Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
cuwcd
Lurker
Liked: 9 times
Full Name: John Coker

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by cuwcd » Jun 07, 2018 1:02 pm 9 people like this post

I am still kind of new to Veeam Software. I do love Veeam and what it can do and how it works Great.

I have been an administrator for over 25 years, and let me tell you that you should always check for compatibility with 3rd party vendors before doing upgrades!!! Don't blame Veeam for your mistake.

Also I am anxious for the update to Veeam to work with VMware 6.7 because having to use flash with vSphere Center Server for some functions SUCKS, but let me tell you that if you were using other vendors other than Veeam you would be waiting much longer than 2 months or so.

I have worked with 3 or 4 other backup vendors in the past and you would be lucky to get an update within 6 months.

The other thing with Veeam that I have found is that when the update comes out rest assured that you know it is going to work.

Thank you Veeam for a Great product and keep up the good work.

Gostev
Veeam Software
Liked: 2890 times

Post by Gostev » Jun 08, 2018 4:16 pm 6 people like this post

Thank you for your kind words, John.

To provide everyone with an update, we're expecting to have the first RC build of Update 3a created today. Which means we're about 10-15 days away from RTM build. So it seems we're still on track to make our 2 months average for new platforms support.

zimeon
Novice
Liked: 1 time

Post by zimeon » Jun 09, 2018 7:13 am

Great news :) Always good to have some kind of estimate, even if it might change. Got a few customers who we are planning to upgrade their vSphere environments and have been waiting for the VEEAM update to get started with them. Would also like to thank for a superb product to work with! Been updating my dev close to day one, but then again it's just my own website and some game servers there so it's not that important.

tmessinis
Lurker
Liked: never