Vcenter Backup failed

VMware specific discussions

Re: Vcenter Backup failed

Veeam Logoby sigmaos » Tue May 19, 2015 7:44 pm

Its works with these modifications ??

No others problems between vcenter and ESXi ?

Thks, i will test this solution tomorrow.

sig'
sigmaos
Influencer
 
Posts: 20
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 2:23 pm

Re: Vcenter Backup failed

Veeam Logoby gordfalk » Fri May 29, 2015 5:44 pm

Did the solution proposed by sbaltic work? I am having the same issue.

One thought... Is the issue that the Veeam connection to vcenter is over port 443, but to index the vcenter we need it to be on port 22?

Please advise if this is resolved, and what the resolution is.
gordfalk
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 8:25 pm
Full Name: Gordon Falk

Re: Vcenter Backup failed

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Jun 01, 2015 5:11 pm

Gordon, I'd recommend to open your own case for investigation, while you're waiting for response here.

Both ports are required, as per system requirements.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Vcenter Backup failed

Veeam Logoby George1421 » Mon Jun 22, 2015 3:57 pm

I've run into the same issue with a client system. But I think I have additional insight on how to resolve this.
In this environment they have 2 vCenter appliances, 1 third party appliance running opensuse, and 15 systems running Centos 5.x and 6.x.
The 2 vCenter appliances, 1 opensuse appliance and 5 of the centos VMs exhibited the same error. "Failed to create indexer. Details: Unable to establish SSH connection with any connection point." A few of the centos boxes were also reporting that mlocate was not installed. I installed the mlocate utility with yum to resolve that issue. Now all 5 centos boxes were reporting the unable to establish endpoint message.

After a little digging I found that these centos boxes were created using the minimal configuration (reason why mlocate was not already in stalled on these 5 but was on the others). Through some additional debugging I found that scp would not work from a remote system to any of these 5 centos boxes in question. I found that openssh-clients was not installed on these 5 centos boxes. Once it was installed on all 5, 4 of the systems indexed correctly, with 1 centos box still refusing. This one centos box is Centos version 5.x.

As for the vCenter appliances and the Opensuse appliance I suspect that they are also missing what ever the equivalent of openssh-clients are to those OS(s), to allow Veeam to upload the index files.
George1421
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 3:44 pm
Full Name: George Kanicki

Re: Vcenter Backup failed

Veeam Logoby PMB_CTN » Tue Sep 22, 2015 6:24 pm

PMB_CTN
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:47 pm

Re: Vcenter Backup failed

Veeam Logoby George1421 » Mon Sep 28, 2015 10:01 pm 2 people like this post

I was able to run this issue to ground with support about a month ago. I've been a bit busy so I wasn't able to update this thread until now. It took a few email turns to get the required information from support, but in the end it was pretty easy to resolve. Note: I cross posted the below to another thread that dealt with about the same issue.

To enable the indexing of a vCenter 5.5 appliance I had to do the following:
1) I had to enable the proper ciphers for the sshd service on the vCenter appliance. On the vCenter server edit /etc/ssh/sshd_config search for the line Ciphers aes256-ctr,aes128-ctr and add aes128-cbc make it Ciphers aes256-ctr,aes128-ctr,aes128-cbc Save and exit your editor. Then restart the sshd service.

You can test the correct function with putty version v0.6 (the specific version is needed). Without the added ciphers line, putty 0.6 will fail to connect to the vCenter 5.5 appliance via ssh. Once you add the ciphers line putty 0.6 will work. FWIW, the current version of putty worked with either setting of the ciphers line.

2) You need to install the mlocate (locate) command. The vCenter appliance 5.5 is based on SLE 11 SP2. After a bit of google-fu I found the needed rpm here: http://download.opensuse.org/repositori ... x86_64.rpm I used wget to pick up the file and rpm to install it. For vCenter 6.0 you will need to get the correct rpm for that OS, which I think is SLE 11 SP4 (but don't quote me).

I do have to say that indexing an appliance adds little value. It is an appliance, in that it should be all or nothing where you would hardly ever do a file level restore. I did want to drive this to conclusion since we have another OpenSuse appliance that is doing the same thing, AND we want to be able to do a file level restore. So the exercise was well worth the time it took.

Once those two steps are complete indexing worked just like other other centos hosts that worked right out of the box (though I did need to install mlocate on a few of the centos boxes too).
George1421
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 3:44 pm
Full Name: George Kanicki

Re: Vcenter Backup failed

Veeam Logoby George1421 » Fri Oct 09, 2015 12:06 pm 1 person likes this post

One last follow up on this issue. I see that Veeam Backup & Replication 8.0 Update 3 is available from 08-Oct. One of the new features and enhancements is this:

Linux
Support for the following additional SSH ciphers: aes128-ctr, aes192-ctr, aes256-ctr, aes192-cbc and aes256-cbc.

The bolded text above should make the Ciphers update in my previous post necessary, since V&B now supports aes256-ctr natively. There is no need to add aes128-cbc to adjust the vCenter server appliance.
George1421
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 3:44 pm
Full Name: George Kanicki

Re: Vcenter Backup failed

Veeam Logoby PMB_CTN » Mon Oct 12, 2015 9:04 pm 1 person likes this post

Thanks for the update George, the server is on the latest B&R 8 Update3 now, however the upgrade did not resolve the issue...
I've still got a Veeam support case open for this, as we're trying to find a way of backing the appliance up including indexing WITHOUT modifying the VM in any way. [ie: not having to install mlocate]
PMB_CTN
Influencer
 
Posts: 16
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:47 pm

Re: Vcenter Backup failed

Veeam Logoby George1421 » Wed Oct 14, 2015 10:36 pm

You are right. I forgot about mlocate. The update that was just released only addressed half of the issue with the vmware appliance (sshd).

I'm not sure how they will get around not having access to the locate function. It will be interesting to see what they can come up with.
George1421
Novice
 
Posts: 5
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2015 3:44 pm
Full Name: George Kanicki

Previous

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 8 guests