Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15140
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Testing Replica (B&R 6.0 and later)

Post by v.Eremin » Aug 07, 2013 9:06 am

Hi, Terrance, you have been merged to the existing discussion; so, kindly take a look at the answers provided above.

In general, since replica restore points are kept in VMware native format (snapshots), once the next replication cycle takes place, the changes made with VM you have been playing with will be discarded.

The description of replica manual testing procedure can be found here. Thanks.

terrance101
Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 17, 2013 7:59 am
Contact:

Re: Testing Replica (B&R 6.0 and later)

Post by terrance101 » Aug 07, 2013 10:26 am

Hey v.Eremin, and tnx for putting me into the right area here, but just to confirm: I just brought up the replicated server on an isolated environment, created loads of docs on it, then shut it down and brought it back up but the docs were still there so shutting down did not remove them. However I know if I run the replication again from the live server they will go missing and the original server will be the replication again. Am I misunderstanding what you're saying here because it sounds like you said when the server is powered off on the replication all changes are lost?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16832
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Testing Replica (B&R 6.0 and later)

Post by foggy » Aug 07, 2013 11:05 am

This is exactly how you've described it, the changes made during the testing phase will be discarded on the next replication job run (corresponding delta VMDK file created during your testing will be deleted and new restore point will be created). That is how VMware snapshot tree works and that's also what Vladimir also meant in his post.

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15140
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Testing Replica (B&R 6.0 and later)

Post by v.Eremin » Aug 07, 2013 11:06 am

I’ve already changed slightly my original post in order not to cultivate further misunderstanding.

The point with testing replication is that once the next replication cycle takes place, the changes made will be discarded by reverting to original snapshot.

Hope it explains seen behavior better. Thanks.

terrance101
Enthusiast
Posts: 33
Liked: 2 times
Joined: May 17, 2013 7:59 am
Contact:

Re: Testing Replica (B&R 6.0 and later)

Post by terrance101 » Aug 07, 2013 2:41 pm

Perfect, thanks guys, maybe it was just the wording there that gave me a heart attack "powering down" and "losing all changes" eeeek, but now it's clear.

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15140
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Testing Replica (B&R 6.0 and later)

Post by v.Eremin » Aug 07, 2013 2:42 pm

You’re welcome. Should any additional help be needed, feel free to contact us. Thanks.

morciod
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 09, 2010 4:42 pm
Full Name: debra morcio
Contact:

[MERGED] Replication and DR test

Post by morciod » Sep 20, 2013 8:28 pm

We are planning on testing our DR strategy.
I need to know what is necessary for a test where we
stop replication
break our WAN link to DR site
start the replica VM's
shutdown replica VM
enable WAN link
restart replicaton

I have an OLDER documente that had us snap the replica prior to starting it.
i believe we got a message when VM was powered on where we had to reply: I copied it.

After test we removed snap and reenabled Veeam
We are running Veeam v6.5.0.144

Thank you!

JosueM
Expert
Posts: 162
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2012 2:53 pm
Full Name: Josue Maldonado
Contact:

Re: Replication and DR test

Post by JosueM » Sep 21, 2013 4:13 pm

what I usually do is:

1. pause the replication jobs
2. take a before testing snapshot on replica vm to test
3. turn on the replica vm and do all the testing until finish
4. go back to prior testing snapshot
5. delete testing snapshot
6. resume replication.

NightBird
Service Provider
Posts: 158
Liked: 21 times
Joined: Apr 28, 2009 8:33 am
Location: Strasbourg, FRANCE
Contact:

Re: Replication and DR test

Post by NightBird » Sep 22, 2013 6:39 am

You don't need to take snapshot before starting replica since v6

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 22995
Liked: 2888 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Replication and DR test

Post by Gostev » Sep 22, 2013 9:04 pm

Correct, as VMware will create hidden protective snapshot automatically to enable going back to the state you've used ("Go To" functionality in the Snapshot Manager).

murdocmk
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2009 5:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Testing Replica (B&R 6.0 and later)

Post by murdocmk » Sep 25, 2013 5:22 pm

Unless you think that maybe during your restore testing you would like to "start over" due to some change you made, intentionally or accidentally, while trying to get things recovered. In which case, creating an additional snapshot isn't that bad of an idea.

Gostev
Veeam Software
Posts: 22995
Liked: 2888 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Testing Replica (B&R 6.0 and later)

Post by Gostev » Sep 25, 2013 5:31 pm

Start over is essentially "Go To" I was talking about... so, I don't really see how an extra snapshot would help. Unless I am missing some shrewd snapshot management scenario...

murdocmk
Influencer
Posts: 24
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2009 5:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Testing Replica (B&R 6.0 and later)

Post by murdocmk » Sep 25, 2013 10:56 pm

Yes, you're right .. duh, sorry!

morciod
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Apr 09, 2010 4:42 pm
Full Name: debra morcio
Contact:

[MERGED] DR testing with Replicated hosts

Post by morciod » Sep 27, 2013 7:56 pm

can someone validate the process for exectuing a DR test. this is what i expect we need to do based on the doc i found- it just wasnt clear
1st we will disconnect network communications between source and replication site
- disable Veeam replication jobs
- snap replicatated VM ( we keep 2 snaps on replica)
- start VM

when test complete
- revert back from snap
- restart network communications
-reenable Veeam replication jobs

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 16832
Liked: 1361 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Testing Replica (B&R 6.0 and later)

Post by foggy » Sep 27, 2013 9:55 pm

Debra, please review this topic for DR testing details. No need to create any snapshots.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 16 guests