Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
derekf
Enthusiast
Posts: 28
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 06, 2011 7:39 pm
Full Name: Derek Fage

v6.5 replicas ready disappear during replication

Post by derekf » Oct 20, 2013 10:34 am

Hi there,

I'm doing some testing for some modifications to our replication environment (6.5) but have noticed that the VM and job (one VM in each job) disappear from the replicas->ready list during replication runs.

How can I fail over using Veeam if I don't see an entry in the replicas->ready section?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22291
Liked: 1413 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: v6.5 replicas ready disappear during replication

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 20, 2013 1:45 pm

Hello Derek,

When replication job is running, failover operation is not possible and I'm not sure it makes sense to allow to failover to target VM as this operation will conflict with a running replication job. Anyway, once job is complete you will be able to use the latest restore point as a failover point.

Thank you!

derekf
Enthusiast
Posts: 28
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 06, 2011 7:39 pm
Full Name: Derek Fage

Re: v6.5 replicas ready disappear during replication

Post by derekf » Oct 20, 2013 4:19 pm

Hmmm - that doesn't really make sense.

If you have more than one restore point and are in the process of replicating and have a significant failure, why can't you failover to a previous point?

So what is Veeam's recommendation for a disaster occurring during an active replication (especially if over a WAN where the replication can take a period of time)?

tsightler
VP, Product Management
Posts: 5294
Liked: 2146 times
Joined: Jun 05, 2009 12:57 pm
Full Name: Tom Sightler
Contact:

Re: v6.5 replicas ready disappear during replication

Post by tsightler » Oct 20, 2013 4:24 pm

If you have a significant failure, you can manually stop the in-progress replication job (or more likely it will stop on it's own), and the previous restore points will be available for failover.

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 22291
Liked: 1413 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: v6.5 replicas ready disappear during replication

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 20, 2013 5:30 pm

Besides, if there is a significant failure with source VM, then there should be nothing to replicate... or am I'm off base with this? You can either stop the job or the job will fail by itself assuming there was a problem with source VM on the VMware level.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot] and 16 guests