Upgrading from v8 to v9

VMware specific discussions

Upgrading from v8 to v9

Veeam Logoby pshute » Mon Mar 14, 2016 9:25 pm

We've been running v8.0.0.2084 for a few months now. I assume I should upgrade it to v9 in order to keep it up to date, whether or not there are new features we need. Is there anything we need to know before I try it? The requirements look similar for v8 and v9. Is it just a matter of downloading and installing? Will our current jobs continue to work as before, or will they need some attention? Will I need to do anything about the licence, or will it know it's licensed?
pshute
Expert
 
Posts: 118
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:56 pm
Full Name: Peter Shute

Re: Upgrading from v8 to v9

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Mon Mar 14, 2016 10:25 pm

Yes, it's a simple in-place upgrade and everything will continue to work as before.
You will need to get the v9 license from the License Portal before you start though.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Upgrading from v8 to v9

Veeam Logoby btmaus » Mon Mar 14, 2016 11:09 pm

I was just about to post regarding upgrading from v8 to v9, apologies for hijacking your thread! :-)

I am preparing to upgrade our VBR installation from version 8 update 3, to version 9.

We use a virtual VBR server, with virtual Veeam Proxy servers that are connected to a Dell DR6000 dedupe appliance.

After I upgrade VBR to version 9, I plan to enable:

-Bitlooker feature
- Per-VM backup files

We are using Forever Forward Incremental backups.

My question is: Do I need to perform an active full for each backup job after enabling the above features? Or can I just let the backups run as per normal in their Forever Forward incremental jobs?

Thanks
btmaus
Expert
 
Posts: 128
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2015 9:02 am
Full Name: Glenn L

Re: Upgrading from v8 to v9

Veeam Logoby pshute » Mon Mar 14, 2016 11:16 pm

btmaus wrote:I was just about to post regarding upgrading from v8 to v9, apologies for hijacking your thread! :-)

No worries, I'm keen to hear of any problems you have.
pshute
Expert
 
Posts: 118
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:56 pm
Full Name: Peter Shute

Re: Upgrading from v8 to v9

Veeam Logoby pshute » Mon Mar 14, 2016 11:17 pm

I assume there are previous threads about the same thing, but you can't search for short strings like "v9" in phpBB. If anyone knows of any useful threads, please post links here.
pshute
Expert
 
Posts: 118
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:56 pm
Full Name: Peter Shute

Re: Upgrading from v8 to v9

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Mar 15, 2016 2:02 am

There's Google search in the top right corner of every forum page that does not have this issue.
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

Re: Upgrading from v8 to v9

Veeam Logoby pshute » Wed Mar 16, 2016 9:14 pm

Gostev wrote:There's Google search in the top right corner of every forum page that does not have this issue.

Thanks. I didn't see that, it should be very useful.
pshute
Expert
 
Posts: 118
Liked: 8 times
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:56 pm
Full Name: Peter Shute

Re: Upgrading from v8 to v9

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Mar 17, 2016 12:30 pm

btmaus wrote:My question is: Do I need to perform an active full for each backup job after enabling the above features? Or can I just let the backups run as per normal in their Forever Forward incremental jobs?

Yes, you do need to perform active full for the per-VM backup chains setting to take effect.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14734
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: calamarz, LazyLoneLion and 31 guests