Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
stewsie
Expert
Posts: 130
Liked: 8 times
Joined: May 22, 2015 7:16 am
Full Name: Paul
Contact:

Veeam Explorer SQL

Post by stewsie » Apr 03, 2019 1:46 pm

Hi

I am starting to look at using AAIP backups for two new SQL servers configured with Availability Groups. I have the backup configured along with transaction log backups and all appears to be working. I am now looking to ask the DBA team to check restore options as part of the test process. In the Enterprise Manager I have provided access but the restore options are quite basic and limited especially regarding specific restore points.

I have given one user access to Veeam using the client and using Veeam Explorer for SQL there are more options available for restore or downloading the backup files. Is there a way using the Veeam client to limit the backups the user has access to as at the moment the user is a restore operator and can see all backups which is not what is required.

Does anyone have any advice regarding the restore of SQL using either the client or Enterprise Manager?

Thanks

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18264
Liked: 1561 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam Explorer SQL

Post by foggy » Apr 03, 2019 4:59 pm

Hi Paul, currently limiting restore scope is possible in Enterprise Manager only. What do you mean by limited restore options? You can restore to any available restore point/point-in-time (similar to Veeam B&R console), though only entire database restore is available.

stewsie
Expert
Posts: 130
Liked: 8 times
Joined: May 22, 2015 7:16 am
Full Name: Paul
Contact:

Re: Veeam Explorer SQL

Post by stewsie » Apr 04, 2019 6:40 am

In Veeam Explorer I can see the specific transactions listed and can go back to one of those points. In Enterprise Manager I just have the slider to choose a point

stewsie
Expert
Posts: 130
Liked: 8 times
Joined: May 22, 2015 7:16 am
Full Name: Paul
Contact:

Re: Veeam Explorer SQL

Post by stewsie » Apr 09, 2019 2:25 pm

I have made some progress but have had to open a support call with Veeam that will be investigated by Veeam tomorrow. I have started a restore in Enterprise Manager but the restore fails with an error stating

"Database restore failed. Database belongs to AlwaysOn Availability Group. Please specify another database name to restore.

I can restore using Veeam Explorer and it appears to work however at the end of that restore I also receive an error message.

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18264
Liked: 1561 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam Explorer SQL

Post by foggy » Apr 09, 2019 3:51 pm

Looks strange since there's no such a limitation. What version are you using?

stewsie
Expert
Posts: 130
Liked: 8 times
Joined: May 22, 2015 7:16 am
Full Name: Paul
Contact:

Re: Veeam Explorer SQL

Post by stewsie » Apr 10, 2019 6:14 am

9.5 U3

Haven't had an opportunity to upgrade yet.

stewsie
Expert
Posts: 130
Liked: 8 times
Joined: May 22, 2015 7:16 am
Full Name: Paul
Contact:

Re: Veeam Explorer SQL

Post by stewsie » Apr 10, 2019 11:03 am

Had a remote session with support this morning and have been told that this restore isn't supported when restoring to another location in an Availability Group using Enterprise Manager. We are restoring to the same node however as non-standard SQL port is being used we have to specify to restore to another server.

Do you know if this feature works in 9.5 U4a and if not is this something that is on the road map?

One other thing that isn't supported in 9.5 U3 is to restore into an availability group with automatic seeding. We stopped the seeding on the second node and the restore using the client worked. The engineer was sure this was resolved in 9.5 U4a. Does anyone know if that is correct as he wasn't 100% sure?

Thanks

stewsie
Expert
Posts: 130
Liked: 8 times
Joined: May 22, 2015 7:16 am
Full Name: Paul
Contact:

Re: Veeam Explorer SQL

Post by stewsie » Apr 24, 2019 10:38 am 1 person likes this post

9.5 U4a did indeed fix this issue and we have been able to restore using Enterprise Manager

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests