Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
HendersonD
Expert
Posts: 111
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jul 23, 2011 12:35 am

vCenter to 6.7, will Veeam migration tool work?

Post by HendersonD » Aug 01, 2018 12:17 am

We are using vCenter 6.0 update 3 running under Windows Server 2012 R2
We just brought up a new vCenter 6.7 appliance
We will be migrating VMs using this process
  1. Shutdown the VM
  2. Remove the VM from inventory
  3. In the new vCenter, browse the datastore, locate the VM, and register
After reading this article, https://www.veeam.com/kb2136, I realize the RefIDs will change. The utility that Veeam provides remaps IDs so all previous backup jobs are not lost. Otherwise it is starting from scratch with the first backup being a full. Does anyone know if this utility works under vCenter 6.7? This is in the article: "This VMware utility only works for a 5.5 VC to a 6.5U2 VCSA!"

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1446
Liked: 168 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: vCenter to 6.7, will Veeam migration tool work?

Post by DGrinev » Aug 01, 2018 10:23 am

Hi Henderson,

I assume to use native VMware migration tool, all you need to do is start the installation process of VCSA 6.7 and choose Migrate, here you will find an article about the process.
In the wizard you are able to type in source vCenter address, target vCenter or ESXi host address and let it migrate all the data from vCenter 6.0 u3 Windows based to VCSA 6.7.
VMware made really good improvement in their native migration tool, since version 6. Thanks!

HendersonD
Expert
Posts: 111
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jul 23, 2011 12:35 am

Re: vCenter to 6.7, will Veeam migration tool work?

Post by HendersonD » Aug 01, 2018 11:45 am

For several reasons we are not migrating our current vCenter servers running under Windows to our new vCenter 6.7 appliances. We brought up the new vCenters fresh and then are just migrating the VMs. Migrating the VMs gives them new RefIDs, hence my original question

v.Eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 15807
Liked: 1252 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: vCenter to 6.7, will Veeam migration tool work?

Post by v.Eremin » Aug 01, 2018 2:29 pm

Our utility has not been tested against vSphere 6.7, so, currently it is not supported.

We're going to investigate what'd it cost us to bring support for vSphere 6.7; will keep you posted.

Thanks.

HendersonD
Expert
Posts: 111
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jul 23, 2011 12:35 am

Re: vCenter to 6.7, will Veeam migration tool work?

Post by HendersonD » Aug 01, 2018 3:28 pm

So my only choice at this point is migrate the VMs with the process I described and then start backups over again? This might be the way it has to be, just checking

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17434
Liked: 1447 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: vCenter to 6.7, will Veeam migration tool work?

Post by foggy » Aug 01, 2018 3:45 pm

Currently this looks like the only option.

skrause
Expert
Posts: 368
Liked: 66 times
Joined: Dec 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Full Name: Steve Krause
Contact:

Re: vCenter to 6.7, will Veeam migration tool work?

Post by skrause » Aug 01, 2018 7:45 pm

HendersonD wrote:For several reasons we are not migrating our current vCenter servers running under Windows to our new vCenter 6.7 appliances. We brought up the new vCenters fresh and then are just migrating the VMs. Migrating the VMs gives them new RefIDs, hence my original question
Are the reasons enough to put you through the headache of having to re-do all of your Veeam jobs, rather than just do the VMware migration?

I recently upgraded all of our VCSAs from 5.5 to 6.5U1 using the built in migration tool. The only thing I had to do with Veeam was to re-sync the VBR servers with the vCenters because the certificate had changed in the process. All my backup and replication jobs continued like nothing was different.

The migration process does give you options to leave statistics and task/event history or to copy it so if you just wanted to have a "clean slate" then you could choose that option.
Steve Krause
Veeam Certified Architect

pdimarco
Veeam Software
Posts: 222
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Sep 02, 2014 7:25 am
Full Name: Pascal DiMarco
Contact:

Re: vCenter to 6.7, will Veeam migration tool work?

Post by pdimarco » Feb 11, 2019 9:14 am

Hi Vladimir,

Any update on this tool upgrade to 6.7 ?

Thanks in advance.
Pascal

HendersonD
Expert
Posts: 111
Liked: 4 times
Joined: Jul 23, 2011 12:35 am

Re: vCenter to 6.7, will Veeam migration tool work?

Post by HendersonD » Feb 11, 2019 10:30 am

In the end, bringing up a new VCSA 6.7, migrating VMs which gives them a new RefID, and then just redoing our Veeam jobs worked fine and it was not a huge amount of work. A bunch of screen shots of the Veeam setup under vCenter running under windows let us reproduce our setup easily.

v.Eremin
Product Manager
Posts: 15807
Liked: 1252 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: vCenter to 6.7, will Veeam migration tool work?

Post by v.Eremin » Feb 11, 2019 12:13 pm

pdimarco wrote:Any update on this tool upgrade to 6.7 ?
What kind of migration you're going to perform? If you're migrating to VCSA 6.7, then, you don't need our utility any longer - everything is preserved by native migration assistant. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests