Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
sdelacruz
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 01, 2011 8:09 pm
Full Name: Sam De La Cruz
Contact:

Veeam 6.5 Replication method Push or Pull

Post by sdelacruz » Apr 05, 2013 8:11 pm

Hello,
After finally getting approved a DR ESXi host, I am now ready to start my replication plan. I have about 10 VMs ranging from 50 GB to 500 GB that I need to replicate. My question is, is it better to start the replication using a PULL method or a PUSH method.

Thanks in advance.

SAM

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam 6.5 Replication method Push or Pull

Post by foggy » Apr 05, 2013 9:26 pm

Sam, if you are referring to the location of the Veeam B&R server responsible for replication jobs (source site or DR site), then the best practice is to have it in DR to be capable of fast failover from Veeam B&R console in case of disaster and ability to failback when the source host is up again. Having it installed in the source site allows for manual failover only (in case of complete loss of the source site).

Anyway, be sure to set up proxy servers in both locations for optimal replication performance.

sdelacruz
Enthusiast
Posts: 49
Liked: never
Joined: Feb 01, 2011 8:09 pm
Full Name: Sam De La Cruz
Contact:

Re: Veeam 6.5 Replication method Push or Pull

Post by sdelacruz » Apr 05, 2013 9:41 pm

Yes,
I was refering to the Veeam V&R Servers. I already am running a Veeam server at my production site running backups. I was planning a Veeam Server at my DR site for replications. Yes, my concern was that I needed a veeam server at DR site to start failovers or start failbacks.
Thank you for your suggestion.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24804
Liked: 3566 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam 6.5 Replication method Push or Pull

Post by Gostev » Apr 05, 2013 9:44 pm

To answer the original question, there is no such thing as "push" and "pull" with the current replication architecture. This used to be the case prior to v6, but now it is always proxy to proxy communication, so it really does not matter where B&R server is installed (as it is not involved in transferring the data). B&R server location considerations are different, and were explained by Alexander in the previous post. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests