Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
pavela
Novice
Posts: 6
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Jun 17, 2014 8:07 am
Full Name: Pawel Bien
Contact:

Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by pavela » Jan 27, 2016 6:36 pm 1 person likes this post

Launching B&R console always requires the administrator password. It doesn’t matter whether run locally on the B&R server, or remotely - from different computer.
From the User Guide: "The account used to start the Veeam Backup & Replication console must have the Local Administrator permissions on the machine where the console is installed."
When starting the console locally on the B&R server I can understand that more or less. By contrast, I do not understand the meaning of this requirement when you start the console remotely.
Since v9 B&R console connects through TCP port 9392. What is the point of having an ordinary client/console application that needs admin rights to work? From my standpoint, this app is useless for remote work. Our rules do not allow to daily work on accounts with admin privileges.

Pawel

the_mentor
Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Jul 26, 2012 11:10 pm
Full Name: DeMentor
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by the_mentor » Jan 28, 2016 12:32 am 2 people like this post

I think the reason it need admin rights on the local workstation is because it needs permissions to mount restores in c:\VeeamFLR and a few other things.
Where i work we use regular accounts for day to day work and privileged accounts for other stuff so i just run the veeam console as the privileged account using run as a different user.
-DeMentor

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by foggy » Jan 28, 2016 10:47 am

Correct, administrative rights are required for backup files mount (mount server component is installed as a part of remote console installation) and for reading some configuration settings from the registry. If you're not going to perform restores through the console, you can try to give the account rights to registry, probably this will work without elevation then (however, was not tested). Or just use the workaround mentioned above in case the need for restore arises.

Gostev
SVP, Product Management
Posts: 24804
Liked: 3566 times
Joined: Jan 01, 2006 1:01 am
Location: Baar, Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by Gostev » Feb 16, 2016 3:43 pm 2 people like this post

I've brought this up before v9 was released. Devs have done some research and we should be able to get rid of this requirement in future releases. Thanks!

Steen
Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mar 13, 2015 1:20 pm
Full Name: Steen
Contact:

[MERGED] B&R Console for non-admins

Post by Steen » Mar 07, 2016 12:32 pm

Is there any plans for a version that works for non-admins (local computer)?
Regards Steen

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by foggy » Mar 07, 2016 12:37 pm

Hi Steen, yes, there are plans in this regard, please see above.

Steen
Enthusiast
Posts: 48
Liked: 3 times
Joined: Mar 13, 2015 1:20 pm
Full Name: Steen
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by Steen » Mar 07, 2016 6:05 pm

Nice to hear.
To bad Your support doesnt know this information (or wouldnt tell)
Regards Steen

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23001
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by Vitaliy S. » Mar 09, 2016 11:55 am

Our support just doesn't know any time frames. Posting feature requests in these forums is definitely the best way to share your feedback and get understanding on the current feature state.

HolgerE
Novice
Posts: 7
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 11, 2014 8:37 am
Full Name: Holger Ernst
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by HolgerE » Jun 14, 2016 9:40 am

+1 for this feature request (launch Veeam B&R console without admin rights).
Is there already a time frame for the implementation?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by foggy » Jun 15, 2016 3:55 pm

Thank you for the feedback, however we cannot share any particular ETA.

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 360
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

[MERGED] Running VBR Console without admin privileges?

Post by hyvokar » Oct 04, 2016 12:06 pm

Hi!

I have a scenario where I want our help desk to be able to login from RDS server to veeam backup server and check the backups.
For that I've installed VBR Console on our RDS server. However, starting the console requires elevation. Now I dont want to give admin rights to help desk staff on RDS server, so what should I do?
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23001
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 04, 2016 12:49 pm

Veeam backup console required local admin access on the server, please review this topic for more info. On a side note, can you please tell us what actions/operations your help desk staff should do within the backup console?

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 360
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by hyvokar » Oct 04, 2016 12:57 pm

Primarily just to check that the backups are OK. I have assigned only viewer role for them.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 360
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by hyvokar » Oct 04, 2016 1:23 pm

foggy wrote:Correct, administrative rights are required for backup files mount (mount server component is installed as a part of remote console installation) and for reading some configuration settings from the registry. If you're not going to perform restores through the console, you can try to give the account rights to registry, probably this will work without elevation then (however, was not tested). Or just use the workaround mentioned above in case the need for restore arises.

