Discussions specific to the VMware vSphere hypervisor
Post Reply
jamerson
Expert
Posts: 313
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Veeam is not backing up Disk 1!

Post by jamerson » Jul 07, 2013 8:09 pm

Dear All,
i've prepared a backup job to back up all my VM,( DC, EX, FS) :
DC = 1 disk
EX= 1 disk
FS= * disk 0 = OS Disk 1 Data

i chosed to backup Full OS but it not backing up disk 1 of the FS, just the OS
what i am doing wrong?

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 313
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Veeam is not backing up Disk 1!

Post by jamerson » Jul 07, 2013 9:50 pm

just noticed one more thing !
the VM OS disk is 40 GB and the E : disk that contains the data is 500 GB
when it finished with restoring it shows the Disk sie is 540 GB which is correct, but when i chose restore Guest files Windows it map just C drive for me !

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 313
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Veeam is not backing up Disk 1!

Post by jamerson » Jul 07, 2013 11:42 pm

forgot to mention the Case ID, 00259810
apologies i am not trying to spam the forum!

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17138
Liked: 1482 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam is not backing up Disk 1!

Post by veremin » Jul 08, 2013 8:31 am

Hi, Julien. Might it be possible that this disk is independent or physical RDM or connected to Windows OS via ISCSI? Thanks.

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 313
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Veeam is not backing up Disk 1!

Post by jamerson » Jul 08, 2013 1:09 pm

Dea Eremin,
the disk is basic, when you says independent you meant on VMWare setting?
if you meant that yes the disk is Independent preciest on Vmare, is this the reason why its not been backed up?
i just disabled this Independent options and i am trying to do the backup once again to test

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17138
Liked: 1482 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam is not backing up Disk 1!

Post by veremin » Jul 08, 2013 1:34 pm

Yep, that is exactly what I’ve meant. Please be aware that independent disks are skipped during backup/replication process since VMware doesn’t allow snapshotting them. Thanks.

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 313
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Veeam is not backing up Disk 1!

Post by jamerson » Jul 08, 2013 1:44 pm

v.Eremin wrote:Yep, that is exactly what I’ve meant. Please be aware that independent disks are skipped during backup/replication process since VMware doesn’t allow snapshotting them. Thanks.
Thank you so much for your help, i am doing this now and get back with the resulte,
one questions when the disk is full and i want to add more storage, is not gonna have any impat with the backup is it ?

foggy
Veeam Software
Posts: 18551
Liked: 1606 times
Joined: Jul 11, 2011 10:22 am
Full Name: Alexander Fogelson
Contact:

Re: Veeam is not backing up Disk 1!

Post by foggy » Jul 08, 2013 2:23 pm

jamerson wrote:one questions when the disk is full and i want to add more storage, is not gonna have any impat with the backup is it ?
Should not cause any issues in case of the backup job (unlike replication job).

jamerson
Expert
Posts: 313
Liked: 18 times
Joined: May 01, 2013 9:54 pm
Full Name: Julien
Contact:

Re: Veeam is not backing up Disk 1!

Post by jamerson » Jul 08, 2013 4:11 pm

Thank you so much Erewin and Foggy,
the issue is fixed,
both jobs are succecefully finished and the E drive is Mapped as well,
really thank you !

veremin
Product Manager
Posts: 17138
Liked: 1482 times
Joined: Oct 26, 2012 3:28 pm
Full Name: Vladimir Eremin
Contact:

Re: Veeam is not backing up Disk 1!

Post by veremin » Jul 08, 2013 4:14 pm

You’re welcome. Feel free to contact us, should any additional help be needed. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: wishr and 26 guests