Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Discussions specific to VMware vSphere hypervisor

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Mar 30, 2017 10:03 am

Yes, this is still on our radar.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21163
Liked: 1259 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby mma » Fri Jul 14, 2017 11:58 am

+1 for this request
mma
Service Provider
 
Posts: 83
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 9:12 am
Location: Lucerne, Switzerland
Full Name: Marcel

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby itfnb » Fri Jul 14, 2017 3:15 pm

+1
itfnb
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 58
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 8:18 pm

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby PeterCNZ » Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:00 am

+1
PeterCNZ
Service Provider
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:51 am
Full Name: Peter Cronwright

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby DanielCIS » Mon Oct 30, 2017 10:46 pm

+1
DanielCIS
Service Provider
 
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 9:52 pm
Full Name: Daniel Hadland

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Oct 31, 2017 12:39 pm

If you post "+1", then it would be highly appreciated to also elaborate on the particular use case you're after. This would help us a lot in discussing this feature for our next updates. Thanks!
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21163
Liked: 1259 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Mon Nov 06, 2017 7:54 am

Mine (and I think most common) use case is that operator that is using vbr console does not have admin rights to that server/computer...
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 292
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Mon Nov 06, 2017 6:30 pm

Would using Enterprise Manager be a solution in your case?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21163
Liked: 1259 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Wed Nov 08, 2017 7:19 am

Nope.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 292
Liked: 18 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:27 pm

Restore operation in B&R console requires using drivers, that cannot be enabled if you're not local admin of the computer, but thanks for your FR.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21163
Liked: 1259 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby PeterCNZ » Mon Nov 13, 2017 4:18 am

+1
We need non-Administrators to be able to launch the VBR Console on a Remote Desktop Server, they do not need to do the restores mostly, just Manage or Report on Backup Operations.
If restores require local administrator rights then perhaps a message can be displayed that they need to reopen VBR Console with Administration rights, or VBR Console can relaunch itself asking for Administration rights.
PeterCNZ
Service Provider
 
Posts: 11
Liked: never
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:51 am
Full Name: Peter Cronwright

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby James_B » Wed Feb 14, 2018 2:54 pm

I would like to +1 this as well. As for my use case, we have a terminal server where nobody has admin rights that we would like to enable to console on. The server itself does not have anything to do with running the B&R jobs so any restore operations that would be initiated via this console f.e. would be expected to run on the main B&R server. This would also give us a chance to manage multiple installations from one terminal server. I see this topic is a bit older, but we recently discussed this with our regional rep and a technical colleague he brought onsite with him and they suggested to add my comments to this thread.
James_B
Lurker
 
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 10:48 am

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby Zew » Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:24 pm

+1 been 2 years, where's the feature? :P
Zew
Expert
 
Posts: 206
Liked: 42 times
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:50 pm
Full Name: Aemilianus Kehler

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Thu Feb 15, 2018 11:21 am

Hi Aemilianus, the architecture discussed above is still the same, but thanks for pushing! If only monitoring/reporting/basic management is required, then Enterprise Manager/Veeam ONE or Veeam Availability Console (for service providers) can help here.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21163
Liked: 1259 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby mweissen13 » Tue Feb 20, 2018 11:25 am

+1 from me
We would like to give the customer an RDP login on the B&R host where he can do restores himself. But he shouldn't have local Admin privileges as he could leverage them to stop services, delete the backups at the OS level, ...
mweissen13
Service Provider
 
Posts: 15
Liked: 6 times
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 3:22 pm
Full Name: Michael Weissenbacher

PreviousNext

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 30 guests