Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
mesmeridze
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 09, 2011 1:04 pm
Full Name: Aleksandr
Contact:

Veeam and BE 2010 R3

Post by mesmeridze »

Hi!
I tried to use two different solutions for backing up one virtual machine.
It has thick disk with 50 Gigs.
When i perform backup using Veeam B&R 6.5 i see in logs:
Processed 50 GB
Read 50 GB
Transferred 39,4
size of job files on a disk 39,4

Backup Exec shows 22 GB of transferred data. So finally it stores less than this, cause i use Deduplication. And Backup takes 1/2 less than one at Veeam B&R
I sure that it is the same VM.
Maybe there is some misconfiguration on the veeam side?

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 19876
Liked: 2151 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam and BE 2010 R3

Post by veremin »

In order to get a subtle answer from community you need to provide a little bit more information regarding your infrastructure, as well as, what job settings are being used.

Thanks.

mesmeridze
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 09, 2011 1:04 pm
Full Name: Aleksandr
Contact:

Re: Veeam and BE 2010 R3

Post by mesmeridze »

v.Eremin wrote:In order to get a subtle answer from community you need to provide a lit bit more information regarding your infrastructure, as well as, what job settings are being used.

Thanks.
Backup to Local storage with SAN attached disk
Guest Processing - disabled
Type of Backup Full.
Inline Deduplication enabled
Compression level Optimal
Use CBT enabled
Enable VMware Tools Quiscense Enabled
Integrity checks disabled
Exclude Swap file disabled
Proxy (Local) configured to backup to SAN, fail over on LAN disabled.
Transport Mode Direct SAN access
All other options seems by default.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 19876
Liked: 2151 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam and BE 2010 R3

Post by veremin »

I’m wondering whether this statistics can be seen only in case of backing up this particular VM or it is approximately the same regardless of what VM is being backuped?

Additionally, how does this statistics look like during incremental run?

By the way, what is the type of a backing up VM? Is it just a simple VM or VM running specific applications like SQL, Exchange Server etc.?

Thanks.

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 19876
Liked: 2151 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam and BE 2010 R3

Post by veremin »

Furthermore, what backup method is being used in Backup Exec 2010 – image-based one or file-level?

Thanks.

Cokovic
Expert
Posts: 295
Liked: 59 times
Joined: Sep 06, 2011 8:45 am
Full Name: Haris Cokovic
Contact:

Re: Veeam and BE 2010 R3

Post by Cokovic » 1 person likes this post

mesmeridze wrote: ...
Exclude Swap file disabled
...
Is this a Windows based VM your are backing up? If so why dont you exclude the swapfile then from your backups? Is there any specific reason for it? As far as i know BackupExec excludes the swapfile from Windows backups by default. This could be another reason for the different backup size.

mesmeridze
Influencer
Posts: 16
Liked: never
Joined: Dec 09, 2011 1:04 pm
Full Name: Aleksandr
Contact:

Re: Veeam and BE 2010 R3

Post by mesmeridze »

v.Eremin wrote:I’m wondering whether this statistics can be seen only in case of backing up this particular VM or it is approximately the same regardless of what VM is being backuped?
vCenter Server
v.Eremin wrote:Additionally, how does this statistics look like during incremental run?
Did not test it
v.Eremin wrote: By the way, what is the type of a backing up VM? Is it just a simple VM or VM running specific applications like SQL, Exchange Server etc.?
Thanks.
No SQL, this is vCenter Server but hi has not got any databases.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests