Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Locked
tom11011
Expert
Posts: 133
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 01, 2010 8:40 pm
Full Name: Tom
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by tom11011 » May 28, 2018 10:45 pm 1 person likes this post

Not to get too off topic, but does anyone other than me believe VMware 6.0 Update 3b or 3c is the best version to be on when weighing out all these vmware issues over the last 1-2 years? I want to make a major upgrade here at some point but it seems foolish to put myself out for all the aggravation that comes with broken vmware servers because of vmware's lack of quality control over the last 2 years. What is the consensus on the go-to version of vmware to be on these days? Should I go to 6.0 Update 3e which is fairly new, goto 6.5, or 6.7 when veeam supports it?

Thanks.

morty
Enthusiast
Posts: 25
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 05, 2018 8:34 pm
Full Name: Ryan Mortier
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by morty » May 29, 2018 8:14 pm

Doh!

I upgraded our vCenter from 6.0 to 6.7 today. Original plans were to upgrade to 6.5 but when 6.7 was announced we decided to wait a month and do the upgrade. Well come to find out Veeam doesn't work with this update which we noticed when our backups stopped working.

Luckily I was able to still restore our vCenter 6.0 VM from backups through the new vCenter 6.7 proxy. Then I simply connected directly to the host, deleted the vCenter 6.7 VM and booted up the old vCenter 6.0 VM.

Everything seems back to normal. Any word on when Veeam will support vSphere 6.7?

nitramd
Expert
Posts: 129
Liked: 19 times
Joined: Feb 16, 2017 8:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by nitramd » May 29, 2018 9:17 pm

@morty, toward the end of June.

anpa
Service Provider
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 27, 2011 8:42 am
Full Name: Andreas Cederlund
Location: Landskrona, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by anpa » May 31, 2018 1:47 pm

I noticed previously in the thread a question regarding if there was any issues with running vCenter 6.7, but still having the hosts on 6.0U3 or 6.5U1 - if that was a supported solution? Same with vCenter 6.5U2, but having hosts on 6.5U1 - does that also break stuff?

For those questioning the time frame for Veeam, keep in mind that Veeam gets the GA code from VMware the same time as everyone else - this could be improved on by VMware to simple release the GA bits to integration partners some time before making it GA, that way they could have 3rd party support for their products when they go GA. The code many partners have tried with have been the beta bits, and VMware seems to change stuff between last beta and final GA bits.

ONE IT Service
Novice
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Nov 28, 2016 4:41 pm
Full Name: Christophe C.
Location: Geneva - Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by ONE IT Service » Jun 01, 2018 10:38 am

Following this post suggestion : https://ollis.blog/workaround-vmware-es ... mmenspiel/

There is a workaround that worked in my case. It's in German but it says to change the transport mode of your backup proxies to "Virtual Appliance" and to disable the option of failing back to network.

Restart your backup server and run your jobs again.

Seems to work for 2 days now.

Cheers...

jonathanmayhew
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mar 31, 2014 2:25 am
Full Name: Jonathan Mayhew
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by jonathanmayhew » Jun 01, 2018 7:41 pm 1 person likes this post

This is a real pain! Am rolling back hosts to ESXi 6.5 now so I can at least connect directly to the hosts to get backups going again. That also caused some issue which I am working with VMware on now. To be honest I am almost at the point of rebuilding vCenter and my hosts from scratch. The guy at VMware said he has had many many people contact him about this issue since 6.7 was released.

The workaround didn't work for me as I already had it set to "Virtual Appliance".

Regnor
Veeam ProPartner
Posts: 234
Liked: 51 times
Joined: Jan 31, 2011 11:17 am
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by Regnor » Jun 02, 2018 9:05 am

The question is, are your backups really consistent?

cambiumphil
Service Provider
Posts: 8
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jul 08, 2015 9:30 pm
Full Name: Phil Brutsche
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by cambiumphil » Jun 02, 2018 6:40 pm

anpa wrote:I noticed previously in the thread a question regarding if there was any issues with running vCenter 6.7, but still having the hosts on 6.0U3 or 6.5U1 - if that was a supported solution? Same with vCenter 6.5U2, but having hosts on 6.5U1 - does that also break stuff?

For those questioning the time frame for Veeam, keep in mind that Veeam gets the GA code from VMware the same time as everyone else - this could be improved on by VMware to simple release the GA bits to integration partners some time before making it GA, that way they could have 3rd party support for their products when they go GA. The code many partners have tried with have been the beta bits, and VMware seems to change stuff between last beta and final GA bits.
Yes, from VMware's perspective having downlevel hosts is a supported situation.

VMware's "VMware Product Interoperability Matrices" (https://partnerweb.vmware.com/comp_guid ... matrix.php) will tell you everything you want to know about supported combinations.

vCenter Server 6.7 can be used in conjunction with ESXi 6.0, 6.0 U1, 6.0 U2, 6.0 U3, 6.5, 6.5 U1, and 6.5 U2.

vCenter Server 6.5 U2 can be used with ESXi 5.5, 5.5U1, 5.5U2, 5.5U3, 6.0, 6.0 U1, 6.0 U2, 6.0 U3, 6.5, 6.5 U1, and 6.5 U2.

