Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
gcutillas
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: May 15, 2019 3:19 pm
Full Name: Gabriel Cutillas
Contact:

too slow!!

Post by gcutillas » May 15, 2019 3:44 pm

Hello!!
First of all sorry for my english language :)

2 disks in RAID 1 SAS 8TB
2 disks in RAID 1 SATA 4TB

I have mounted 3 vm machines in SAS disks
-veeam vm backup and replication community edition version 9.5.4.2753 in a vm with win 2008 R2 system
-vm1 with win 2008 R2
-vm2 with win 2008 R2

In backup machinne I configured a backup of vm1 and vm2 machinnes with repository disk SATA 6 with 4TB capicity.

Speed of backup 14mb/s

rgds.

bdufour
Expert
Posts: 202
Liked: 33 times
Joined: Nov 01, 2017 8:52 pm
Full Name: blake dufour
Contact:

Re: too slow!!

Post by bdufour » May 15, 2019 3:52 pm

need to look at your bottleneck stats, thats always a good starting point and you can troubleshoot from there.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18390
Liked: 1581 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: too slow!!

Post by foggy » May 15, 2019 4:40 pm

And then a couple of words about your setup would also help, f. ex. is it a single server with 4 disks or two different ones, what type of connectivity is involved, etc.?

gcutillas
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: May 15, 2019 3:19 pm
Full Name: Gabriel Cutillas
Contact:

Re: too slow!!

Post by gcutillas » May 15, 2019 5:00 pm

is only 1 server with 4 disk
2 sas
2 sata
bootleneck more than 90% target

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18390
Liked: 1581 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: too slow!!

Post by foggy » May 16, 2019 3:20 pm

Not an ideal setup - if you lose the server, you lose backups as well. How the target disk is presented to the Veeam B&R VM?

gcutillas
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: May 15, 2019 3:19 pm
Full Name: Gabriel Cutillas
Contact:

Re: too slow!!

Post by gcutillas » May 16, 2019 3:31 pm

The idea is install Veeam backup in other server and extract copy in usb disk, but all configuration are very slow.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18390
Liked: 1581 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: too slow!!

Post by foggy » May 16, 2019 6:29 pm

Try to backup directly to USB disk and see how it performs.

gcutillas
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: May 15, 2019 3:19 pm
Full Name: Gabriel Cutillas
Contact:

Re: too slow!!

Post by gcutillas » May 17, 2019 7:02 am

is slowly to. Please I need a solution for my backup.
I'm open to hear all options.
I have a server with :

2 SAS disk in raid 1 (here is installed ESXi with 3vm: 2 win 2008 with remote desktops and 1 win 2008 with veeam backup)
ethernet with 10gb
usb available only works in 2.0 in win 2008

and setup config for veeam can be more faster than now.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24984
Liked: 3629 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: too slow!!

Post by Gostev » May 17, 2019 7:44 am

According to the bottleneck statistics, the limiting factor of backup performance is your backup target speed. So if you want faster backups, you should use a different backup target. Thanks!

gcutillas
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: May 15, 2019 3:19 pm
Full Name: Gabriel Cutillas
Contact:

Re: too slow!!

Post by gcutillas » May 17, 2019 8:09 am

I'm in appointed with you, but I'm ussing as target -> SATA 6 in the same server , why is too slowy

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24984
Liked: 3629 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: too slow!!

Post by Gostev » May 17, 2019 8:15 am

You should troubleshoot the storage performance issue with your server vendor. Veeam will backup as fast as your backup infrastructure is able to process the data, for example backup speed of 1-2 GB/s is not uncommon at our enterprise customers. Thanks!

gcutillas
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: May 15, 2019 3:19 pm
Full Name: Gabriel Cutillas
Contact:

Re: too slow!!

Post by gcutillas » May 17, 2019 3:47 pm

I need recommendation for 2 dell servers with ESXi and 3vm per one. How mount this in your opinnion? I need to restore vm in a few minutes. Data per vm 1,5TB.
Network 10gb/s

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18390
Liked: 1581 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: too slow!!

Post by foggy » May 17, 2019 4:23 pm

Not sure I understand, do you mean you're planing to replicate VMs between these two ESXi hosts?

sogapex
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Aug 21, 2018 5:33 am
Contact:

Re: too slow!!

Post by sogapex » May 20, 2019 6:12 am

hi gcutillas,

what is your veeam proxy server specs ? (CPU, RAM)
In our case, we also had a performance issue due too several factors.
beginning = about 13hours to make a full backup (bottleneck displayed in veeam = target)
now = about 3 hours

change =
1. proxy server CPU => coreI3 instead of celeron
2. raid configuration (write cache)
3. aditionnal veeam proxy servers directly on the ESXi host (Active directory servers in our cases => more CPU allocated and RAM. 8x Cpu per VM)

Target 1 = local storage of the Veeam B&R server (physical server)
Taregt 2 = usb3.0 HDD
Target 3 = NAS (lan)

Note : if the proxy used for the job = one of the VMs, then the "bottleneck" displayed by the job report seems ok (CPU/Network/Target % of activity)
if the proxy = "physical server" then, the "bottlenecks" displayed are not "real"

mcz
Expert
Posts: 308
Liked: 57 times
Joined: Jul 19, 2016 8:39 am
Full Name: Michael
Contact:

Re: too slow!!

Post by mcz » May 20, 2019 7:16 am

gcutillas wrote:
May 17, 2019 8:09 am
I'm in appointed with you, but I'm ussing as target -> SATA 6 in the same server , why is too slowy
Maybe you will try to run the microsoft-tool diskspd to check how fast (or slow) your array performs. If there isn't more performance available then even a proxy reconfig wouldn't help since veeam is already using every bit of performance the repository is providing.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18390
Liked: 1581 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: too slow!!

Post by foggy » May 20, 2019 12:13 pm

sogapex wrote:
May 20, 2019 6:12 am
Note : if the proxy used for the job = one of the VMs, then the "bottleneck" displayed by the job report seems ok (CPU/Network/Target % of activity)
if the proxy = "physical server" then, the "bottlenecks" displayed are not "real"
Bottleneck stats are real in both cases. Seems you had both proxy and repository roles assigned to a single server, that's why improving its specs helped.

sogapex
Influencer
Posts: 23
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Aug 21, 2018 5:33 am
Contact:

Re: too slow!!

Post by sogapex » May 27, 2019 6:46 am

In our case, the "bottlenecks" stats were definitevely "broken".
I don't know if we can get an "history" or a log of these stats over time, but before I "messed" with anything, the bottleneck displayed was not the CPU (proxy and repository at this time) whereas it was definitevely it the main bottleneck. (Intel Celeron...)

Backup time (full, usb target) = 8 hours with Celeron, 4 hours with core i3

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], oleg.feoktistov and 16 guests