Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
daphnis
Enthusiast
Posts: 47
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jun 13, 2012 7:01 pm
Contact:

Using Veeam to migrate between DataDomain - CIFS to DD Boost

Post by daphnis » Jul 14, 2015 1:58 pm

Having an interesting case here and wondering if others have done this.

Need to move all jobs and their data from one DataDomain unit (all jobs configured as a CIFS repository) and move to another DD unit (using DD Boost repository). DataDomain cannot copy from CIFS to Boost, so was wondering if I can use Veeam to do this. One thought was to configure a backup copy job after configuring the new unit as a Boost repo., and do a job-by-job copy of all data to the new location. Afterwards, re-point the job to the new repository. What makes this a little more sticky is the jobs use 5-year retention on a GFS scheme, so all data must be copied to the new unit.

What are some options around this need?

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5260
Liked: 459 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Using Veeam to migrate between DataDomain - CIFS to DD B

Post by P.Tide » Jul 14, 2015 2:52 pm

Hi,

I believe that there is an article that might be helpful. Please have a look and let us know if it helped.

Thanks!

daphnis
Enthusiast
Posts: 47
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jun 13, 2012 7:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Using Veeam to migrate between DataDomain - CIFS to DD B

Post by daphnis » Jul 14, 2015 2:59 pm

Thanks, but that article doesn't address the issue of actually moving data from one physical DD unit to another.

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5260
Liked: 459 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Using Veeam to migrate between DataDomain - CIFS to DD B

Post by P.Tide » Jul 14, 2015 3:14 pm

You need to move all backup jobs and their chains from an old repo (DD CIFS) to a new repo, which is DD Boost, correct?

You can use File Copy Job for that. First you'll need to create a new repo of your DD Boost, the article I gave a link to describes how to deal with migration from CIFS to Boost. After that you just wait until your file copy job copies everything from your old repo to your new repo, and map your existing jobs to a new repo.

Am I missing something?

daphnis
Enthusiast
Posts: 47
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jun 13, 2012 7:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Using Veeam to migrate between DataDomain - CIFS to DD B

Post by daphnis » Jul 14, 2015 3:24 pm

You need to move all backup jobs and their chains from an old repo (DD CIFS) to a new repo, which is DD Boost, correct?
Correct, but the old repo using DD CIFS is on one physical DD unit, and the new repo using DD Boost, is on a totally different unit.
You can use File Copy Job for that.
And how are you thinking you can use a File Copy job for this when the DD CIFS repo isn't mapped to the Veeam server, and the target DD Boost repo cannot be mapped through the OS? File Copy jobs will copy locally-accessible files on the source to a destination that must also be local (to that destination).

The article you provided, while useful, assumes that the physical source and destination are on the same DataDomain unit, and this is not my case.

P.Tide
Product Manager
Posts: 5260
Liked: 459 times
Joined: May 19, 2015 1:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Using Veeam to migrate between DataDomain - CIFS to DD B

Post by P.Tide » Jul 14, 2015 5:17 pm

Then, I believe, there is probably no way how you can get your chain to Boost.
You must have already seen the thread where folks share their experiences on that topic.

daphnis
Enthusiast
Posts: 47
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Jun 13, 2012 7:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Using Veeam to migrate between DataDomain - CIFS to DD B

Post by daphnis » Jul 14, 2015 5:37 pm

Yes, I have seen that thread, but thanks for mentioning it.

viberts
Influencer
Posts: 21
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 18, 2013 1:24 pm
Contact:

[MERGED] Transfert files backup from nas repositoy to data domain

Post by viberts » Nov 27, 2018 3:56 pm

Hi
I have add datadomain 6300 to my infrastructure and create ddboost:repository on this. But i want transfert the old backup files from a cifs repository to a ddbosst:repository.

How i can do that.

I read create a cifs partage on a ddboost:repositoy wasn't good option.

Thank you for your help

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18243
Liked: 1558 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Using Veeam to migrate between DataDomain - CIFS to DD Boost

Post by foggy » Nov 27, 2018 4:05 pm

Please review the thread above for possible options. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 18 guests