Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
EddyChong
Enthusiast
Posts: 52
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 09, 2013 8:46 am
Full Name: Eddy Chong
Contact:

Upgrading Veeam B&R from 5.x to 7.0

Post by EddyChong » Apr 07, 2014 1:56 am

Hi,

I'm planning for a customer to upgrade their Veeam 5.x to latest 7.0. Is there a upgrade path to follow? I think i saw we have to at least at 6.0 for the upgrade. The problem is Veeam 6.x installer is no longer available to the public.

In this case, shall i contact support for the download link or is there any better suggestion?

Thank you
Eddy

EddyChong
Enthusiast
Posts: 52
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 09, 2013 8:46 am
Full Name: Eddy Chong
Contact:

Re: Upgrading Veeam B&R from 5.x to 7.0

Post by EddyChong » Apr 07, 2014 4:11 am

I've submitted a ticket to Veeam support. And the guy told me to upgrade directly to 6.5.

Shall i still needs to make sure my v5 is version 5.0.1.198 or above according to this kb http://www.veeam.com/kb1363 to upgrade from v5 to v6.5?

Also what is the proper upgrade procedure?
1. Upgrade from v5 to v6.5
2. Run all existing backup job once (success) to convert backup file to v6 format and check for the vbm file existence
3. Recreate backup repository? (saw this steps in http://forums.veeam.com/post54637.html? ... ast#p54637) but i don't understand why it is required, as the backup repository will not be changed.
4. Create new job for legacy backup job?
5. Run v7 installer and upgrade to Veeam v7
6. Run backup job get successful backup again.

Please correct me if i'm wrong

Thank you
Eddy

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18449
Liked: 1589 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Upgrading Veeam B&R from 5.x to 7.0

Post by foggy » Apr 07, 2014 6:16 am 1 person likes this post

EddyChong wrote:Shall i still needs to make sure my v5 is version 5.0.1.198 or above according to this kb http://www.veeam.com/kb1363 to upgrade from v5 to v6.5?
Correct, as it is stated in the article, you can download the required version here: http://www.veeam.com/KB1360.
EddyChong wrote:3. Recreate backup repository? (saw this steps in http://forums.veeam.com/post54637.html? ... ast#p54637) but i don't understand why it is required, as the backup repository will not be changed.
4. Create new job for legacy backup job?
These steps are required in the case when you merge your multiple v5 installations into a single v6 or v7 one. Not required if you have just a single Veeam B&R instance.

Other than that, the upgrade procedure looks good.

EddyChong
Enthusiast
Posts: 52
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 09, 2013 8:46 am
Full Name: Eddy Chong
Contact:

Re: Upgrading Veeam B&R from 5.x to 7.0

Post by EddyChong » Apr 07, 2014 11:13 am

Hi Alexander,

Thank you for pointing out the difference.

Eddy

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 30 guests