Veeam 7.0 on Windows 2008 R2

VMware specific discussions

Veeam 7.0 on Windows 2008 R2

Veeam Logoby spf62 » Mon May 04, 2015 8:16 pm

I am installing Veeam 7.0 on a windows 2008 R2 server. Do I need a separate drive for Veeam or can I use one of the local drives?
I am trying to add a repository using DAS drive and it wont connect (failed to install deployment service)
spf62
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 64
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 12:33 pm
Location: Connecticut
Full Name: Steve Fritsch

Re: Veeam 7.0 on Windows 2008 R2

Veeam Logoby Dima P. » Mon May 04, 2015 8:38 pm

Hi Steve,
I am installing Veeam 7.0 on a windows 2008 R2 server. Do I need a separate drive for Veeam or can I use one of the local drives?

Its up to you, both ways are supported.
I am trying to add a repository using DAS drive and it wont connect (failed to install deployment service)

What repository type you are selecting and how DAS drive is connected to the existing VBR server?
Dima P.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 6242
Liked: 440 times
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Location: SPb
Full Name: Dmitry Popov

Re: Veeam 7.0 on Windows 2008 R2

Veeam Logoby spf62 » Tue May 05, 2015 12:08 pm

the DAS is actually built into the server. It s a remote server. I just found out the storage space is part of the server.
spf62
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 64
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 12:33 pm
Location: Connecticut
Full Name: Steve Fritsch

Re: Veeam 7.0 on Windows 2008 R2

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue May 05, 2015 12:19 pm

If you're seeing the disks on the Veeam B&R server itself, you can select 'This server' in the repository wizard (Windows type repository) and specify the path to store backup files.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam 7.0 on Windows 2008 R2

Veeam Logoby spf62 » Tue May 05, 2015 1:11 pm

I am selecting "This Server" but I still get the error "Failed to install deployment service.
I wish I could upload the error here that I am seeing
spf62
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 64
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 12:33 pm
Location: Connecticut
Full Name: Steve Fritsch

Re: Veeam 7.0 on Windows 2008 R2

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue May 05, 2015 1:40 pm

You'd better contact support with this error and ask them to verify your configuration.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam 7.0 on Windows 2008 R2

Veeam Logoby spf62 » Tue May 05, 2015 1:45 pm

this is so weird. We already have a Veeam 8 server running for a few years now (after the last conversion of course). I have configured that one without issue.
spf62
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 64
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 12:33 pm
Location: Connecticut
Full Name: Steve Fritsch

Re: Veeam 7.0 on Windows 2008 R2

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue May 05, 2015 1:51 pm

Any reason why you're installing v7 while you have v8 already in-place? Any chance those installations share some of the servers between them (this could be the reason of the issue)?

Anyway, logs should tell the reason of failure to install the required components, so I encourage you to open a case.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1079 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam 7.0 on Windows 2008 R2

Veeam Logoby spf62 » Tue May 05, 2015 1:54 pm

I'm installing at a remote location where we have a local server with 6.1 installed (2003 server), we just sent down a replacement for that server and it is a 2008 server. 6.1 is 32 bit and I needed the next version
spf62
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 64
Liked: never
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 12:33 pm
Location: Connecticut
Full Name: Steve Fritsch


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests