Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

VMware specific discussions

Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby pavela » Wed Jan 27, 2016 6:36 pm 1 person likes this post

Launching B&R console always requires the administrator password. It doesn’t matter whether run locally on the B&R server, or remotely - from different computer.
From the User Guide: "The account used to start the Veeam Backup & Replication console must have the Local Administrator permissions on the machine where the console is installed."
When starting the console locally on the B&R server I can understand that more or less. By contrast, I do not understand the meaning of this requirement when you start the console remotely.
Since v9 B&R console connects through TCP port 9392. What is the point of having an ordinary client/console application that needs admin rights to work? From my standpoint, this app is useless for remote work. Our rules do not allow to daily work on accounts with admin privileges.

Pawel
pavela
Novice
 
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 8:07 am
Full Name: Pawel Bien

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby the_mentor » Thu Jan 28, 2016 12:32 am 2 people like this post

I think the reason it need admin rights on the local workstation is because it needs permissions to mount restores in c:\VeeamFLR and a few other things.
Where i work we use regular accounts for day to day work and privileged accounts for other stuff so i just run the veeam console as the privileged account using run as a different user.
the_mentor
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 38
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 11:10 pm
Full Name: DeMentor

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby foggy » Thu Jan 28, 2016 10:47 am

Correct, administrative rights are required for backup files mount (mount server component is installed as a part of remote console installation) and for reading some configuration settings from the registry. If you're not going to perform restores through the console, you can try to give the account rights to registry, probably this will work without elevation then (however, was not tested). Or just use the workaround mentioned above in case the need for restore arises.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby Gostev » Tue Feb 16, 2016 3:43 pm 1 person likes this post

I've brought this up before v9 was released. Devs have done some research and we should be able to get rid of this requirement in future releases. Thanks!
Gostev
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 21390
Liked: 2349 times
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland

[MERGED] B&R Console for non-admins

Veeam Logoby Steen » Mon Mar 07, 2016 12:32 pm

Is there any plans for a version that works for non-admins (local computer)?
Regards Steen
Steen
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 45
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2015 1:20 pm
Full Name: Steen

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby foggy » Mon Mar 07, 2016 12:37 pm

Hi Steen, yes, there are plans in this regard, please see above.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby Steen » Mon Mar 07, 2016 6:05 pm

Nice to hear.
To bad Your support doesnt know this information (or wouldnt tell)
Regards Steen
Steen
Enthusiast
 
Posts: 45
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2015 1:20 pm
Full Name: Steen

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Wed Mar 09, 2016 11:55 am

Our support just doesn't know any time frames. Posting feature requests in these forums is definitely the best way to share your feedback and get understanding on the current feature state.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby HolgerE » Tue Jun 14, 2016 9:40 am

+1 for this feature request (launch Veeam B&R console without admin rights).
Is there already a time frame for the implementation?
HolgerE
Novice
 
Posts: 7
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 8:37 am
Full Name: Holger Ernst

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby foggy » Wed Jun 15, 2016 3:55 pm

Thank you for the feedback, however we cannot share any particular ETA.
foggy
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 14742
Liked: 1080 times
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson

[MERGED] Running VBR Console without admin privileges?

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Tue Oct 04, 2016 12:06 pm

Hi!

I have a scenario where I want our help desk to be able to login from RDS server to veeam backup server and check the backups.
For that I've installed VBR Console on our RDS server. However, starting the console requires elevation. Now I dont want to give admin rights to help desk staff on RDS server, so what should I do?
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 254
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Oct 04, 2016 12:49 pm

Veeam backup console required local admin access on the server, please review this topic for more info. On a side note, can you please tell us what actions/operations your help desk staff should do within the backup console?
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Tue Oct 04, 2016 12:57 pm

Primarily just to check that the backups are OK. I have assigned only viewer role for them.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 254
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby hyvokar » Tue Oct 04, 2016 1:23 pm

foggy wrote:Correct, administrative rights are required for backup files mount (mount server component is installed as a part of remote console installation) and for reading some configuration settings from the registry. If you're not going to perform restores through the console, you can try to give the account rights to registry, probably this will work without elevation then (however, was not tested). Or just use the workaround mentioned above in case the need for restore arises.



So where exactly should I add permissions?
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE
hyvokar
Service Provider
 
Posts: 254
Liked: 15 times
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Veeam Logoby Vitaliy S. » Tue Oct 04, 2016 1:51 pm

If you need to check whether backups are OK or not, then you can use Veeam ONE that has Veeam B&R monitoring and reporting built-in.
Vitaliy S.
Veeam Software
 
Posts: 19558
Liked: 1102 times
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov

Next

Return to VMware vSphere



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 11 guests