So where exactly should I add permissions?
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23001
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 04, 2016 1:51 pm

If you need to check whether backups are OK or not, then you can use Veeam ONE that has Veeam B&R monitoring and reporting built-in.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by foggy » Oct 04, 2016 2:21 pm

You can right-click Veeam B&R hive in registry editor, select Permissions and give rights to corresponding accounts. However, again, we haven't tested Veeam B&R console operation without elevation.

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 360
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by hyvokar » Oct 05, 2016 5:38 am

Vitaliy S. wrote:If you need to check whether backups are OK or not, then you can use Veeam ONE that has Veeam B&R monitoring and reporting built-in.
No i cant.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 360
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by hyvokar » Oct 05, 2016 5:47 am

foggy wrote:You can right-click Veeam B&R hive in registry editor, select Permissions and give rights to corresponding accounts. However, again, we haven't tested Veeam B&R console operation without elevation.
Well can you test it?
Server\users has a read permissions to hklm\software\veeam , should that be enough?
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by foggy » Oct 05, 2016 12:04 pm

Yes, read access should be enough.

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 360
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by hyvokar » Oct 05, 2016 12:26 pm

It's still asking for elevation :(
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by foggy » Oct 05, 2016 2:22 pm

Seems that permissions are required regardless of whether you're going to perform restores or not then and my assumption on the first page was not correct.

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 360
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by hyvokar » Oct 05, 2016 3:24 pm

Vitaliy S. wrote:If you need to check whether backups are OK or not, then you can use Veeam ONE that has Veeam B&R monitoring and reporting built-in.
I dont have license for veeam ONE.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23001
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 05, 2016 4:33 pm

That's a pity, in this case try to take a look at Enterprise Manager that should give basic information about job states, maybe it can help in your case.

Tech471
Influencer
Posts: 11
Liked: 1 time
Joined: Nov 22, 2013 6:23 pm
Full Name: Hank Vare
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by Tech471 » Oct 05, 2016 8:31 pm

Another idea is to enable email notifications and check the "Notify on warning" and "Notify on failure" boxes under Options > Email settings.

Speaking of which I have a quick question re: warnings vs failures. If a job throws the warning "Guest processing skipped" isn't this essentially the same as a failure? If not what exactly is the difference?

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23001
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 06, 2016 9:42 am

Hank, It depends on your setting defined over here, it can be both a failure and a warning > Application-Aware Processing

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 360
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by hyvokar » Oct 06, 2016 10:56 am

Vitaliy S. wrote:That's a pity, in this case try to take a look at Enterprise Manager that should give basic information about job states, maybe it can help in your case.
Hi!

We cannot use EM, since it totally messes up our restoration process.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23001
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 06, 2016 11:42 am

Can you please clarify that? You can use EM for monitoring, and keep doing restores with your current approach.

hyvokar
Expert
Posts: 360
Liked: 23 times
Joined: Nov 21, 2014 10:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by hyvokar » Oct 06, 2016 11:56 am

Our restores via guest interaction proxies will stop functioning, if we install EM. We tried to found the reason for that with your support but with no success. The problem went away the moment we uninstalled EM.
Bed?! Beds for sleepy people! Lets get a kebab and go to a disco!
MS MCSA, MCITP, MCTS, MCP
VMWare VCP5-DCV
Veeam VMCE

Vitaliy S.
Product Manager
Posts: 23001
Liked: 1557 times
Joined: Mar 30, 2009 9:13 am
Full Name: Vitaliy Safarov
Contact:

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by Vitaliy S. » Oct 06, 2016 12:09 pm

In this case I would suggest to re-open a ticket with our support team to find out the reason for this behavior (or try to deploy EM on another machine, not on the backup server).

salzsieder
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jul 01, 2015 6:26 am

Re: Veeam B&R console needs admin rights to start

Post by salzsieder » Mar 30, 2017 6:11 am

Are there plans to provide the Veeam console without admin rights? We have absolutely no possibility to assign local administrative rights. With > 240 sockets licensed this is very unfortunate. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 11 guests