ArchanfelHUN
Novice
Posts: 4
Liked: never
Joined: May 02, 2018 11:32 am
Full Name: Peter Donka
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by ArchanfelHUN » Jun 04, 2018 6:28 am

Virtual Appliance mode only working when you have a single esxi host, or you have the veeam server and the vps guests on the same server too. If you have an esxi cluster it will not work.
ONE IT Service wrote:Following this post suggestion : https://ollis.blog/workaround-vmware-es ... mmenspiel/

There is a workaround that worked in my case. It's in German but it says to change the transport mode of your backup proxies to "Virtual Appliance" and to disable the option of failing back to network.

Restart your backup server and run your jobs again.

Seems to work for 2 days now.

Cheers...

jgosnell
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: May 31, 2018 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by jgosnell » Jun 04, 2018 1:54 pm

Work around is working for me. I have a single vSphere instance at 6.7 with 4 clusters of 6.7 hosts. Three of the clusters has 2 hosts in each and the final cluster has 6 hosts. I am using "Virtual Appliance" transport mode with NO failover option selected. My replications (new and old jobs) are working as expected. However, only my existing Backup jobs are working. New (created after vSphere upgrade) Backup jobs are failing and support has thrown their hands up until the patch is released.

jonathanmayhew
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Mar 31, 2014 2:25 am
Full Name: Jonathan Mayhew
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMWare 6.7

Post by jonathanmayhew » Jun 04, 2018 2:03 pm

Cragdoo wrote:for those who have upgraded, are we talking your lab/test/dev environments? Surely no-one was stu... brave enough to upgrade to 6.7 on release day in production????
lol New prod environment for me but not yet production.

I rolled back my hosts from 6.7 to 6.5 and HA on all three no longer works... Spent 4 hours with VMware at the weekend trying to resolve until they noticed it was a known issue rolling back from 6.7 to 6.5. Reinstalling all three hypervisors today from scratch.

https://docs.vmware.com/en/VMware-vSphe ... notes.html

tom11011
Expert
Posts: 133
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Dec 01, 2010 8:40 pm
Full Name: Tom
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by tom11011 » Jun 04, 2018 5:55 pm

6.0 Update 3e, accept no substitutes :P

anpa
Service Provider
Posts: 3
Liked: never
Joined: Oct 27, 2011 8:42 am
Full Name: Andreas Cederlund
Location: Landskrona, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by anpa » Jun 04, 2018 6:31 pm

cambiumphil wrote: Yes, from VMware's perspective having downlevel hosts is a supported situation.
Thanks for the reply - I know it is supported by VMware, but I was referring to if this was supported by Veeam.

sdiavante
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Jun 04, 2018 7:37 pm
Full Name: S. Diavante
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by sdiavante » Jun 04, 2018 7:43 pm 2 people like this post

If I get heat for posting this opinion, so be it. I am paid very good money to provide my unique perspective, and here it is for free. These are the facts as my customer sees them:

The current software dev industry promotes compulsory updates and has created the customer perception that “newest is safest and best. Update available: Update now?” …

The current hardware dev industry promotes compulsory upgrades and has created the customer perception that “newest is fastest and most reliable. Upgrade available: Upgrade now?”

The reasons for why these are true are a subject of another discussion with far more time and characters to type.

Customer buys the newest hardware, wants the newest software. Has the highest expectations.

A GA release is made to sound tested and functional. In this case, the latest backup software used with it is expected to simply work. Any fact counter to this will require extensive customer re-education. Sure, it can happen. But there is a catch, that sours any explanation and makes hands raise in a group with a question to be asked.

Since to them, money is the bottom line, this comes quick.

“Why does the backup software no longer work, but the company that writes it simultaneously makes a new product that DOES work, that is (now) free for 90 days? Why am I faced with having to either pay you to update the now-broken “old” software when the patch is released, or pay for a license on the new software in order to leave it be in a functioning state?”

You cannot argue this logic, it is perception based, and we are the engineers that provide this perception. It is very close to “the first one is always free” as found on a street corner from shady characters offering drugs I now I want to consume, having watched enough finger pointing in this thread to make me ill.

I will not even try to describe this problem to the customer, they’d be engineers when I am done. This saddens me.

QA testing seems to be at an all time low. My customer feels like a beta tester shelling out money for beta software that is broken out of the box. They have to pay an industry expert (ME) lots of money, to play interpreter, and I basically sit and read technical documentation while performing my job, sometimes re-reading the same page for it changes on an almost-daily basis, and the ramifications for not following those details can cost millions, including my job.

This is like flying a 787-10 Dreamliner, while studying the technical documentation with a full passenger load. The mechanic is working on the engines as we fly, and when I set throttle to 75%, I get a huge warning “ERROR: 75% throttle has resulted in stator imbalance vibration, hydraulic failure imminent, reduce throttle?” and I say YES. “ERROR: Why would you ever reduce throttle from any position ending in 5? Page 327 of documentation CLEARLY states the resulting resonance in secondary hydraulic systems can result in complete hydraulic failure. Please contact Boeing for technical support guidance in this matter.”

My passengers just want to get to where they’re going. They only care about the ticket price and legroom.

Keep up the good work, but please, don't lose perspective for what the customer wants.

Sincerely,
Sinclair

Tails
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: May 31, 2018 6:45 am
Full Name: Alan
Contact:

Re: Veeam and VMware 6.7

Post by Tails » Jun 06, 2018 2:01 am

Well.... I know veeam keeps saying they have the record of releasing new updates within 2 months. However, isnt that an emergency situation when 6.5U2 also have issue? Whay cant they release the update earlier? I am sure it is not that hard to fix on veeam side...

6.7 Released on 17th April
Now is 6th June

right, you still have 11 days!

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests