Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
Post Reply
matteu
Veeam Legend
Posts: 656
Liked: 108 times
Joined: May 11, 2018 8:42 am
Contact:

Upgrade CDP on vcenter with 1 ESX

Post by matteu »

Hello,

On my lab I have only 1 ESX + vcenter.
I create cluster to use CDP feature with veeam but when I upgrade veeam version, I need to upgrade CDP and this need maintenance mode. I can't set my host into maintenance mode because my vcenter is on it...
I find this KB to manually remove CDP : https://www.veeam.com/kb4151

Unfortunately for this, I need vcenter to be online too...

Is there a solution for me ? I can't upgrade it and I can't uninstall it...
HannesK
Product Manager
Posts: 14176
Liked: 2814 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Upgrade CDP on vcenter with 1 ESX

Post by HannesK »

Hello,
the solution is two ESXi hosts.

CDP is tied to VCenter. That's a VMware requirement.

Best regards,
Hannes
matteu
Veeam Legend
Posts: 656
Liked: 108 times
Joined: May 11, 2018 8:42 am
Contact:

Re: Upgrade CDP on vcenter with 1 ESX

Post by matteu »

Hello,
Ok !

Thanks for the answer.
matteu
Veeam Legend
Posts: 656
Liked: 108 times
Joined: May 11, 2018 8:42 am
Contact:

Re: Upgrade CDP on vcenter with 1 ESX

Post by matteu »

Just for others :
This works perfectly fine to solve this issue : https://rhyshammond.com/manually-remove ... esxi-host/
HannesK
Product Manager
Posts: 14176
Liked: 2814 times
Joined: Sep 01, 2014 11:46 am
Full Name: Hannes Kasparick
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Upgrade CDP on vcenter with 1 ESX

Post by HannesK »

nice, thanks for sharing!
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gmajestix and 406 guests