thorsten Kowalski
Contact:

Re: Switching OS: How to backup/restore B&R database?

Post by toko42 » Sep 02, 2019 12:10 pm 1 person likes this post

Update:
The name of the new serveris different and thus the jobs failed.
After editing the jobs to point to the new server's name, they work fine.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], IvanK and 40 guests