Traffic throttling on WAN?

VMware specific discussions

Traffic throttling on WAN?

Veeam Logoby danswartz » Fri May 22, 2015 3:57 pm

Okay, so my cloud account is set up. I want to limit the BW it can use. Unlike regular repositories, the cloud one has no way (not on the GUI anyway) of limiting the ingestion rate. So my next thought was network throttling for the vmware proxy. I'm wondering what the recommended way of doing this is? Are the rules checked in order? e.g. so I could say 'source = LAN dest = LAN throttling = disabled' then a rule for the WAN enabling throttling? If so, what is the recommended way of defining that rule? '1.0.0.1 => 255.255.255.255'? Something else? Specify the specific WAN IP? That seems perilous, since I can't be assured that the DNS name the cloud provider gave me may change (or even be load-balanced across multiple IP addresses). Thanks!
danswartz
Expert
 
Posts: 106
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 4:53 pm
Full Name: Dan Swartzendruber

Re: Traffic throttling on WAN?

Veeam Logoby foggy » Fri May 22, 2015 4:32 pm

Dan, network throttling rules is the way to go. You can define the source as your internal LAN subnet and the target as Cloud Connect WAN IP range.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Traffic throttling on WAN?

Veeam Logoby Shestakov » Fri May 22, 2015 4:40 pm

Hello Dan, here is also a description of the Setting Network Traffic Throttling Rules.
Thanks.
Shestakov
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 4861
Liked: 395 times
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 11:03 am
Location: Saint Petersburg
Full Name: Nikita Shestakov

Re: Traffic throttling on WAN?

Veeam Logoby danswartz » Fri May 22, 2015 4:46 pm

Okay, thanks. Yeah, I saw that help page, but it doesn't really tell you how to deal with WAN addresses in general. I guess I should ask them for their IP range. Thanks!
danswartz
Expert
 
Posts: 106
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 4:53 pm
Full Name: Dan Swartzendruber

Re: Traffic throttling on WAN?

Veeam Logoby v.Eremin » Mon May 25, 2015 8:16 am

How you've added SP to your backup console? Under DNS or IP address? Thanks.
v.Eremin
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 13266
Liked: 968 times
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin

Re: Traffic throttling on WAN?

Veeam Logoby danswartz » Mon May 25, 2015 11:48 am

I added by name. They told me to use the UP of the host in question...
danswartz
Expert
 
Posts: 106
Liked: 13 times
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 4:53 pm
Full Name: Dan Swartzendruber


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests