Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
MopedTobias
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 19, 2014 10:52 am

VeaamZip and Proxy

Post by MopedTobias » Apr 19, 2014 11:13 am

Hello!

We're running Veeam B&R with a central management instance in our office and over a remote backup proxy for a remote site. Both sites also have their own local backup repository. Normal backup jobs correctly use the configured proxy and store the data with an acceptable performance. Today I quickly had to made a VeamZIP backup but after a few minutes I noticed the poor network speed. Because the network speed equaled the bandwith of our site-to-site link I quess VeamZIP tasks don't make use of backup proxies.

Is this confirmed or did I miss a special option?

Regards
MT

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24929
Liked: 3620 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: VeaamZip and Proxy

Post by Gostev » Apr 19, 2014 7:30 pm

Hi, probably you are right, but this is unexpected for me if you are using VeeamZIP from licensed install. I will need to check with the devs. Thanks!

MopedTobias
Novice
Posts: 8
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 19, 2014 10:52 am

Re: VeaamZip and Proxy

Post by MopedTobias » Apr 20, 2014 9:45 am

Thanks for your reply. Of course, its a full licensed environment. The reaseon for using the VeeamZIP function was that I assumed that I was forced to restore a VM because of boot problems and wanted to hold a backup of the current state for safety and analysis. Anyway, I got the VM back running without to restore it.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bodgeup and 11 guests