Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
bauke_plugge
Service Provider
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 04, 2015 12:24 pm
Full Name: Bauke Plugge
Contact:

unable to replicate a backuped vm from vcloud

Post by bauke_plugge » Apr 07, 2017 11:33 am

I'm unable to replicate a vm that is backuped from vcloud and has as source the backup repository.
Within a backup job there is a selection possible to choose vcloud.

There you can select the VM's you want to backup. But within the replication Job you can only select vmware.
When you select the same vm the names are different.
There is an extra GUID behind the name. Therefor the server is not found in the repository.

Is there another way to use this backup as source for the replication job ?

the Veeam case id is: 02122669

kind regards
Bauke

vmniels
Veeam Software
Posts: 2015
Liked: 443 times
Joined: Jul 15, 2013 11:09 am
Full Name: Niels Engelen
Contact:

Re: unable to replicate a backuped vm from vcloud

Post by vmniels » Apr 07, 2017 11:37 am

It is currently not possible to replicate vCloud director VM's so the behaviour is normal. This is related due to how vCloud Director works in regards to VM metadata (vApp, vDC,...).
VCP-DCV
Veeam Certified Architect (VMCA)
http://foonet.be

bauke_plugge
Service Provider
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 04, 2015 12:24 pm
Full Name: Bauke Plugge
Contact:

Re: unable to replicate a backuped vm from vcloud

Post by bauke_plugge » Apr 07, 2017 11:57 am

Hi Niels,

is there nothing else I can use as a workaround. we wanted to use this setup as base for a datacenter migration

v.Eremin
Veeam Software
Posts: 15142
Liked: 1141 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: unable to replicate a backuped vm from vcloud

Post by v.Eremin » Apr 07, 2017 12:32 pm

You can replicate on vSphere level and "import" replicated VMs to vCD afterwards. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests