Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
troyvaerten
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 15, 2010 6:51 pm
Contact:

vCenter Upgrade

Post by troyvaerten » Dec 06, 2018 10:03 pm

We are currently looking to upgrade from vCenter 6.0 to either 6.5 or 6.7
Besides compatibilty with our storage and host systems, I'm trying to determine how this will impact our current backups in Veeam. Will I just need to sync the new vCenter server in the Veeam console and it will pick up where it left off, or will I need to setup all new jobs?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 16880
Liked: 1430 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: vCenter Upgrade

Post by veremin » Dec 07, 2018 8:17 am

Are you going to perform in-place upgrade or introduce new vCenter and re-register existing VMs onto it? Thanks!

troyvaerten
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 15, 2010 6:51 pm
Contact:

Re: vCenter Upgrade

Post by troyvaerten » Dec 07, 2018 3:04 pm

I will be using the VMware Migration Assistant from our windows based vCenter server to move from 6.0 to either VCSA 6.5 or 6.7

The new VCSA will have a different host name, so I'm unsure host this will impact our Veeam deployment.

DGrinev
Veeam Software
Posts: 1739
Liked: 221 times
Joined: Dec 01, 2016 3:49 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Grinev
Location: St.Petersburg
Contact:

Re: vCenter Upgrade

Post by DGrinev » Dec 07, 2018 3:19 pm

VMware migration tool should preserve all VMs morefIDs, so all the jobs should continue to work without additional tweaking.
Please be aware of the issue with the vCenter 6.7 Update 1 version which has been discussed in this big thread. Thanks!

troyvaerten
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Dec 15, 2010 6:51 pm
Contact:

Re: vCenter Upgrade

Post by troyvaerten » Dec 10, 2018 2:31 pm

Thank you very much!

bdufour
Expert
Posts: 198
Liked: 29 times
Joined: Nov 01, 2017 8:52 pm
Full Name: blake dufour
Contact:

Re: vCenter Upgrade

Post by bdufour » Dec 10, 2018 3:51 pm

if you want to be able to change the IP address of the vcsa at a later time (say for a failover to a different subnet for DR), make sure you use the fqdn for the install, that will allow you to change the IP address at a later time. if you use the ip address, it cant be changed.

https://www.vcdx200.com/2018/04/what-is ... -pnid.html

kchamp
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 12, 2013 1:16 pm
Full Name: Ken Champ
Contact:

Re: vCenter Upgrade

Post by kchamp » Apr 16, 2019 2:03 pm

Troy, I'm planning the same upgrade. How did everything work out with your Veeam backups?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests