Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
acompta
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 17, 2013 1:10 pm
Full Name: Adrian Compton
Contact:

Veam B&R V8 Wan Acceleration Replication

Post by acompta » Nov 07, 2014 12:00 pm

Hi,
I have upgraded to V8 Full Availability Suite as entitled.
I have turned on WAN Acceleration for Replication backups.

Now my jobs are running serially waiting for the previous VM to finish before attempting the next VM in the JOB. The message says "Resource Not Ready: WAN Accelerator"

1. Is this an issue?
2. Is it only on the first pass since turning on WAN Acceleration.

Thanks

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18036
Liked: 1533 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veam B&R V8 Wan Acceleration Replication

Post by foggy » Nov 07, 2014 12:03 pm

Adrian, since source WAN accelerator can process a single task at a time only, parallel processing is not available if you enable WAN acceleration.

acompta
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 17, 2013 1:10 pm
Full Name: Adrian Compton
Contact:

Re: Veam B&R V8 Wan Acceleration Replication

Post by acompta » Nov 07, 2014 1:40 pm

thanks for the reply foggy... so its a trade-off one has to make I presume :)

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18036
Liked: 1533 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veam B&R V8 Wan Acceleration Replication

Post by foggy » Nov 07, 2014 1:42 pm

You can set up multiple source accelerators to speed things up, just keep in mind that each pair of accelerators will have a separate cache on the target side.

chrisdearden
Expert
Posts: 1530
Liked: 225 times
Joined: Jul 21, 2010 9:47 am
Full Name: Chris Dearden
Contact:

Re: Veam B&R V8 Wan Acceleration Replication

Post by chrisdearden » Nov 07, 2014 7:52 pm 2 people like this post

If you are needing wan acceleration , it woudl be safe to assume that a single thread can saturate the available bandwidth between sites ? in which case why would you want to attempt to replicate more than 1 VM at a time?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 35 guests