Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
alexandrev
Lurker
Posts: 1
Liked: never
Joined: Jan 09, 2018 10:56 am
Full Name: Alexandre VASSEUR
Contact:

Veeam Integration with IBM Storwize

Post by alexandrev » Jan 09, 2018 11:02 am

Hello,

First, happy new year to all of you !

I just updated my VEEAM infrastructure with 9.5 U3, but can you please explain me how I must proceed to use Storwize snapshot backup ?

Thank you in advance :)

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17712
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam Integration with IBM Storwize

Post by foggy » Jan 09, 2018 12:23 pm

Hi Alexandre, please review this user guide section. Thanks.

crackocain
Service Provider
Posts: 117
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: Veeam Integration with IBM Storwize

Post by crackocain » Jan 11, 2018 10:44 pm

Hi

Which SVC Storwize firmware version is the full compability? 7.6, 7.7, 7.8, 8.1?

And HyperSwap (Storage Cluster) architecture is supported?

This link job setting can not appear Storwize Integration. Please take a look my screenshot
https://helpcenter.veeam.com/docs/backu ... tml?ver=95

Image
IBM, EMC, Huawei Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17712
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam Integration with IBM Storwize

Post by foggy » Jan 12, 2018 10:50 am

crackocain wrote:Which SVC Storwize firmware version is the full compability? 7.6, 7.7, 7.8, 8.1?
IBM Spectrum Virtualize OS 7.6 and later.
crackocain wrote:And HyperSwap (Storage Cluster) architecture is supported?
Yes.

crackocain
Service Provider
Posts: 117
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: Veeam Integration with IBM Storwize

Post by crackocain » Jan 12, 2018 11:15 am

Sorry my bad. :)

Backup from Secondary Storage Arrays Note:
Failover to Backup from Storage Snapshots on the primary storage array is not supported for HPE 3PAR Peer Persistence and IBM Spectrum Virtualize with HyperSwap function.
IBM, EMC, Huawei Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey

crackocain
Service Provider
Posts: 117
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: Veeam Integration with IBM Storwize

Post by crackocain » Jan 13, 2018 7:09 am

Image

Hi. I tested feature but i want to ask this screen.
test volume is HyperSwap volume, 100 gb and 1 VM inside it.
I'm start the backup job, flashcopy operation started and never complete. Always %0

In veeam i'm seeing storage snapshots and able to restore but this flashcopy operation never stop.

Can you explain why?

SVC Version: 7.8.1.2
IBM, EMC, Huawei Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey

crackocain
Service Provider
Posts: 117
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: Veeam Integration with IBM Storwize

Post by crackocain » Jan 13, 2018 8:35 am

https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgece ... iry45.html
If NOCOPY is specified, background copy is disabled. You can specify NOCOPY for short-lived FlashCopy mappings that are only used for backups, for example. Because the source data set is not expected to significantly change during the lifetime of the FlashCopy mapping, it is more efficient in terms of managed disk (MDisk) I/Os to not perform a background copy.
Veeam creates nocopy snapshots?
IBM, EMC, Huawei Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey

jvandevelde
Influencer
Posts: 12
Liked: 2 times
Joined: Mar 22, 2010 11:57 am
Full Name: Johan van de Velde
Contact:

Re: Veeam Integration with IBM Storwize

Post by jvandevelde » Jan 15, 2018 4:06 pm

I am stealing this thread in the hope that one of the Veeam users who is viewing this thread will know the answer to the following Veeam Integration with IBM Storwize question?

Have you succeeded in linking an IBM v3700 SAN to Veeam while using a SAS only connection?

I know that Veeam only appears to support FC and iSCSI but my SAN only has SAS to all the VMware Servers and the physical Veeam backup server.
Secondly, I know that firmware 7.6 or more recent is needed but my IBM SAN is still om 7.5 since my unit does not have enough RAM to upgrade.

I would like to know the response to the above question before splurging additional money on the memory upgrade.

Note : this is Veeam support ticket 02464837 but I am not getting a 'it has been tested and it works response' but rather a 'post it in the forums so it will be picked up' response.

crackocain
Service Provider
Posts: 117
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: Veeam Integration with IBM Storwize

Post by crackocain » Jan 15, 2018 8:36 pm

Hi Veeam Engineers

I need nocopy snapshot registry settings. Remotecopy operation slowly filling up the storage pool.

Image
IBM, EMC, Huawei Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey

crackocain
Service Provider
Posts: 117
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: Veeam Integration with IBM Storwize

Post by crackocain » Jan 16, 2018 5:42 pm

Image

Only 1 day same snapshot restore point grow 124 GB...
IBM, EMC, Huawei Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17712
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam Integration with IBM Storwize

Post by foggy » Jan 19, 2018 1:55 pm

crackocain wrote:Veeam creates nocopy snapshots?
Yes, Veeam B&R uses nocopy option, basically, to write only changes to the snapshot. You can try another option called "Cleaning mode", but I recommend contacting support for a closer look.
jvandevelde wrote:Have you succeeded in linking an IBM v3700 SAN to Veeam while using a SAS only connection?
I do not expect storage integration to work over SAS, since ports are different. But you could search the forums and try direct SAN instead.

crackocain
Service Provider
Posts: 117
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: Veeam Integration with IBM Storwize

Post by crackocain » Jan 26, 2018 11:01 am

Hi Foggy

I want to open support case but this situation occur production volumes. So i want to minimum write changes. I don't want to full the storage pool space.
Because we want RPO 2 days, RTO 4 hours. Actually 12 restore points... about 120 TB HyperSwap cluster. If i'm back up all volumes maybe storage pool is full. I want to prepare at first.

Image

If I'm wrong please correct me.

Veeam takes the nocopy snapshot in SVC and changes writes both volumes. Production and snapshot volumes.
Changing data write is not essential Veeam snapshot but IBM Snapshot mechanism forced to do.
If we suspect fulling disk then Veeam creates nocopy with cleaning mode snapshots?
And SVC write changes and cleaning automatically.

Storage free pool space around %10. What is the storage free space best practise?
IBM, EMC, Huawei Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 17712
Liked: 1481 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam Integration with IBM Storwize

Post by foggy » Jan 26, 2018 12:51 pm

Veeam B&R doesn't use cleaning mode by default. You can try to compare whether the snapshots created by Veeam B&R and those created through the storage UI swell equally fast.
crackocain wrote:Storage free pool space around %10. What is the storage free space best practise?
This is a kind of question that should be addressed to vendor.

crackocain
Service Provider
Posts: 117
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: Veeam Integration with IBM Storwize

Post by crackocain » Feb 05, 2018 2:20 pm

Hi Alexander

Case #02562067 was created. Could tech support take a closer look?

Thank you
IBM, EMC, Huawei Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey

crackocain
Service Provider
Posts: 117
Liked: 9 times
Joined: Dec 14, 2015 8:20 pm
Full Name: Mehmet Istanbullu
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: Veeam Integration with IBM Storwize

Post by crackocain » Aug 01, 2018 11:26 am

Hi

In HyperSwap (Storage Cluster, PR Site and BC Site) configurations Veeam created snapshots only in one site. (Pr Site)

Customers wants to keep snapshots both storage systems for best availability. How can we do that?

Created snapshots volume type is "classic thin volume". Can we trigger create "HyperSwap thin volume"?
IBM, EMC, Huawei Storage Specialist - VMCEv9 - Dosbil - Turkey

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests