Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
lethallynx
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Aug 17, 2009 3:47 am
Full Name: Justin Kirkby
Contact:

Veeam Backup Broker Service using heaps of bandwidth.

Post by lethallynx » Dec 13, 2016 7:58 am

So we have a DR setup offsite with a VPN link connecting back to our main office.

We have a Veeam B&R server at both sites and make use of the WAN accelerators.

Since upgrading to 9.5 we are seeing the offsite Veeam backup and replication broker service just chewing up bandwidth.
It's using about 300MB every 5-10 mins. Based on the usage stats on our routers over 24 hours its chewing up between 50-80GB!

Now while sites that have a 100mb link might not have any issues.
We only have a very limited amount of bandwidth between the two sites.

Obviously if you disable the service then Veeam isn't happy as it needs it due to the new core "improvements" in 9.5.
But it would be nice if we could disable it on the offsite server and just get it to talk to the service located in the main office.

Has anyone noticed anything similar?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18251
Liked: 1558 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup Broker Service using heaps of bandwidth.

Post by foggy » Dec 14, 2016 2:42 pm

Hi Justin, could you please open a case with our technical support for further research and share the case ID here? This will be much appreciated. Thanks!

lethallynx
Influencer
Posts: 15
Liked: 5 times
Joined: Aug 17, 2009 3:47 am
Full Name: Justin Kirkby
Contact:

Re: Veeam Backup Broker Service using heaps of bandwidth.

Post by lethallynx » Dec 18, 2016 11:38 pm 1 person likes this post

Case has been logged as: 02008261

Here is an example that shows it almost maxing our offsite link every 2 seconds:
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: backupquestions and 16 guests