Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
Borsh
Influencer
Posts: 20
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 06, 2013 5:35 am
Full Name: Igor Bonev
Contact:

Veeam Explorer for Exchange doesn't open all databases

Post by Borsh » May 29, 2013 12:02 pm

Hello!

I'm trying to restore exchange items with Veeam Explorer for Exchange.
When I launch it (Backup & Replication view -> backup job with the Exchange server -> right-click the Microsoft Exchange VM -> Restore Exchange items) - Veeam Explorer for Exchange restores only default system databases and does not automatically restore the database files with user mailboxes.
Veeam user has Organization Management permissions and exchange backups were created with VSS-aware image processing enabled.
What am I doing wrong?

Thanks!

Image

Dima P.
Product Manager
Posts: 9755
Liked: 771 times
Joined: Feb 04, 2013 2:07 pm
Full Name: Dmitry Popov
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Veeam Explorer for Exchange doesn't open all databases

Post by Dima P. » May 29, 2013 1:14 pm

Hello Igor,
Thank you for your question!

You specify exchange *.edb during launch of the Veeam Exchange Explorer. If you want to restore the mailbox items specify the mailbox.edb during the launch of the Exchange Explorer (the default path is something like this Progam Files/Microsoft/Exchange Server/Vxx/Mailbox/Mailbox Database/Mailboxxxxx.edb)

Cheers!

Borsh
Influencer
Posts: 20
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 06, 2013 5:35 am
Full Name: Igor Bonev
Contact:

Re: Veeam Explorer for Exchange doesn't open all databases

Post by Borsh » May 29, 2013 1:34 pm

Dmitry, hello!

But I didn't specify exchange *.edb during launch of the Veeam Exchange Explorer. Only start restore (like at this usrl: http://www.veeam.com/vmware-backup/help ... ex8_th.png) and then Veeam Exchange Explorer showed default exchange databases.
So, If I want to restore mailbox items I must always manually specify the mailbox####.edb during the launch of the Exchange Explorer (before restored them as guests files)??

Thanks

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17712
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam Explorer for Exchange doesn't open all databases

Post by foggy » May 29, 2013 2:03 pm

Well, in fact the database should be opened in Veeam Explorer for Exchange automatically, so I suggest contacting technical support to investigate the reason of why this is not happening.

As a workaround, you can click Add Store on the toolbar and browse to Exchange database file (EDB) under C:\VeeamFLR mount point, as Dmitry has specified above.

Borsh
Influencer
Posts: 20
Liked: 1 time
Joined: May 06, 2013 5:35 am
Full Name: Igor Bonev
Contact:

Re: Veeam Explorer for Exchange doesn't open all databases

Post by Borsh » May 30, 2013 11:30 am

As a result, Veeam Explorer for Exchange can't open databases automatically if:
- database and log files are on different disks;
- there are several *.edb on Exch server.
This is the official response from Veeam support (case# 00221890).

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17712
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam Explorer for Exchange doesn't open all databases

Post by foggy » May 30, 2013 11:49 am

Borsh wrote:As a result, Veeam Explorer for Exchange can't open databases automatically if:
- database and log files are on different disks;
- there are several *.edb on Exch server.
Igor, thanks for the update. However, I would note that this is not 100% true as VEX fails to open databases automatically in a few specific cases only (not in all cases where database and log files are located on different disks, or there are several .EDBs on Exchange server) and those should be addressed in future releases.

deduplicat3d
Expert
Posts: 100
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Nov 04, 2011 8:21 pm
Full Name: Corey
Contact:

Re: Veeam Explorer for Exchange doesn't open all databases

Post by deduplicat3d » Apr 24, 2014 3:09 am

Has this been addressed yet? I have a public folder database that is in the default location and it gets auto detected. I then have my edb's on a separate disk that is mounted to c:\Exchange Databases. It does not auto detect, but it works if I manually add the store. Would be nice to have auto detect.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17712
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam Explorer for Exchange doesn't open all databases

Post by foggy » Apr 24, 2014 10:23 am

Corey, in case of successful VSS backup, database located in a mounted folder should be successfully detected by the current Veeam B&R version. Do you have any VSS-related warnings or errors in the corresponding backup job session? I also recommend contacting support for closer investigation.

deduplicat3d
Expert
Posts: 100
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Nov 04, 2011 8:21 pm
Full Name: Corey
Contact:

Re: Veeam Explorer for Exchange doesn't open all databases

Post by deduplicat3d » Apr 24, 2014 4:20 pm

VSS is always successful on the Job. The issue isn't bad enough that it warrants the time for me to go through an entire support request. Just thought I would chime in.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17712
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam Explorer for Exchange doesn't open all databases

Post by foggy » Apr 24, 2014 4:24 pm

I got your point. Though opening the case could help us in locating the issue, if there is any, so it would be great if you could just provide the logs to our support team. Thanks!

deduplicat3d
Expert
Posts: 100
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Nov 04, 2011 8:21 pm
Full Name: Corey
Contact:

Re: Veeam Explorer for Exchange doesn't open all databases

Post by deduplicat3d » Apr 24, 2014 6:54 pm

Will do.

deduplicat3d
Expert
Posts: 100
Liked: 11 times
Joined: Nov 04, 2011 8:21 pm
Full Name: Corey
Contact:

Re: Veeam Explorer for Exchange doesn't open all databases

Post by deduplicat3d » Apr 24, 2014 7:33 pm

Case 00556390

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17712
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam Explorer for Exchange doesn't open all databases

Post by foggy » Apr 24, 2014 9:01 pm

Thanks! Much appreciated, will pass to R&D for the closer look.

Eric Traub
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Mar 30, 2019 1:39 am
Full Name: Eric Traub
Contact:

Re: Veeam Explorer for Exchange doesn't open all databases

Post by Eric Traub » Mar 30, 2019 1:44 am

Hi,

what worked for me was going to the inventory tab then clicked on my Vcenter server then exchange server vm. then i right clicked then restore .Then picked exchange mailbox items from backup and it loaded all data bases correctly.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests