Veeam and VMware 6.7

Discussions specific to VMware vSphere hypervisor

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Veeam Logoby tom11011 » Mon May 28, 2018 10:45 pm 1 person likes this post

Not to get too off topic, but does anyone other than me believe VMware 6.0 Update 3b or 3c is the best version to be on when weighing out all these vmware issues over the last 1-2 years? I want to make a major upgrade here at some point but it seems foolish to put myself out for all the aggravation that comes with broken vmware servers because of vmware's lack of quality control over the last 2 years. What is the consensus on the go-to version of vmware to be on these days? Should I go to 6.0 Update 3e which is fairly new, goto 6.5, or 6.7 when veeam supports it?

Thanks.
tom11011
Expert
 
Posts: 128
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 8:40 pm
Full Name: Tom

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Veeam Logoby morty » Tue May 29, 2018 8:14 pm

Doh!

I upgraded our vCenter from 6.0 to 6.7 today. Original plans were to upgrade to 6.5 but when 6.7 was announced we decided to wait a month and do the upgrade. Well come to find out Veeam doesn't work with this update which we noticed when our backups stopped working.

Luckily I was able to still restore our vCenter 6.0 VM from backups through the new vCenter 6.7 proxy. Then I simply connected directly to the host, deleted the vCenter 6.7 VM and booted up the old vCenter 6.0 VM.

Everything seems back to normal. Any word on when Veeam will support vSphere 6.7?
morty
Influencer
 
Posts: 21
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 8:34 pm
Full Name: Ryan Mortier

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Veeam Logoby nitramd » Tue May 29, 2018 9:17 pm

@morty, toward the end of June.
nitramd
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 87
Liked: 12 times
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 8:05 pm

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Veeam Logoby anpa » Thu May 31, 2018 1:47 pm

I noticed previously in the thread a question regarding if there was any issues with running vCenter 6.7, but still having the hosts on 6.0U3 or 6.5U1 - if that was a supported solution? Same with vCenter 6.5U2, but having hosts on 6.5U1 - does that also break stuff?

For those questioning the time frame for Veeam, keep in mind that Veeam gets the GA code from VMware the same time as everyone else - this could be improved on by VMware to simple release the GA bits to integration partners some time before making it GA, that way they could have 3rd party support for their products when they go GA. The code many partners have tried with have been the beta bits, and VMware seems to change stuff between last beta and final GA bits.
anpa
Service Provider
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:42 am
Location: Landskrona, Sweden
Full Name: Andreas Cederlund

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Veeam Logoby ONE IT Service » Fri Jun 01, 2018 10:38 am

Following this post suggestion : https://ollis.blog/workaround-vmware-es ... mmenspiel/

There is a workaround that worked in my case. It's in German but it says to change the transport mode of your backup proxies to "Virtual Appliance" and to disable the option of failing back to network.

Restart your backup server and run your jobs again.

Seems to work for 2 days now.

Cheers...
ONE IT Service
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 4:41 pm
Full Name: Christophe C.

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Veeam Logoby jonathanmayhew » Fri Jun 01, 2018 7:41 pm 1 person likes this post

This is a real pain! Am rolling back hosts to ESXi 6.5 now so I can at least connect directly to the hosts to get backups going again. That also caused some issue which I am working with VMware on now. To be honest I am almost at the point of rebuilding vCenter and my hosts from scratch. The guy at VMware said he has had many many people contact him about this issue since 6.7 was released.

The workaround didn't work for me as I already had it set to "Virtual Appliance".
jonathanmayhew
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 2:25 am
Full Name: Jonathan Mayhew

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Veeam Logoby Regnor » Sat Jun 02, 2018 9:05 am

The question is, are your backups really consistent?
Regnor
Veeam ProPartner
 
Posts: 139
Liked: 25 times
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:17 am

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Veeam Logoby cambiumphil » Sat Jun 02, 2018 6:40 pm

anpa wrote:I noticed previously in the thread a question regarding if there was any issues with running vCenter 6.7, but still having the hosts on 6.0U3 or 6.5U1 - if that was a supported solution? Same with vCenter 6.5U2, but having hosts on 6.5U1 - does that also break stuff?

For those questioning the time frame for Veeam, keep in mind that Veeam gets the GA code from VMware the same time as everyone else - this could be improved on by VMware to simple release the GA bits to integration partners some time before making it GA, that way they could have 3rd party support for their products when they go GA. The code many partners have tried with have been the beta bits, and VMware seems to change stuff between last beta and final GA bits.


Yes, from VMware's perspective having downlevel hosts is a supported situation.

VMware's "VMware Product Interoperability Matrices" (https://partnerweb.vmware.com/comp_guid ... matrix.php) will tell you everything you want to know about supported combinations.

vCenter Server 6.7 can be used in conjunction with ESXi 6.0, 6.0 U1, 6.0 U2, 6.0 U3, 6.5, 6.5 U1, and 6.5 U2.

vCenter Server 6.5 U2 can be used with ESXi 5.5, 5.5U1, 5.5U2, 5.5U3, 6.0, 6.0 U1, 6.0 U2, 6.0 U3, 6.5, 6.5 U1, and 6.5 U2.
cambiumphil
Service Provider
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 9:30 pm
Full Name: Phil Brutsche

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Veeam Logoby ArchanfelHUN » Mon Jun 04, 2018 6:28 am

Virtual Appliance mode only working when you have a single esxi host, or you have the veeam server and the vps guests on the same server too. If you have an esxi cluster it will not work.

