Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
albertwt
Veeam Legend
Posts: 724
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

Using Veeam Exchange backup as rollback plan ?

Post by albertwt »

Hi People,

I'm going to perform Exchange Server 2010 patching this weekend and wondering if Veeam Backup can be used as a restoration point in case the patching went failed ?

as for the Hub Transport & Client Access Server role I guess it won't really matter, but what about the mailbox server ?

any kind of comments and suggestion or sharing about restoring Exchange Server from Veeam Backup would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */

albertwt
Veeam Legend
Posts: 724
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

[MERGED]SharePoint and SQL Snapshot backups and Microsoft Su

Post by albertwt »

Hi,

I'd like to know if it is possible or recommended to do Exchange Server VM restore in the event of patching failure ?
I've never done any Exchange Server 2007/2010 restoration using Veeam in the event of failed patching so I wonder if anyone here can give me some clarification.

Thanks.
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 25269
Liked: 2215 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Using Veeam Exchange backup as rollback plan ?

Post by Vitaliy S. » 1 person likes this post

Hi Albert,

If you want to verify all the patches for your Exchange server, why not to use on-demand sandbox (virtual lab)? You can apply all patches there, confirm that your environment is stable and then do the same procedure with production server?

Thanks!

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 25269
Liked: 2215 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: SharePoint and SQL Snapshot backups and Microsoft Suppor

Post by Vitaliy S. »

I don't see why you can't do this... What clarification would you like to receive?

albertwt
Veeam Legend
Posts: 724
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

Re: Using Veeam Exchange backup as rollback plan ?

Post by albertwt »

Vitaliy S. wrote:Hi Albert,

If you want to verify all the patches for your Exchange server, why not to use on-demand sandbox (virtual lab)? You can apply all patches there, confirm that your environment is stable and then do the same procedure with production server?

Thanks!
Vitaly,

Thanks for the quick reply, there are 4 exchange servers and 3 domain controllers involved in this patching project.
so how can I start them all in VBR 7 would that be possible ?
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */

albertwt
Veeam Legend
Posts: 724
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

Re: SharePoint and SQL Snapshot backups and Microsoft Suppor

Post by albertwt »

Vitaliy S. wrote:I don't see why you can't do this... What clarification would you like to receive?
Do I have to restore all sets of the Exchange Servers or just the one server that was failed to patch ?
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 25269
Liked: 2215 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Using Veeam Exchange backup as rollback plan ?

Post by Vitaliy S. » 1 person likes this post

albertwt wrote:so how can I start them all in VBR 7 would that be possible ?

Please check out this topic for more information on how to set this up > On-Demand Sandbox. In order to verify your Exchange server, you don't really need to spin-up all DCs, you can use just one.
Do I have to restore all sets of the Exchange Servers or just the one server that was failed to patch ?
You can verify each server in the lab, then do that backup job of production servers, apply that patch and if anything goes wrong, I believe you can restore only one "failed" server. What kind of patches are you going to apply?

albertwt
Veeam Legend
Posts: 724
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Nov 05, 2009 12:24 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW
Contact:

Re: Using Veeam Exchange backup as rollback plan ?

Post by albertwt »

Thanks Vitaly,

It will be Service Pack 3 followed by Roll Up Update 7, next round will be the Windows Update but that will be for the next weekend after.
--
/* Veeam software enthusiast user & supporter ! */

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 25269
Liked: 2215 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Using Veeam Exchange backup as rollback plan ?

Post by Vitaliy S. »

Got it, so prior upgrading definitely do the backup of your environment, check these steps (very detailed post on how to do the upgrade) in Virtual Lab and then do the same in production. Hope this helps! Let us know how it goes.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 39 guests