Veeam B&R 6.5 2003R2 upgrade to v8

VMware specific discussions

Veeam B&R 6.5 2003R2 upgrade to v8

Veeam Logoby pidthepiper » Tue Aug 11, 2015 3:58 pm

So guys,

We run Veeam v6.5 using Enterprise License running in a VM with 2003R2 OS.

Now I need to bring this up to v8, so is this the correct order of operations?

Create a new VM using 2008 R2 OS
Install Veeam B&R v8 using the same Enterprise License
Restore Backup Config from v6.5
We have one proxy that is already on 2012R2, so this would need updating to the v8 too

The Veeam database is currently running on an external SQL 2008 R2 VM, this I assume holds all the historical data do I have to do anything with regards to this database? As I would like all the historical data intact.
pidthepiper
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 65
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:10 am
Full Name: Bilal AHmed

Re: Veeam B&R 6.5 2003R2 upgrade to v8

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Aug 12, 2015 1:21 pm

Hello,

If you're going to re-use your external DB, then you do not need to export backup configuration. Moreover, as far as I know version 6 didn't have export configuration functionality.

I would suggest to do the following: since version 8 supports in-place upgrade from 6.5, then it should be possible to setup Veeam B&R v8 and point it to the external database that is used by 6.5. Setup should upgrade the database to the required version.

Thank you!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam B&R 6.5 2003R2 upgrade to v8

Veeam Logoby pidthepiper » Wed Aug 12, 2015 4:03 pm

Right so basically the config backup, is used when you are going to use a new database and want to populate it with all the old info. That makes sense.

Cool I shall give what you say a shot, will v8 take over the database automatically from v6.5, and all the backup jobs and info about them be retained and used?

I have read that I will need to enter the passwords for the server logins again?
pidthepiper
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 65
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:10 am
Full Name: Bilal AHmed

Re: Veeam B&R 6.5 2003R2 upgrade to v8

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Aug 12, 2015 5:00 pm

pidthepiper wrote:Cool I shall give what you say a shot, will v8 take over the database automatically from v6.5, and all the backup jobs and info about them be retained and used?

Yes, that's why it is called an upgrade and not a clean installation ;)
pidthepiper wrote:I have read that I will need to enter the passwords for the server logins again?

Yes, that's also correct, cause this data is encrypted with backup server machine key. If you migrate your backup server to another system, you have to re-type all passwords to continue using the product.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam B&R 6.5 2003R2 upgrade to v8

Veeam Logoby pidthepiper » Thu Aug 13, 2015 8:15 am

Haha

It was just the face I will have to create a new VM and it wont be an in-place upgrade hat was confusing me!

But thank you
pidthepiper
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 65
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:10 am
Full Name: Bilal AHmed

Re: Veeam B&R 6.5 2003R2 upgrade to v8

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Aug 13, 2015 12:57 pm

No worries, let us know how it goes for you.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19564
Liked: 1104 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam B&R 6.5 2003R2 upgrade to v8

Veeam Logoby pidthepiper » Fri Aug 14, 2015 1:46 pm

No worries I will do.

I am compiling a o do list of things as we upgrade the whole environment
pidthepiper
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 65
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:10 am
Full Name: Bilal AHmed

Re: Veeam B&R 6.5 2003R2 upgrade to v8

Veeam Logoby pidthepiper » Fri Sep 04, 2015 11:12 am

So I am installed Veeam v8 on to 2012 and I am nw at the point where I point it to an existing instance of SQL Server

So I have put in the server name of the SQL VM and the name of the replication database and using windows authentication, once I click next at this point I assume it will take control of the database and upgrade the schema?

Is there anything else I need to do? like create an ODBC connection?

V6.5 is still using the database (not at this moment though obviously)

Cheers,
pidthepiper
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 65
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:10 am
Full Name: Bilal AHmed

Re: Veeam B&R 6.5 2003R2 upgrade to v8

Veeam Logoby foggy » Tue Sep 08, 2015 12:58 pm

Nothing else, except the configuration backup prior to that (just in case).
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14743
Liked: 1081 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson


Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests