Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
benwaynet
Enthusiast
Posts: 30
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 15, 2009 5:27 pm
Full Name: Jason Benway
Location: West Michigan
Contact:

Too many nic in proxy appliance

Post by benwaynet » Apr 13, 2012 3:22 pm

We are using sure backup jobs for sandbox environments to test DR.
One application test requires use to have 4 vlans in the sandbox. We are getting an error when we add the forth vNIC on the proxy appliance.

Is there a limit of the number of vNIC the appliance can have?

Cokovic
Expert
Posts: 295
Liked: 59 times
Joined: Sep 06, 2011 8:45 am
Full Name: Haris Cokovic
Contact:

Re: Too many nic in proxy appliance

Post by Cokovic » Apr 13, 2012 3:33 pm

Yeah thats right. By default you can't add more then 3 NICs. I'm not sure and i don't remeber where i've seen it but as far as i remember there is a registry hack to add more then 3 NICs.

Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
Posts: 21522
Liked: 1281 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Too many nic in proxy appliance

Post by Vitaliy S. » Apr 13, 2012 3:55 pm

Hi Jason,

As far as I remember you cannot have more than 4 vNICs on the VM with hardware version 4, so in order to workaround that you should upgrade our appliance to the latest hardware version and apply the registry key which Cokovic is talking about, should help!

This method should first be verified by our support team, so please contact them for the complete instructions directly.

Thanks!

Cokovic
Expert
Posts: 295
Liked: 59 times
Joined: Sep 06, 2011 8:45 am
Full Name: Haris Cokovic
Contact:

Re: Too many nic in proxy appliance

Post by Cokovic » Apr 13, 2012 3:59 pm

Found this older topic here too where Gostev explained it.

So best would be to follow Vitaliy's advice and contact the support team :)

Cheers,
Haris

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: pickan and 33 guests