Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
Post Reply
skydok
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 71
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Jun 11, 2012 12:04 pm
Contact:

Unable to Truncate logs after Upgrade to 7

Post by skydok »

Hello,
After i upgraded the Backup Server to version 7 one of the SQL Servers now give a warnning after each backup
with the following:

Code: Select all

10/22/2013 4:43:48 AM :: Unable to truncate transaction logs. Details: RPC function call failed. Function name: [BlobCall]. Target machine: [10.10.9.19].
RPC error:The remote procedure call failed.
 Code: 1726
I checked the RPC on the Server and to verify that it operates ok.
I have seen someone said to disable the "Application Aware" Run it and then re-enable it but it doesn't work still.

please Any clue?
Veeam FAN
@shatztal
Blog: http://www.terasky.com
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Posts: 27258
Liked: 2758 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Unable to Truncate logs after Upgrade to 7

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Hello,

Does this happen all the time you try to process the SQL Server VM in question? Enabling/disabling application aware image processing will not help, this issue has to be investigated by our technical support team. BTW, do you have any related error messages in the Windows Event log at the time when your backup job runs?

Thank you!
skydok
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 71
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Jun 11, 2012 12:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Unable to Truncate logs after Upgrade to 7

Post by skydok »

It happens since the upgrade , but if i do a manual truncate it works,
so somting isn't comunication good i believe.
Veeam FAN
@shatztal
Blog: http://www.terasky.com
Vitaliy S.
VP, Product Management
Posts: 27258
Liked: 2758 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Unable to Truncate logs after Upgrade to 7

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Does the VSS (application-aware image processing) work for this VM or it also fails with a similar error?
skydok
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 71
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Jun 11, 2012 12:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Unable to Truncate logs after Upgrade to 7

Post by skydok »

It works fine the VSS but specific to sql it doesn't
Veeam FAN
@shatztal
Blog: http://www.terasky.com
veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 20290
Liked: 2259 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Unable to Truncate logs after Upgrade to 7

Post by veremin »

I have seen someone said to disable the "Application Aware" Run it and then re-enable it but it doesn't work still.
I believe I’ve seen the recommendation you’re talking about, though, in that case the solution wasn’t just about disabling /enabling AAIP, but more about disabling AAIP, taking a new backup, and, then, re-enabling AAIP again.

Anyway, the best way to address technical issues is to open a ticket with our support team. So, if you haven’t done it yet, I recommend you doing it now.

Thanks.
zak2011
Veteran
Posts: 367
Liked: 41 times
Joined: May 15, 2012 2:21 pm
Full Name: Arun
Contact:

Re: Unable to Truncate logs after Upgrade to 7

Post by zak2011 »

I am getting the same errors for a couple of VMs. It started off with the exchange server and it has occuring for a couple of servers now.
11/2/2013 1:21:08 AM :: Unable to truncate transaction logs. Details: RPC function call failed. Function name: [BlobCall]. Target machine: [10.10.4.18].
RPC error:Access is denied.
Code: 5

Any idea why this is happening?

Thanks
Gostev
Chief Product Officer
Posts: 31747
Liked: 6916 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Unable to Truncate logs after Upgrade to 7

Post by Gostev »

This is a different error from what is being discussed in this thread. In your case the issue looks simple (access denied).
In order not to hijack this topic, feel free to create a new topic, but remember to include support case ID for your issue.
zak2011
Veteran
Posts: 367
Liked: 41 times
Joined: May 15, 2012 2:21 pm
Full Name: Arun
Contact:

Re: Unable to Truncate logs after Upgrade to 7

Post by zak2011 »

Thanks Gostev. I will create a new topic.
Reimold
Enthusiast
Posts: 41
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Sep 07, 2009 11:58 am
Full Name: Dirk Reimold
Contact:

Re: Unable to Truncate logs after Upgrade to 7

Post by Reimold »

Hello skydok,

i just want to know what the solution for that problem was, because i get the same error on one of our SQL VM´s.

Thank you

Dirk
foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 21091
Liked: 2122 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Unable to Truncate logs after Upgrade to 7

Post by foggy »

Dirk, I recommend opening your own case for investigation, since there's no case ID provided in this thread so we could track for resolution. Thanks.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 66 guests