ONE IT Service wrote:Following this post suggestion : https://ollis.blog/workaround-vmware-es ... mmenspiel/

There is a workaround that worked in my case. It's in German but it says to change the transport mode of your backup proxies to "Virtual Appliance" and to disable the option of failing back to network.

Restart your backup server and run your jobs again.

Seems to work for 2 days now.

Cheers...
ArchanfelHUN
Novice
 
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 11:32 am
Full Name: Peter Donka

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Veeam Logoby jgosnell » Mon Jun 04, 2018 1:54 pm

Work around is working for me. I have a single vSphere instance at 6.7 with 4 clusters of 6.7 hosts. Three of the clusters has 2 hosts in each and the final cluster has 6 hosts. I am using "Virtual Appliance" transport mode with NO failover option selected. My replications (new and old jobs) are working as expected. However, only my existing Backup jobs are working. New (created after vSphere upgrade) Backup jobs are failing and support has thrown their hands up until the patch is released.
jgosnell
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu May 31, 2018 4:06 pm

Re: Veeam and VMWare 6.7

Veeam Logoby jonathanmayhew » Mon Jun 04, 2018 2:03 pm

Cragdoo wrote:for those who have upgraded, are we talking your lab/test/dev environments? Surely no-one was stu... brave enough to upgrade to 6.7 on release day in production????

lol New prod environment for me but not yet production.

I rolled back my hosts from 6.7 to 6.5 and HA on all three no longer works... Spent 4 hours with VMware at the weekend trying to resolve until they noticed it was a known issue rolling back from 6.7 to 6.5. Reinstalling all three hypervisors today from scratch.

https://docs.vmware.com/en/VMware-vSphe ... notes.html
jonathanmayhew
Lurker
 
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 2:25 am
Full Name: Jonathan Mayhew

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Veeam Logoby tom11011 » Mon Jun 04, 2018 5:55 pm

6.0 Update 3e, accept no substitutes :P
tom11011
Expert
 
Posts: 128
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 8:40 pm
Full Name: Tom

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Veeam Logoby anpa » Mon Jun 04, 2018 6:31 pm

cambiumphil wrote:Yes, from VMware's perspective having downlevel hosts is a supported situation.

Thanks for the reply - I know it is supported by VMware, but I was referring to if this was supported by Veeam.
anpa
Service Provider
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:42 am
Location: Landskrona, Sweden
Full Name: Andreas Cederlund

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Veeam Logoby sdiavante » Mon Jun 04, 2018 7:43 pm 2 people like this post

If I get heat for posting this opinion, so be it. I am paid very good money to provide my unique perspective, and here it is for free. These are the facts as my customer sees them:

The current software dev industry promotes compulsory updates and has created the customer perception that “newest is safest and best. Update available: Update now?” …

The current hardware dev industry promotes compulsory upgrades and has created the customer perception that “newest is fastest and most reliable. Upgrade available: Upgrade now?”

The reasons for why these are true are a subject of another discussion with far more time and characters to type.

Customer buys the newest hardware, wants the newest software. Has the highest expectations.

A GA release is made to sound tested and functional. In this case, the latest backup software used with it is expected to simply work. Any fact counter to this will require extensive customer re-education. Sure, it can happen. But there is a catch, that sours any explanation and makes hands raise in a group with a question to be asked.

Since to them, money is the bottom line, this comes quick.

“Why does the backup software no longer work, but the company that writes it simultaneously makes a new product that DOES work, that is (now) free for 90 days? Why am I faced with having to either pay you to update the now-broken “old” software when the patch is released, or pay for a license on the new software in order to leave it be in a functioning state?”

You cannot argue this logic, it is perception based, and we are the engineers that provide this perception. It is very close to “the first one is always free” as found on a street corner from shady characters offering drugs I now I want to consume, having watched enough finger pointing in this thread to make me ill.

I will not even try to describe this problem to the customer, they’d be engineers when I am done. This saddens me.

QA testing seems to be at an all time low. My customer feels like a beta tester shelling out money for beta software that is broken out of the box. They have to pay an industry expert (ME) lots of money, to play interpreter, and I basically sit and read technical documentation while performing my job, sometimes re-reading the same page for it changes on an almost-daily basis, and the ramifications for not following those details can cost millions, including my job.

This is like flying a 787-10 Dreamliner, while studying the technical documentation with a full passenger load. The mechanic is working on the engines as we fly, and when I set throttle to 75%, I get a huge warning “ERROR: 75% throttle has resulted in stator imbalance vibration, hydraulic failure imminent, reduce throttle?” and I say YES. “ERROR: Why would you ever reduce throttle from any position ending in 5? Page 327 of documentation CLEARLY states the resulting resonance in secondary hydraulic systems can result in complete hydraulic failure. Please contact Boeing for technical support guidance in this matter.”

My passengers just want to get to where they’re going. They only care about the ticket price and legroom.

Keep up the good work, but please, don't lose perspective for what the customer wants.

Sincerely,
Sinclair
sdiavante
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2018 7:37 pm
Full Name: S. Diavante

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Veeam Logoby Tails » Wed Jun 06, 2018 2:01 am

Well.... I know veeam keeps saying they have the record of releasing new updates within 2 months. However, isnt that an emergency situation when 6.5U2 also have issue? Whay cant they release the update earlier? I am sure it is not that hard to fix on veeam side...

6.7 Released on 17th April
Now is 6th June

right, you still have 11 days!
Tails
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Thu May 31, 2018 6:45 am
Full Name: Alan

PreviousNext

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 40 guests