Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
vkriznar
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 25, 2019 7:42 am
Full Name: Vid Križnar
Contact:

Veeam DB gets updated on 15 minute interval (upgrade 9.5 update 4)

Post by vkriznar » Apr 25, 2019 10:12 am

After recently upgrading our Veeam Servers to 9.5 update 4, we have discovered that upon adding VM to our backup jobs via Rest API, that the newly added VM doesn't get displayed in the job items list immediately, but only after a few minutes. After checking the logs, we have discovered that the Veeam database gets updated only on 15 minute intervals so at .00 .15 .30 .45 minute marks, and only after the database gets updated, newly added items can be retrieved via GET call. Is there a way this can be configured at what intervals the database is updated, because this wasn't the case before the 9.5 update 4 upgrade, before that any database modification could be seen instantly.

vkriznar
Lurker
Posts: 2
Liked: never
Joined: Apr 25, 2019 7:42 am
Full Name: Vid Križnar
Contact:

Re: Veeam DB gets updated on 15 minute interval (upgrade 9.5 update 4)

Post by vkriznar » Apr 25, 2019 12:34 pm

Additional information:

- We have upgraded Veeam from version 9.5u3 to 9.5u4, we have 1x EM and 2x VBR
- API call for retrieving job items: GET http://<Enterprise-Manager>:9399/api/jobs/{jobID}/includes
- The log files checked were: Svc.VeeamRestAPI.log and Svc.VeeamBES.Collect.log
- Product version: OS - Windows Server 2016, vSphere/ESXi - 6.5u2

Is what I described expected behaviour with the 9.5u4?
If so how do we achieve previous update behaviour (that the items get updated instantly), and if not is this a bug, or some configuration parameter.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18278
Liked: 1564 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam DB gets updated on 15 minute interval (upgrade 9.5 update 4)

Post by foggy » Apr 25, 2019 1:33 pm

Hi Vid, the 15 minutes interval can be configured in Enterprise Manager settings. Besides the data collection interval, there are also so called 'micro collect' operations that update data more frequently and if this doesn't work as expected, this should be investigated closer. I recommend contacting support for that. Thanks!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: PetrM and 20 guests