Host-based backup of VMware vSphere VMs.
reglissetahiti
Lurker
Liked: never
Full Name: de la fressange

Veeam B&R 7 architecture between production and DR site

Post by reglissetahiti »

Hello,
I am new to Veeam deployment architecture.
I have to deploy Veeam B&R 7 enterprise edition on the following vsphere architecture :

2 sites 80 VMs (windows servers and linux)
Site A = Production
Site B = DR and Tests (homologation)
WAN connexion between A & B at 100 Mbps
Replications in both directions but most part is from A to B
Site A
2 clusters of ESXi 5.5 U2 with a SAN array
1 cluster is for VM of DMZ env and the other one is for LAN env
Site B
Idem site A

I plan to deploy the following Veeam architecture (Everything is virtualized)
On site A :
1 Veeam Backup server controls :
- The local VM backups job to a local backup repository
- The replication jobs from the site B
1 backup Repository (different from backup server)

On site B :
1 Veeam Backup server controls :
- The local VM backups job (including) VM and VM replicas) to a local backup repository
- The replication jobs from the site A (in order to be able to manage failover in case of a disaster on site A)
1 backup Repository (different from backup server)

Questions 1:
Because the backup server which controls the replication is on the remote site, I have understood that I have to add to the backup server a backup proxy which is on the source site.
On the backup server on site B, when configuring the replication job from a source host on site A, is it possible to use the proxy which is into the backup server on the source site A (after having adding it to the managed server) without breaking the backup server A ? (I know it would not be the best condidering performances but we run out of windows server licence)

Question 2:
In case I deploy an additionnal backup proxy on each site. Does this backup proxy can manage replications flows in both directions ?

Thanks
foggy
Veeam Software
Liked: 2115 times