Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
pshute
Expert
Posts: 194
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Nov 23, 2015 10:56 pm
Full Name: Peter Shute
Contact:

Upgrading from v8 to v9

Post by pshute » Mar 14, 2016 9:25 pm

We've been running v8.0.0.2084 for a few months now. I assume I should upgrade it to v9 in order to keep it up to date, whether or not there are new features we need. Is there anything we need to know before I try it? The requirements look similar for v8 and v9. Is it just a matter of downloading and installing? Will our current jobs continue to work as before, or will they need some attention? Will I need to do anything about the licence, or will it know it's licensed?

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24300
Liked: 3331 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Upgrading from v8 to v9

Post by Gostev » Mar 14, 2016 10:25 pm

Yes, it's a simple in-place upgrade and everything will continue to work as before.
You will need to get the v9 license from the License Portal before you start though.

btmaus
Expert
Posts: 138
Liked: 10 times
Joined: Jul 17, 2015 9:02 am
Full Name: Glenn L
Contact:

Re: Upgrading from v8 to v9

Post by btmaus » Mar 14, 2016 11:09 pm

I was just about to post regarding upgrading from v8 to v9, apologies for hijacking your thread! :-)

I am preparing to upgrade our VBR installation from version 8 update 3, to version 9.

We use a virtual VBR server, with virtual Veeam Proxy servers that are connected to a Dell DR6000 dedupe appliance.

After I upgrade VBR to version 9, I plan to enable:

-Bitlooker feature
- Per-VM backup files

We are using Forever Forward Incremental backups.

My question is: Do I need to perform an active full for each backup job after enabling the above features? Or can I just let the backups run as per normal in their Forever Forward incremental jobs?

Thanks

pshute
Expert
Posts: 194
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Nov 23, 2015 10:56 pm
Full Name: Peter Shute
Contact:

Re: Upgrading from v8 to v9

Post by pshute » Mar 14, 2016 11:16 pm

btmaus wrote:I was just about to post regarding upgrading from v8 to v9, apologies for hijacking your thread! :-)
No worries, I'm keen to hear of any problems you have.

pshute
Expert
Posts: 194
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Nov 23, 2015 10:56 pm
Full Name: Peter Shute
Contact:

Re: Upgrading from v8 to v9

Post by pshute » Mar 14, 2016 11:17 pm

I assume there are previous threads about the same thing, but you can't search for short strings like "v9" in phpBB. If anyone knows of any useful threads, please post links here.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24300
Liked: 3331 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Upgrading from v8 to v9

Post by Gostev » Mar 15, 2016 2:02 am

There's Google search in the top right corner of every forum page that does not have this issue.

pshute
Expert
Posts: 194
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Nov 23, 2015 10:56 pm
Full Name: Peter Shute
Contact:

Re: Upgrading from v8 to v9

Post by pshute » Mar 16, 2016 9:14 pm

Gostev wrote:There's Google search in the top right corner of every forum page that does not have this issue.
Thanks. I didn't see that, it should be very useful.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17931
Liked: 1512 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Upgrading from v8 to v9

Post by foggy » Mar 17, 2016 12:30 pm

btmaus wrote:My question is: Do I need to perform an active full for each backup job after enabling the above features? Or can I just let the backups run as per normal in their Forever Forward incremental jobs?
Yes, you do need to perform active full for the per-VM backup chains setting to take effect.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests